We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
5
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

The London Inn is a smaller community pub in the heart of Padstow, a few minutes walk from the harbour. The inside is split into several small rooms, evidence of the historic architecture of the building. The bar, too, is on the small side but offers a fair range of real ale ales and lagers, including a selection from St. Austell Brewery.

To the back you'll find a small beer garden on an elevated wooden platform, clearly an afterthought. The stairs to the platform are very narrow and rather steep, which could be problematic for smaller children (a sign at the bottom of the stairs advises parents to take them by the hand). The whole construction has a somewhat appealingly cramped, intimate feel to it, an impression only reinforced by the proximity of adjacent buildings - the high wooden walls around the platform preclude nosey looks though. Neither the beer garden nor the pub itself are suitable for larger groups.

Considering the many other options in close proximity to the London Inn, I'd say this is a nice, middle of the road choice, not especially a first one for beer lovers (You can get St. Austell brews practically everywhere in the neighbourhood). But it does have some charm. Beer prices are on the same, slightly elevated level that's characteristic for a touristy place like Padstow.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasmG7353YY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonInnPadstow, Manager at The London Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your review. All points have been noted and passed on to the owner. Having recently taken on this pub changes will be taking place in the future. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

The pub is really central and a great base for exploring Padstow. The room was very comfortable and bright and clean. The breakfast was fine and the staff were very friendly and polite. I would recommend the London Inn for a short stay

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonInnPadstow, Manager at The London Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear BelleS_9
Thank you for writing us a review. It is nice to hear that everything was good for you, and thank you for your recommendation for staying here. We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

For over 25 years we have been doing the walk from Polzeath to Padstow via Daymer Bay and the ferry from Rock with a highlight being a pint in the London Inn. Some 5 years ago I reported that the atmosphere in the bar had been spoilt by a TV and I am delighted to report that new management has given the bar a lick of paint and removed the TV.We were only there for a couple of pints but these were excellent so hopefully we will be back again next year.

Room tip: We were not staying
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonInnPadstow, Manager at The London Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Michael W,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you approve the alterations we have made. We hope that we will see you for many more years to come and that you will be doing many more walks. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this pub last year and vowed never to return. By chance we called in this year and what a difference. Clean pub, friendly staff and good honest food. We will definitely visit again next year.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank juliebZ162DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonInnPadstow, Manager at The London Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Julie B,

We are so glad that you did give the London Inn another try as we are new management. It is so nice to have good and positive reviews. We certainly hope that we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch. We are not big fans of traditional Sunday meal, but we had our mother in law with us. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly. Nice atmosphere. We went for food later in the week and were not disappointed. Well worth trying. Very good quality pub grub.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank dunc1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonInnPadstow, Manager at The London Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear dunc1962,

Thank you very much for your great review. We're glad that you've enjoyed your visit to the London Inn. And we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Many thanks,
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews