We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a view”
Review of The Basement

The Basement
Ranked #17 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Basement is built within 'The Drang', a small shopping area on the Quay, and has fantastic views overlooking the Harbour. The Basement has a comfortable inside seating area and a superb newley refurbished alfresco seating area with Harbour Views. It is a great place to eat, drink and socialise in a relaxing environment. If you wish to start your day with a Breakfast, Morning coffee and Cake or prefer to relax inside or outside with a glass of Wine or Beer with our Lunch (roast on sundays) or Evening Menus then we look forward to seeing you. Click 'Details' for more info and photos.
Reviewed 2 November 2018

What a pleasant surprise. My wife and I went in for lunch on a busy day, thinking we may have to wait a while. Not at all, we were served quickly and the food was to a very high standard. All the meals I saw looked equally appealing. Good value and very pleasant staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Called in for brunch, and enjoyed a lovely full English breakfast and avocado sourdough , poach egg and bacon - delicious ! Good coffee too!

Highly recommend
Friendly staff
Dogs allowed as long as they stay under the tables

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ruthj473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We popped in with no reservation late lunchtime. Two chicken curries, some fresh sardines and a falafel burger. Each dish was absolutely delicious. Thank you!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank W473WOtimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Wow another year and another visit to The Basement. What can I say - absolute gem of a place in padstow a must to visit. Staff friendly and attentive - informative and very approachable. Food was gorgeous and very reasonably priced. We weren’t disappointed - certainly a must if visiting the area. Well done The Basement Team - till next year xx

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 2013sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

A great meal for a special occasion. Lovely friendly staff Stacy our waitress was a gem. The lobster was lovely, my husband had steak which was delicious. Wine good pino Grigio yummy.
The sweet oranges and apples with custard perfect. My fav place you must go when visiting Padstow. I have tried them all!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Basement also viewed

 

Been to The Basement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing