We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and great restaurant”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a two night stay in a suite at St Moritz hotel as the final part of our one week tour of Devon and Cornwall. We booked a suite, which was more like a one bedroom apartment, with a balcony overlooking the grounds an out towards the sea, a lounge area with a sofa and two armchairs and a fully fitted and kitted out kitchen, including a dishwasher and washing machine. The dining area had seating for six (there are two other rooms that can be booked to make up a three bedroom apartment sleeping six, if required). The apartment, which also had its own dedicated parking space, was tastefully decorated and furnished. We were half-board. Breakfast was self-service (with extras such as eggs and porridge cooked to order) and was of a very high standard. Dinner was beautifully cooked and presented, they have a very good chef here. The restaurant worked like clockwork!

Our only complaint was the the spa area was quite utilitarian, with very basic shower and changing facilities and tiny thin towels provided. The indoor pool was not well cared for - it was far too hot for proper swimming and the water was cloudy and smelt strongly of chlorine (a sure sign that the water quality was not good).

It's a long walk to a safe sandy beach for swimming at either Polzeath or Rock (the local beach didn't look safe, with rocks and lots of seaweed) but there is a complementary Land Rover service. The outdoor pool was very nice, with plenty of sun loungers and a
bar/restaurant alongside.

Overall a lovely place for a holiday for food-loving families. If only the weather could be guaranteed!

Room Tip: For three couples or a large family book a three room suite. Individual privacy but can be combined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear 'Derek K'

Thank you kindly for your great review on your stay with us; it really is a joy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us!

Our First Floor Suites are absolutely fantastic rooms with fantastic sea views and this hopefully made a perfect end to your trip around Devon and Cornwall!

We are delighted to hear your feedback on the restaurant and the food here at St Moritz too- we will pass this on to all the team.

And as you mentioned, the local beaches, which we are very lucky to have on our doorstep- Polzeath Beach, which is a 15 minute walk along the coast path and Daymer Bay, 20 minutes, both perfect for some sea swimming! And of course, if you didn't fancy the walk, there's always our trusty Land Rover to take you (and pick you up!).

Thank you again for posting such a wonderful review and we very much hope to see you again,

Kindest regards,

Kaylee
Guest Host



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

The hotel is close to the sea walk along a former rail track, allowing comfortable walking tin both directions, with great views. However the rooms vary from the wonderful to the dark and airless, so be sure to get a full description when booking. Some of the room windows are small with heavy net curtains and only one comfortable chair. Unfortunately all the rooms which we saw have lamp shades which are black inside, preventing direct light onto a book, whilst the light bulbs are not sufficiently powerful for the light reflected from the ceiling to suffice, at least for more elderly eyes.
The restaurant is perhaps better at ensuring the appearance of the food than making it very tasty, but it sufficed.
Outstanding were the staff and management who were determined to do all they could to ensure our comfort. and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask what the windows are facing, how big they are and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FelixP227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear 'FelixP227'

Thank you for feedback on your stay with us at St Moritz Hotel.

We do have a selection of rooms here at St Moritz and I am very sorry to hear that you felt some were dark. Our Cosy rooms are our double rooms, which are non-sea facing, all with standard windows and very sufficient lighting, and as you have mentioned, these are all described fully upon booking. We have beautiful rooms here at St Moritz Hotel and our reservations team are more than happy to advise on which room would be best suited for you upon booking.

Your comments about the lighting in some of the rooms have been noted- thank you.

We are delighted to hear that you describe the staff and management team as 'outstanding'...this means a lot to us!

Thank you again for your comments and we very much hope to see you again soon,
Kindest Regards,
Kaylee
Guest Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We stayed as a large group with a mixture of ages for a long weekend in September. The accommodation we had was excellent and the staff as helpful as they could be but we felt that it lacked overall top management. We had one or two issues which were resolved but arose through no fault of our own. The restaurant was pleasant but for a five night stay the menu was pretty monotonous, very limited choice, we changed to half board on arrival and we're told that the menu changed daily - in fact the only change was that one evening there was even less on the menu. Fabulous location and amazing for children (ours ranged from 12 - 7). In my view it needs someone in overall charge at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear 'Sarah A'

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us at St Moritz Hotel. Your feedback means a lot to us.

We are delighted that you found your accommodation and the staff here at the St Moritz, 'excellent'- we are very lucky to work with such lovely people, even if we do say so ourselves! And as you said, what is equally as good is the location of the hotel; everything is on our doorstep! I am glad that the issues that you had were resolved but I am sorry to hear that you felt that there was a lack of management- we always have a duty manager on site 24 hours a day as well as a General Manager.

And with regards to your comments about our Restaurant Menu- thank you- this is something that our new head chef is currently working on.

Thank you once again for posting and hope to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards,
Kaylee
Guest Host


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a villa for the first time this year.

The villas are able to use the hotels facilities but are self-catering (and therefore cheaper than the hotel). The villas have largely been thought through with good living space, a balcony and area to wash out wet suits.

There are 2 pools - both heated- one indoor the other outdoor They are closed to kids quite early, which is a shame and there are no obvious changing rooms for the outdoor pool (we couldn't find them anyway).

There is a helpful shuttle service to Rock and Polzeath. However there is no phone signal in Polzeath so calling for a lift back was fun!

The highlight for us was the proximity to a very quiet beach where we enjoyed sunsets and bbqs on the beach. Not a swimming beach but very quiet in the evenings and easy to take food etc down from the villa.

Overall the place looks a bit tired (cobwebs in the villa) and could do with some tlc in some areas. The ability to recycle is also quite poor. It felt a bit pricey for these reasons, but would consider returning in a few years (mainly for the beach we discovered!).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear 'matt k'

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us in a self catering villa.

It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the well quipped villa, both the indoor and outdoor pools, the complimentary land rover shuttle service to Rock and Polzeath and our excellent coastal location with many bays and beaches to discover.

Thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping and our recycling area, I have passed these on to the Villa and Maintenance Manager to look into.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We went for apartment 305 - 3 bedrooms on the 3rd floor with amazing views of the estuary. Lots of room for 4 - maybe a bit tight for 6.

We can't rate this place highly enough. Very contemporary furnishings all high end and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean with everything you could need. Sky tv with all the channels, indoor & outdoor pools and a fab cowshed spa.

5 min walk along the stunning coastal path to polzeath and 45 mins to rock .

Lovely team who are really helpful. This is our 4th visit and we will be back.

Would recommend- it is simply stunning

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear 'Julie G'

Wow! What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us in Apartment 305.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic week in the clean contemporary apartment. It is great to hear that you also enjoyed our indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi along with the outdoor pool with sea views and the amazing Cowshed Spa. We must agree that our location between Rock and Polzeath is excellent for exploring the North Cornwall coast.

Thank you once again, the staff will be thrilled to see your kind comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
2.4 km away
The St Enodoc Hotel
28.7 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
20.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,519 reviews
21.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
17.9 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range: €126 - €274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Wadebridge, Cornwall
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing