We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
40
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
9
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station two nights highly recommend this property beautiful house room was large scottish breakfast wonderful hosts visit edinburgh breakfast was delicious marlene hugh harrowing courses golf gullane
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Stayed here with my parents for two nights just after New Year. It was simply wonderful. Marlene and Hugh are such welcoming hosts - Hugh offered a "nip" of whisky to celebrate New Year which we enjoyed in the gorgeous, warm living room overlooking the fields. The bedrooms were all very well equipped and cosy, with beautiful shortbread and real caffetiere coffee in the room....not to mention the fabulous standalone bathtub.

Last but not least the breakfast - delicious real coffee, cereals, toast and a genuine scottish breakfast with produce that gets delivered by the local butcher.

Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Have just spent 6 happy nights at Drem Farmhouse.

Our room was large with shuttered windows and the accommodation was spotlessly clean; we were superbly looked after by Marlene.

Morning brings an excellent breakfast which can last you all day.

Located next to Drem station, which takes you right into the heart of Edinburgh in about 30 minutes, the location could not be better. Every opportunity to savour the nightlife without worrying about driving or parking and still getting back by midnight.

If you are a golfer, then there will be a golf course in reasonable travelling time for every day of your stay. And, the brilliant Muirfield is only 10 minutes away by car.

Certainly planning to return next year.

Room tip: Room facing down the drive
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Drem is a quiet village about 45 minutes by car East of the airport. The train is the absolute most convenient way to get there, as the train station is directly across the street from the B&B. However, me and my sweetie wanted to tour castles, so we rented a car at the airport and drove to the B&B with Google maps directing us! It is a bit intense and harrowing driving on the left side of the road (for Americans!) and the "roundabouts" are sometimes confusing along with the very narrow roads! We wanted "Adventure" and by golly, we got it!! If you are less adventuresome, the trains, buses and taxis are able to get you where you want to go!

Hugh and Marlene, the delightful owners of the B&B, are friendly, funny, helpful and typical "Scots." They were informative about the area, both historical (Castles) and current (restaurants and culture). Marlene is a wonderful cook, serving scrumptious breakfasts every morning with apples, grapes and tomatoes grown on their 6 acre farm. We ate in a "common area" every morning, chatting with Brits, Australians and Canadians. Lovely!

The exchange rate sucked ($200 bought $167 pd sterling) and fuel is expensive($4.50 gallon). But hey...it's "holiday" (vacation) and we were prepared! The castles were stunning with several nearby. We also took the train to Edinburgh (pronounced ed-in-bur-oo) to see the amazing Edinburgh Castle and shop and visit a pub or two! We also drove to Stirling (William Wallace, Stirling Castle) and drove to the villages around Drem including North Berwick, Dunbar and Haddington. Our favorite eating spot was Superfry in Gullane. They delivered several meals to the B&B and it was always hot, fresh and on time.

It was my first time to Europe (my sweetie has been many times) and overall, it was wonderful! The Scots and Brits were fascinated with Texas gun culture and I was amazed that we never saw a policeman, bobbie, cop...nothing! Not one! No cop cars, sirens...very quiet and peaceful! Cheerio!

Room tip: lots of hot water, small TVs, very quiet...not a place for rowdy college kids!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

My wife and I were attending a joint Silver Wedding Anniversary and 18th Birthday celebration in nearby Aberlady and Drem Farmhouse B&B were recommended to us.
We were not disappointed and we were well looked after by Marlene and her staff.
The bedrooms were very comfortable and exceptionally clean and the breakfast options were fabulous - in a lovely large dining room.
This place is set in very tranquil surroundings and is ideal for the "get away from it all" break.
A big plus for us was the close proximity of Drem train station with a direct link to Edinburgh.
We would have no hesitation in using Drem again if we were back in the area.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is a beautiful house hosted by a wonderful owner (Marlene). The owner communicated with us very well and check-in was very quick. Breakfast was delicious and to order. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Logistics into Edinburgh are very convenient with the Drem station directly across the road from the property. The trip is a short 25 minute ride to the city center station. Definitely the way to go. We highly recommend this property for a visit to Edinburgh or the surrounding area.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaunceyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews