We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nether Abbey Hotel(North Berwick)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Inn(North Berwick)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milleur House(North Berwick)
US$153
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,559)
Filter reviews
2,559 results
Traveller rating
950
765
503
232
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
950
765
503
232
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursethermal suiteoutdoor jacuzziice roomcream teasea viewrelaxation roomlovely hotelsteam roomrelaxing breakreception staffleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffbar pricescooked breakfastevening mealspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
2,181 - 2,186 of 2,559 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We chose the lowest standard of room which was good enough; the only extra in the next level up was the sea view which we did not consider worth the extra cost.So we put the money towards wine with dinner. This was a good decision - the wine and food were of a high standard, but not expensive.

We considered that the menu did not change enough for people staying more than 2 or 3 nights and the special was the same for 2 or three days. Also, there were very few choices of three courses which would cost within the 30 pounds contribution on the DB&B deal. We thought a good idea would be to have a changing daily special, priced to give you three courses within the 30 pounds contribution. Having said all that we enjoyed dinner very much and the waiting staff were polite and efficient.

We thought the extra cost for non-buffet hot breakfast (such as smoked salmon scrambled eggs or eggs benedict) was too much and did not try them. The hot buffet breakfast was adequate.

We also were taken aback that the wi-fi was not free. There is no mention of charges on the website, or if they are on the wbsite they are difficult to find. We thought the cost and time constraints of the wi-fi were too much and chose not to buy it.

We did not use the spa or pool, so cannot comment on those facilities.

We enoyed the walks along the seafront and golf course, and North Berwick is a pleasant wee town a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinglight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have stayed at The Marine Hotel & Spa a number of times since our wedding in 06 and this year we booked for 3 nights in February. We contacted the hotel in advance to check that we could bring our two minature dogs and this was not a problem and upon arrival we were allocated a lovely room with sea view close to the front entrance. I had also contacted the events/reservations staff in advance of our visit to organise a valentines spa gift for my husband and had requested that a note was left in the room for my husband to discover. The staff did a wonderful job organising the massage I had booked him, and even left a hand-written card with my message along with a bottle of red wine which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

The location of the hotel is very impressive and we throughly enjoyed taking our dogs for walks along the beach and into North Berwick which is a beautiful town. All staff we encountered were friendly and on the day we arrived we had arranged afternoon tea which was brought to our room & was absolutely delicious!

We used the spa only a couple of times during our stay but enjoyed having the use of the pool and spa areas which were never crowded.

The only negative regarding our stay was our meal in the John Paul Restaurant. We have eaten at the restaurant before it was rebranded on numerous occassions and it has always been the highlight of our stay, comparable to The Witchery, Sharrow Bay, Gleneagels so very very good! We still had the same high expectations when we booked our table and ordered champagne to accompany what we expected to be a fabulous meal and evening. We were very sad to see that the chef no longer serves an amuse-bouche as we always found his concoctions to be inspiring & set the tone for the rest of this meal so this was a disappointment. I ordered the monk fish and was dismayed to discovered it was breaded and probably deep fried like scampi. Such a beautiful fish so badly presented. The rest of the meal followed along the same vein and it appeared from the menu that the dominating choice was steak and chips, something I could get from a beef-eater and not what I expected from such an accomplished chef. We came away from our meal feeling extremely disappointed and both stated that that we'd rather drive to Rhubard at The Prestonfield in Edinburgh if we stayed again.

So whilst we found the hotel and spa to be an impressive as always, the menu at The John Paul will have to change before we have the confidence to go back. Sorry John Paul!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a delightful 2 night stay at the Marine Hotel. The service was second to none and we found the staff smiled a lot! Unlike the experience of a previous commenter, but perhaps we are just friendly people. Our breakfasts were served in double quick time and the presentation of the food is second to none. We asked for porridge and instead of it being delivered in a traditional bowl as you might expect, it came in an individual ceramic pot with a lid and tray with pots of honey and jam..a delight! We stayed for dinner and found that the quality of food was superb and cooked to perfection. The poached egg on a black pudding base as a starter has to be experienced to taste just how good black pudding (not everyone’s favourite) can be, irresistible. The rooms looking over the sea gave a wonderful view and were well furnished, comfortable and spotless. We will certainly be staying again

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view in the older part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Well what can I say but what a fantastic setting and glorious weather. The hotel is in a prime position overlooking golf course and Firth of Forth. We had 2 glorious days of sun - warmer than southern europe. The rooms are large and comfortable. The restaurant was first class and the staff extremely friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future,.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking golf course and water
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is truly a fantastic hotel! Last week we stayed for 3 nights with an executive four poster room overlooking the Firth and Bass Rock. We had room service and spent lazy hours sat in our chairs by the window looking at the wonderful sea views reading the Sunday papers, eating lunch, drinking tea,etc. The staff were friendly and welcoming, special mention to Aidan on reception who was very helpful and Natalia and Erikas in the restaurant for your excellent service and chats!. The food in the restaurant was the usual high standard, well done John Paul and your team of chefs and thank you again for the Jam! This was our 3rd visit to the hotel and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews