We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here after getting married in Gretna on Easter Saturday. we had an executive suite which was very spacious well furnished and clean. The view was lovely as it was sea facing, I did feel that they could have put a few more tea bags and milk in the rooms bearing in mind how much it costs to stay here. We had a bar meal which was expensive but very good. There were a couple of weddings on whilst we were there and it was certainly a lovely venue for it, I still preferred our Gretna wedding though. The staff were very polite and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,977 - 1,981 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We chose the lowest standard of room which was good enough; the only extra in the next level up was the sea view which we did not consider worth the extra cost.So we put the money towards wine with dinner. This was a good decision - the wine and food were of a high standard, but not expensive.

We considered that the menu did not change enough for people staying more than 2 or 3 nights and the special was the same for 2 or three days. Also, there were very few choices of three courses which would cost within the 30 pounds contribution on the DB&B deal. We thought a good idea would be to have a changing daily special, priced to give you three courses within the 30 pounds contribution. Having said all that we enjoyed dinner very much and the waiting staff were polite and efficient.

We thought the extra cost for non-buffet hot breakfast (such as smoked salmon scrambled eggs or eggs benedict) was too much and did not try them. The hot buffet breakfast was adequate.

We also were taken aback that the wi-fi was not free. There is no mention of charges on the website, or if they are on the wbsite they are difficult to find. We thought the cost and time constraints of the wi-fi were too much and chose not to buy it.

We did not use the spa or pool, so cannot comment on those facilities.

We enoyed the walks along the seafront and golf course, and North Berwick is a pleasant wee town a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinglight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have stayed at The Marine Hotel & Spa a number of times since our wedding in 06 and this year we booked for 3 nights in February. We contacted the hotel in advance to check that we could bring our two minature dogs and this was not a problem and upon arrival we were allocated a lovely room with sea view close to the front entrance. I had also contacted the events/reservations staff in advance of our visit to organise a valentines spa gift for my husband and had requested that a note was left in the room for my husband to discover. The staff did a wonderful job organising the massage I had booked him, and even left a hand-written card with my message along with a bottle of red wine which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated.

The location of the hotel is very impressive and we throughly enjoyed taking our dogs for walks along the beach and into North Berwick which is a beautiful town. All staff we encountered were friendly and on the day we arrived we had arranged afternoon tea which was brought to our room & was absolutely delicious!

We used the spa only a couple of times during our stay but enjoyed having the use of the pool and spa areas which were never crowded.

The only negative regarding our stay was our meal in the John Paul Restaurant. We have eaten at the restaurant before it was rebranded on numerous occassions and it has always been the highlight of our stay, comparable to The Witchery, Sharrow Bay, Gleneagels so very very good! We still had the same high expectations when we booked our table and ordered champagne to accompany what we expected to be a fabulous meal and evening. We were very sad to see that the chef no longer serves an amuse-bouche as we always found his concoctions to be inspiring & set the tone for the rest of this meal so this was a disappointment. I ordered the monk fish and was dismayed to discovered it was breaded and probably deep fried like scampi. Such a beautiful fish so badly presented. The rest of the meal followed along the same vein and it appeared from the menu that the dominating choice was steak and chips, something I could get from a beef-eater and not what I expected from such an accomplished chef. We came away from our meal feeling extremely disappointed and both stated that that we'd rather drive to Rhubard at The Prestonfield in Edinburgh if we stayed again.

So whilst we found the hotel and spa to be an impressive as always, the menu at The John Paul will have to change before we have the confidence to go back. Sorry John Paul!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a delightful 2 night stay at the Marine Hotel. The service was second to none and we found the staff smiled a lot! Unlike the experience of a previous commenter, but perhaps we are just friendly people. Our breakfasts were served in double quick time and the presentation of the food is second to none. We asked for porridge and instead of it being delivered in a traditional bowl as you might expect, it came in an individual ceramic pot with a lid and tray with pots of honey and jam..a delight! We stayed for dinner and found that the quality of food was superb and cooked to perfection. The poached egg on a black pudding base as a starter has to be experienced to taste just how good black pudding (not everyone’s favourite) can be, irresistible. The rooms looking over the sea gave a wonderful view and were well furnished, comfortable and spotless. We will certainly be staying again

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Well what can I say but what a fantastic setting and glorious weather. The hotel is in a prime position overlooking golf course and Firth of Forth. We had 2 glorious days of sun - warmer than southern europe. The rooms are large and comfortable. The restaurant was first class and the staff extremely friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future,.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking golf course and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.3 km away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
325 reviews
5.4 km away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
1.3 km away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
9.5 km away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
14.7 km away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: €95 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing