We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Las Margaritas
Ranked #7 of 35 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good place to stay. Great location 5min walk to the old town but in a quiet area. Room was basic and clean. Bed was confortable and shower hot. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Take the room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellatorre, Director de Recepción at Hostal Las Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Yves L,
thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our hostel and in Tarifa.
It was a pleasure for us to assist you in all your needs and give you all the information for enjoying Tarifa.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards,

Hostal Las Margaritas, Tarifa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very clean room and halls. Helpful staff. Like most beds we found in Spain, they were rock hard. The room and bathroom was pretty large. The location was only about 10 minutes from the bus station and maybe 15 from the ferry docks. There is no elevator, so pack light.

We inquired about a clothes laundry and they said they would wash ours for only 5 euro for 5 kilo of clothes. They washed our 7 days of clothes for a total of 6 euro. Unfortunately, they didn't dry them. They returned them to us damp. Luckily, we had packed a 20 foot or so thin cord that we strung around the room, so we could hang the clothes to dry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hostal Las Margaritas is more of a hotel than a hostel. The room was good sized, with a comfortable bed, a spacious private bath, and a cute little balcony, though it overlooked some garbage dumpsters that got emptied early every morning. Free in-room WiFi was good, when it worked, but the router for the upper floors needed rebooting daily, it seemed, and only the night clerk knew how to do that.

Location is excellent for visiting the old city, a few short blocks away. No breakfast is served, but there are several options nearby and in the old city as well. Given the price for a comfortable bed near the old city, the value for this property is excellent. I would happily recommend it for anyone who either travels very light or who can carry heavy luggage up 3 flights of stairs.

The biggest issue with Las Margaritas is the lack of communication. Nowhere did I see that we would have to haul our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. We are not youngsters, nor backpackers and were most grateful when told the night clerk would be arriving at 7PM to carry our luggage up. He would also carry the luggage down the night before check-out, but the day clerk does not arrive until 8AM and could not unlock the storage area until then. We needed to be in a taxi by 8, causing some uneasiness, but it all worked out okay.

I had e-mailed asking for directions, suggestions, etc. for getting from the bus station to the hostel, but got no response. We took the bus from Algeciras after a long train trip from Granada, found the bus easily but did not know which of the multiple stops in Tarifa was closest to the hostel. The driver asked around and told us to get off at the first stop, walk down the hill and ask somebody. Good karma sent a woman in a car who could not tell us, but who offered instead to DRIVE us there, with the aforementioned luggage.

Francisco, the night man, was terrific, the other staff were also pleasant and friendly. There are no staff on the premises from 11PM-8AM, and the emergency phone number is answered by someone who does not speak English well.

This hostel is a good option for those traveling to/from Morocco by ferry, though Tarifa proved to be a rather pleasant place for history, seafood, and buena vistas, as well. A short walk takes you to a point where you can see both the Mediterranean and the Atlantic without turning your head. The locals seem friendly and the seafood is fresh and beautifully prepared. The wind always blows, the Atlantic beach is long and wide and the kite-board/surfing set appears well established. It's a very pleasant place.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have balconies but poorer WiFi and are probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VITraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I spent a week here and was delighted. Sure it's not luxurious but it's incredible value and unlike other cheap places it's very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room (mine at least) was nice and big. Also, I had a bike with me which they let me keep in the room.

The staff will also help you book any sort of activity - mountain biking, kite surfing, whale watching etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh_bosh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just about two block from the doors of the Old Town is this nice place. Nice big rooms, great bathrooms and very good beds - excellent desk speaking English or German. A super value!
Yes there is no breakfast or lounge area but you want to spent time in the old city - just sleep here, everything is just 5 minutes away. You may hear a shower from a room next door!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellatorre, Front Office Manager at Hostal Las Margaritas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are aiming to provide a quality service for your enjoyment. We are looking forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarifa
10.1 km away
Cortijo las Pinas
Cortijo las Pinas
#10 of 19 in Tarifa
117 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
171 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Blanco
Casa Blanco
#17 of 19 in Tarifa
102 reviews
11.6 km away
Complejo Rural Huerta Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Margaritas

Address: Calle Antonio Maura 13, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range: €37 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Las Margaritas 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Las Margaritas offers budged rooms in the center of Tarifa. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, tv, ac/heater, telephone and free WIFI access. Next to the main shopping street, the hostel is only a few minutes walking distance to all points of interest like the old town/center, beaches, bus station and the port of Tarifa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Las Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Margaritas Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing