We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
105
69
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
69
16
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hurricane hotel tennis courts huge pool bungalow style peacocks walking family suite great pool area huge room hotel grounds highly recommend this hotel tarifa town yogurt the main road lounge chairs nice bathroom rooms are spacious quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We loved this hotel. The grounds are lovely with peacocks wondering about. The pool area is lovely with plenty sun beds for lounging. Buffet breakfast is lovely and the outdoor terrace is really pleasant to sit. The reception staff were really helpful. Also a fabulous room with a huge comfy bed. Loved it!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I love tarifa and usually stay in in the Dos mares or the hurricane as I like to be on the beach....however both were full so I booked here.....it was lovely, huge room very nice bathroom, an outside area to sit, friendly staff, good breakfast and reasonably priced, we didn't find it inconvenient that it wasn't on the beach as they give you a permit to park/use at the hurricane hotel and at the lovely kite school opposite, which has a great vibe and delicious lunch.
Punta sur has a great pool area, too.
Would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nenedeblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Very nice hotel. We had a spacious family suite which had a fridge so very handy for being able to pack lunches to the nearby amazing beaches. Hotel had excellent food, loved the outdoor pizza oven! There is a great pool, very kid friendly. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

For years me and my family have travelled to Tarifa, and we've never thought of staying at another hotel.

The rooms at Punta Sur is beautiful small cabins. Each cabin is decorated differently. Everything is planned, from beautiful paintings on the walls, interesting and handcrafted furnitures to lovely and neat bathrooms.

in the middle of the site they have a garden, packed with sunbeds, fatboys and a pool in the middle.

they also have some colourfull peacocks(sometimes even peacock-babies) running around the site.

The service is great. If they can fulfill your wishes, trust me, they will do everything to do so.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

The expectations were high, particularly after seeing the fotos and the reviews. However we were fairly disappointed in several aspects.

As we arrived we were already surprised to see that the hotel was located directly adjacent to a main state highway. No beach access unless you fancy to risk your life first in trying to pass the road and then to pass unharmed the barbwire which separates you from the 200m walk between the bushes to the beach.
Indeed only once we were at the hotel we were told that to get to the beach you need to take the car either north or south bound to reach the next access.
Fortunately the room we got was at the other end of the compound so we didn't hear the road.
The room we got was spacious (We booked a junior suite). Unfortunately smelling mouldy as soon as the strong Parfum which was used by the cleaners flew away. We were traveling with a 1y old baby so there was no way to compromise. We talked to the reception immediately and they understood the problem. They showed us 2 other suites however one was smelling even worse and the other was flooded 1 inch deep! Therefore we were forced to try to find an alternative accommodation which took us all night and the morning, with the weekend ahead!
Minutes after we booked we were shown after breakfast a very nice room, but this was too late.
Dinner was good however also here all furniture was sticky and the children stool was full of ants. We were given another one, however totally unsuitable for children the age of ours.
Breakfast buffet had some variety but all very low cost products, rather a standard you would expect in a backpackers, but not in a hotel in this price category.
The hotel garden and pool area seemed fairly good standard but we could not really avail of any of it as we were busy finding another accommodation.
In summary, although the hotel stuff was extremely friendly and helpful (even offered to help us find accommodation elsewhere) the whole package seems more suitable for people who travel in a very casual style and spend rather all day doing some sports elsewhere in the area.
For this however, it is definitely overpriced.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews