We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day trip”
Review of Hotel Punta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Sur
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I love tarifa and usually stay in in the Dos mares or the hurricane as I like to be on the beach....however both were full so I booked here.....it was lovely, huge room very nice bathroom, an outside area to sit, friendly staff, good breakfast and reasonably priced, we didn't find it inconvenient that it wasn't on the beach as they give you a permit to park/use at the hurricane hotel and at the lovely kite school opposite, which has a great vibe and delicious lunch.
Punta sur has a great pool area, too.
Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nenedeblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Very nice hotel. We had a spacious family suite which had a fridge so very handy for being able to pack lunches to the nearby amazing beaches. Hotel had excellent food, loved the outdoor pizza oven! There is a great pool, very kid friendly. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

For years me and my family have travelled to Tarifa, and we've never thought of staying at another hotel.

The rooms at Punta Sur is beautiful small cabins. Each cabin is decorated differently. Everything is planned, from beautiful paintings on the walls, interesting and handcrafted furnitures to lovely and neat bathrooms.

in the middle of the site they have a garden, packed with sunbeds, fatboys and a pool in the middle.

they also have some colourfull peacocks(sometimes even peacock-babies) running around the site.

The service is great. If they can fulfill your wishes, trust me, they will do everything to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

The expectations were high, particularly after seeing the fotos and the reviews. However we were fairly disappointed in several aspects.

As we arrived we were already surprised to see that the hotel was located directly adjacent to a main state highway. No beach access unless you fancy to risk your life first in trying to pass the road and then to pass unharmed the barbwire which separates you from the 200m walk between the bushes to the beach.
Indeed only once we were at the hotel we were told that to get to the beach you need to take the car either north or south bound to reach the next access.
Fortunately the room we got was at the other end of the compound so we didn't hear the road.
The room we got was spacious (We booked a junior suite). Unfortunately smelling mouldy as soon as the strong Parfum which was used by the cleaners flew away. We were traveling with a 1y old baby so there was no way to compromise. We talked to the reception immediately and they understood the problem. They showed us 2 other suites however one was smelling even worse and the other was flooded 1 inch deep! Therefore we were forced to try to find an alternative accommodation which took us all night and the morning, with the weekend ahead!
Minutes after we booked we were shown after breakfast a very nice room, but this was too late.
Dinner was good however also here all furniture was sticky and the children stool was full of ants. We were given another one, however totally unsuitable for children the age of ours.
Breakfast buffet had some variety but all very low cost products, rather a standard you would expect in a backpackers, but not in a hotel in this price category.
The hotel garden and pool area seemed fairly good standard but we could not really avail of any of it as we were busy finding another accommodation.
In summary, although the hotel stuff was extremely friendly and helpful (even offered to help us find accommodation elsewhere) the whole package seems more suitable for people who travel in a very casual style and spend rather all day doing some sports elsewhere in the area.
For this however, it is definitely overpriced.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Massimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Friendly staff and good food. Spacious bedrooms. Good pool and sunbathing area. A sense of mystery with hidden areas where the abundant green hides wildlife and tennis court. Two peacocks wander around adding colour and noise. Watch out for wasps underfoot on the grass.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fans/air conditioning and others don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paulthomas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
7.6 km away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
345 reviews
0.9 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
312 reviews
12.2 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
401 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
74 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Sur

Address: Ctra. N-340, km 77, 11380 Tarifa, Spain (Formerly Balcon de Espana)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range: €72 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-minute walk from the beach, this laid-back hotel with a relaxed atmosphere is perfect for your holiday. ​ Hotel Punta Sur is set in three acres of stunning tropical gardens complete with tennis court and swimming pool. Each room opens onto an individual garden area, giving all of our guests their own place to unwind. Punta Sur has a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by palm trees; the perfect place to relax with a book or soak up some sun. In the evenings the garden transforms into a candlelit restaurant which is renowned for its unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing