We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
105
69
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
69
16
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hurricane hotel tennis courts huge pool bungalow style peacocks walking family suite great pool area huge room hotel grounds highly recommend this hotel tarifa town yogurt the main road lounge chairs nice bathroom rooms are spacious quiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We firstly decided on Tarifa as a destination, as it is somewhere we really love. We then spent a couple of months pondering many different venues and options but thankfully we decided on Hotel Punta Sur for our main wedding reception.

From the beginning, Nene, Jose Ramon and all their great team really went out of their way to meet our wishes and make everything exactly as we hoped.

We organised with them to have unforgettable cocktails and tapas at the beach bar, then enjoyed a delicious meal and reception at Hotel Punta Sur.

Nene and the guys were so patient and accommodating with everything, from helping us decorate their stunning hotel garden, to cutting and gift boxing our wedding cake.

All our family and friends felt really welcome and happy during their stay and said they are very likely to return and stay again.

Some of our guests said they were intrigued about how our wedding would go in Spain and how difficult it would be organising it.

For us, it was a perfect mix of relaxed and friendly Spanish hospitality, blended with professionalism and attention to detail.

It was an amazing, unforgettable experience... Muchos gracias a todos en Hotel Punta Sur!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Ramón V, Gerente at Hotel Punta Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, it was a beautiful wedding! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I had booked an Airbnb rental in Tarifa (Host is Lorena please avoid at all costs) with my friend and son. It was appalling for many reasons. Luckily after calling around a few hotels we were lucky enough to get a family room at the Hotel Punta Sur. the moment out taxi pulled up outside the hotel all the stress and anxiety and frankly misery caused by the Lorena Airbnb experience disappeared.

The staff could not be more lovely. Helpful and always ready to help out from booking tours and taxis to brilliant recommendations. Lovely.

The pool is fabulous and our room was spotless. And beautifully quiet. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. And with The Hurricane as its sister hotel, another total gem to visit - fab pool and lovely food!

Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Twiz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Really Nice place with a Bali feeling atmosphere and peacocks and birds around a very lovely garden to dine in. The prices are reasonable. Great food and outstanding service, absolutely recommend you to make a reservation in advance to dine inside the garden.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank DanielHalmstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Lovely hotel at a fantastic location. Rooms are very nice nad the garden and the views were fabulous. Restaurant was good, but could be better, but maybe our expectations were too high. One can eat superbly in Andalucia. We loved t the views and the friendly staff

Room Tip: All was good for us
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniperberry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Just back from a super week in Tarifa. The weather was great and the hotel was very good. If it's a Hilton or a Marriott you're after then forget it. This is a little rustic and in some ways a bit tired, but its charming all the same. We stayed in a family room with 2 bedrooms and sitting room and 2 bathrooms- so bags of room and plenty of cupboards and power points to charge all the wretched devices we seem to carry around
all the time!

The room(s) were delightful and the air conditioning worked well too.
Although the hotel is by the N340 road noise is not a problem as the gardens and pool and all the rooms (mostly arranged as bungalow style buildings) are all set well behind the hotel and well away from the road. The pool was great and the gardens delightful.

The food is good but simple anyway with one or two exceptions thats likely to be the case everywhere in Tarifa. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and I must pay tribute to Nieves (the manageress) who was brilliant and helped so much with anything we needed.

We met and chatted to several of the guests (mostly families) who were staying there and it seems that for many it was not their first visit which probably says more than any review ever can? Overall very good value for money even with the pound falling against the EUR! I am sure we shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whadoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews