We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green and Gentle”
Review of Hotel Punta Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Punta Sur
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Friendly staff and good food. Spacious bedrooms. Good pool and sunbathing area. A sense of mystery with hidden areas where the abundant green hides wildlife and tennis court. Two peacocks wander around adding colour and noise. Watch out for wasps underfoot on the grass.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fans/air conditioning and others don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paulthomas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We firstly decided on Tarifa as a destination, as it is somewhere we really love. We then spent a couple of months pondering many different venues and options but thankfully we decided on Hotel Punta Sur for our main wedding reception.

From the beginning, Nene, Jose Ramon and all their great team really went out of their way to meet our wishes and make everything exactly as we hoped.

We organised with them to have unforgettable cocktails and tapas at the beach bar, then enjoyed a delicious meal and reception at Hotel Punta Sur.

Nene and the guys were so patient and accommodating with everything, from helping us decorate their stunning hotel garden, to cutting and gift boxing our wedding cake.

All our family and friends felt really welcome and happy during their stay and said they are very likely to return and stay again.

Some of our guests said they were intrigued about how our wedding would go in Spain and how difficult it would be organising it.

For us, it was a perfect mix of relaxed and friendly Spanish hospitality, blended with professionalism and attention to detail.

It was an amazing, unforgettable experience... Muchos gracias a todos en Hotel Punta Sur!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Ramón V, Gerente at Hotel Punta Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us, it was a beautiful wedding! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I had booked an Airbnb rental in Tarifa (Host is Lorena please avoid at all costs) with my friend and son. It was appalling for many reasons. Luckily after calling around a few hotels we were lucky enough to get a family room at the Hotel Punta Sur. the moment out taxi pulled up outside the hotel all the stress and anxiety and frankly misery caused by the Lorena Airbnb experience disappeared.

The staff could not be more lovely. Helpful and always ready to help out from booking tours and taxis to brilliant recommendations. Lovely.

The pool is fabulous and our room was spotless. And beautifully quiet. All in all, a wonderful place to stay. And with The Hurricane as its sister hotel, another total gem to visit - fab pool and lovely food!

Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Twiz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Really Nice place with a Bali feeling atmosphere and peacocks and birds around a very lovely garden to dine in. The prices are reasonable. Great food and outstanding service, absolutely recommend you to make a reservation in advance to dine inside the garden.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Lovely hotel at a fantastic location. Rooms are very nice nad the garden and the views were fabulous. Restaurant was good, but could be better, but maybe our expectations were too high. One can eat superbly in Andalucia. We loved t the views and the friendly staff

Room Tip: All was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniperberry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
7.6 km away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
344 reviews
0.9 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
312 reviews
12.2 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
401 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
73 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Sur

Address: Ctra. N-340, km 77, 11380 Tarifa, Spain (Formerly Balcon de Espana)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range: €66 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-minute walk from the beach, this laid-back hotel with a relaxed atmosphere is perfect for your holiday. ​ Hotel Punta Sur is set in three acres of stunning tropical gardens complete with tennis court and swimming pool. Each room opens onto an individual garden area, giving all of our guests their own place to unwind. Punta Sur has a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by palm trees; the perfect place to relax with a book or soak up some sun. In the evenings the garden transforms into a candlelit restaurant which is renowned for its unique setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing