We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible tour”

FRS Excursion to Tanger
Ranked #67 of 95 Tours in Tarifa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escápate con la excursión Tánger 1 día VIP Hammam y descubre todo el bienestar que Marruecos tienen reservado para ti.Travesía Fast Ferry Tarifa - Tanger - TarifaEncuentro con el guía personal en el puerto de TangerVisita panorámica en vehículo privadoSesión de Hammam (Baño turco con masaje)Té en el café "El Hafa"Almuerzo* en restaurante típico marroquí Traslado al puerto de Tanger
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Terrible city tour with sfr. The tour guide abdul was not interested in his clients. He dropped us at 2 tourist traps, carpet sales and a pharmacy.
We did not see anything interesting in tanger, would never go there again, waste of time and money.

Thank jobie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRS I, Community Manager at FRS Excursion to Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear jobie23,

We are sorry about your opinion and we regret that you didn't enjoy the Tangier Basic 1 day excursion. In FRS we work every day to improve our services so we appreciate your comment.

A greeting and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cultural tour"
in 20 reviews
"fast ferry"
in 6 reviews
"mint tea"
in 6 reviews
"cap spartel"
in 4 reviews
"ferry crossing"
in 4 reviews
"passport check"
in 4 reviews
"hercules cave"
in 3 reviews
"from spain"
in 5 reviews
"through customs"
in 3 reviews
"ticket office"
in 3 reviews
"journey takes"
in 2 reviews
"moroccan restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"a large tour group"
in 2 reviews
"car deck"
in 2 reviews
"decent lunch"
in 2 reviews
"less than an hour"
in 2 reviews
"observation deck"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our day long tour of Tanger and surrounding area. Our guides were friendly, informative and vigilant regarding our safety.

Its a large tour group, hitting all the tourist hot spots. Camel rides, spice shop, etc. Not recommended for those wanting "off the tourist track" or authentic experiences. We only had one day in Morocco, so it was fun.

Thank 931janiceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRS I, Community Manager at FRS Excursion to Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Janice B,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the trip. We work every day to improve our service and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you soon on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

After reading some of the negative reviews of this tour I was a little hesitant to book the tour, but thought that it was a good way to maximize our exposure to this city and culture within our 1 day time frame. We avoid tours as we like the freedom of exploring ourselves but I am happy to say that this tour and trip was a pleasant experience. We picked up the free shuttle from Algeciras and got on the Ferry with no fuss. A pleasant FRS person was there to gather up those on the tour and to make sure we got through customs and then to our awaiting tour guide (Ali). He did a great job in 4 languages, made jokes, was informative and showed us around the various locations. Lunch was fun and we got to bargain with the sellers in the market. There were camel rides (for only 2 Euros) which were brief, but hey how many times do you get to ride a camel? At the end of the day we were quite happy with everything on the tour.

Something to note. There are a few passport checks in the process of going from Trafia to Tangiers and back. The key one is when you get on the ferry going to Tangiers, go to the line for the passport check right away and fill out your forms while waiting. The line is very long and those at the end of the line had still not been through the passport/document check when the ferry had already arrived in Tangier (i.e. they missed the views during the crossing).

1  Thank happytrails_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRS I, Community Manager at FRS Excursion to Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear happytrails_7,


Thank you so much for your comment, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the trip, the lunch, the guide tour and the activities. In addition, we appreciate your advices about the passport control. We work every day to improve our service and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you soon on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We took the FRS ferry company's "Cultural Tour" of Tangier. This review will clarify some of the confusing information from other reviews.

First of all, the tour is not particulary "cultural." However, we were very glad we took the tour as it took us to places we never would have done on our own on a day trip. Our tour guide was very informative and injected a lot of humor into his talk, making the experience more interesting and fun. And he did the entire tour in 4 languages, which would seem distracting but was not. The tour first took a bus tour in a 15 person van that went along the city's main street, though the various ethnic quarters, by some palaces, to Cape Spartiel on the Atlantic, to the Caves of Hercules, then back to town. Along the way we stopped for time at the cape, at a touristy spot where you can ride a camel for 2 euro, and at the caves.

The second part of the tour was on foot. We went into a small museum displaying some ancient artifacts (15 minutes here is enough), then walked through the Casbah, then into the Medina for some lunch at a large touristy Moroccan restaurant. Although I can't comment on how authentic the food was, the taste was quite good. Soup, meet skewers, chicken on rice, and lots of bread. Drinks are not included but were a fairly reasonable (under the circumstances) 2 euro for soft drink or bottled water, 2.50 for a beer. There were a few other choices in this price range and they took (preferred) euros as payment. There was some live entertainment during the lunch visit.
After the lunch, they did take us to an "authentic spice" store which was just a sales pitch for some potions. The group was divided based on language. Surprisingly, the pitch was neither long nor pushy. (We have been on similar sales pitches in the Eastern Mediterranean area that push very expensive rugs and jewelry and are much higher pressure.) No one in our English group purchased anything and they were still quite friendly. A leather and other goods store next door where we hung out for a few minutes was much higher pressure. The tour people were completely fine if anyone wanted to opt out of the sales pitch, though no one did.

Finally, they gave us about an hour to spend on our own in the Medina. I suspect the amount of time is whatever is left in the day. We took the 11am departure from Tarifa which gets back at 8pm. For some unexplainable reason, this tour is 2 hours longer than an early morning departure for the Cultural Tour. The final part was a quick bus trip back to the port which is essentially across the street from where you get on the bus. A host from FRS made sure our entire group got through the passport control at the port on time and without problem.

Finally, we bought our tickets at the FRS office at the Algeciras port. FRS will shuttle you between Algeciras and Tarifa at no extra charge if you want or you can just start at the Tarifa port.

2  Thank JimFinPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRS I, Community Manager at FRS Excursion to Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear JimFinPortland,

Thank you very much for your wide comment, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the trip, the tour guide, the menu and the activities. We work every day to improve our service and we really appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you soon on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The boat concept works fine, just make sure you book tickets online beforehand also for parking, since it can get busy just before departure and a good tip is to get in line as the first thing for customs when you Enter the boat, since the line get long! Takes about 1 hour each way.

1  Thank Thurgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRS I, Community Manager at FRS Excursion to Tanger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Thurgav,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the trip. We work every day to improve our service and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you soon on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FRS Excursion to Tanger also viewed

 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to FRS Excursion to Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing