We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.....but TOO NOISY....”
Review of Hostal Lorca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Lorca
Ranked #25 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2017

In a good location....but that's the best part... And if you want a good nights sleep make sure to ask for a room at the back as the rooms at the front overlook the road and the traffic noise is shocking...all night with no consideration given! Also there's no air conditioning so if blow drying & styling your hair to go out is your thing then don't stay here as there's only a ceiling fan in these rooms that isn't adequate to keep the room cool....the pool at the back is pleasant and a nice area to sit... I wouldn't return here due to the lack of aircon and the noise...( there's also no room/toilet to change in once checked out while waiting to leave )

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Unless you get a room overlooking the pool at the back of the hotel (and there is no guarantee of getting this - you can't pay extra for these rooms and we asked and booked months in advance but were told that it will depend on arrival) then this hostel is a poor choice. The rooms are dark and feel more like a room in a developing country, The toilet did not flush for the first night (this was fixed after reporting it) and there was no hot water for the first night (again fixed after mentioning it) there is little sound proofing so you can hear people snoring from other rooms. The hosts are only there for a few hours each day so if you have a problem then it can take a while to get it sorted. At least one other person had a problem with their room and left the next day while we were staying there. I would NOT recommend this place

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here 5 nights.....its a nice little place and owners are friendly and has so many great points.
The pool area is small but very pretty and peaceful. There is an area to sit and eat and prepare foods you bring in and fridge is stocked with water and cold drinks all are a euro and you pay when you see owner or I paid on my day of departure. The rooms are small and compact and clean.
A few things what I found wrong. Only cheap and un-comfy chairs by pool no actual sunloungers even a couple would have been good. Our room was Granada this room was terrible for noise all night and early hours and right next to front door also no mirror at dressing table only in bathroom. Air con is a fan above bed and it's really not good enough in very hot months. I personally would not stay again because of the air con. But it is a nice place if you don't care about that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sp00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

This is the 2nd time we have booked with Femma and Rick this hostel is excellent with everything you need the rooms are nice clean and roomy with lovely comfy beds there is a lovely communal garden and pool area which is so peaceful and quite also a well equipped kitchen, Femma and Rick are so welcoming helpful and amazing hosts the hostel is right in the centre of the tapas runs though Nerja so a great base I highly recommend the Lorca and will book again soon ourselves thank you again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Use the pool area it's so tranquil and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kriso71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Right in the heart of Nerja and excellent location for exploring the town, bars and restaurants and also the beaches.

Not what we expected especially for the money as it was very basic. Decor could be described as rustic but cracks in the plaster and iffy light switch does not fall into my definition of rustic. Bring your own towels as those supplied are very thin and well used.

Not my style but I'm sure others would find it satisfactory. We paid over 90 Euros per night when in other locations in Spain we had paid between 55 - 70 Euros in 4 star hotels with breakfast included. Therefore from my point of view not good value.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngwynedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
952523426, Owner at Hostal Lorca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

very sorry you don´t like rustic decoration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 km away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#20 of 37 in Nerja
44 reviews
0.4 km away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
224 reviews
0.3 km away
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
#17 of 37 in Nerja
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostal Marissal
Hostal Marissal
#7 of 32 in Nerja
231 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal Abril
Hostal Abril
#5 of 32 in Nerja
190 reviews
0.1 km away
Apartamentos Centurion
Apartamentos Centurion
#13 of 59 in Nerja
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lorca

Address: Calle Mendez Nunez 20, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: €31 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Lorca 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostal is a beautifull place to stay at in Nerja for a reasonable price, a small hotel with swimmingpool and garden in the center of nerja, 600 metres from beach. It is possible to make your own breakfast or lunch in the bar. Cold drinks are available on the honoursystem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hostal Lorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing