We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/03/23
No prepayment needed
travelup.com
US$139
View deal
Agoda.com
US$115
View deal
Expedia.comUS$131
Hotels.comUS$131
PricelineUS$131
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,109)
Filter reviews
2,109 results
Traveller rating
1,008
746
263
65
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,008
746
263
65
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team patio bar thomson gold hotel gold entertainment happy hour pool area plenty of choice evening entertainment sea view half price great holiday superior room across the road lovely hotel both breakfast and dinner year after year sister hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,109 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2023

My wife and myself stayed at the Yaramar over Christmas again. Sadly this visit was somewhat disappointing compared to our previous visit.
The actual fabric of the hotel, its cleanliness, facilities and the Boxing Day lunchtime Staff and Guest party cannot be faulted. Similarly the staff were excellent. Whilst it may be a bit unfair to pick one above the rest, I feel that I must mention Gloria who worked the Yara Bar – her bubbly personality and standard of customer service were exceptional.
As expressed above, this visit did not live up to the standards of previous visit. The first and major point must be the food, in particular the buffet style evening meal. Dinner was between 6.30pm and 9.30pm, however if you went in midway through the opening hours (we preferred to eat about 8.00pm) the food that was still available tended to be picked over, cold and dried out. At appeared that early in the evening all the food was put out in large quantities and then left, rather than putting out smaller amounts then topping up with fresh as needed. Often, with an hour or more to go of the dinner time, staff began clearing up and putting out settings and food stuffs for breakfast, and cleaning grill hotplate!! My wife raised the problem of the standard of the food with the Restaurant Manager, but he appreared uninterested.
Secondly, and very noticeable was the sharp increase in the price of drinks. Over 9 euros for a short and mixer, and over 4 euros for a beer. I could buy a bottle of wine at the local convenience store for two thirds the price the hotel charged for a single glass. In another stealth move they have effectively increased the price of drinks further by changing the times of the so-called “Happy Hour”. Previous years Happy Hour was in the Yara Bar from 6.00pm until 8.00pm and then Bar Patio, where the shows are held, from 8.00pm until 10.00. The times have now been changed to 7.00pm until 9.00pm simultaneously in both bars, effectively halving the available hours, but also by running it whilst you are having your evening meal, so unable to make use of it.
Finally, the entertainment. Whilst the acts, on an individual basis, were of a reasonable standard, the entertainment overall can only be described as boring and repetitive. A small number of acts repeating the same routines. One duo – Esperanto – although quite good, were on three times a week!!.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johndA5145VQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yara Martin, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Yaramar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2023

Thank you for staying at Hotel Yaramar and for sharing your opinion with us. We really appreciate your review and are very sorry if you found this last visit disappointing compared to past stays. We take note of your comments regading your experience at the restaurant, drinks, happy hours and entertainment and will share them with our management for their consideration. We are very grateful for the lovely words you dedicate to our colleague Gloria and hope you give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2023

The hotel in good position but spoilt by bad restaurant. It needs a major overhaul in food quality , freshness and serving it hot
The food was bland cold laying for ages and unappealing. The desserts were the same every day
Sorry won’t return.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ejmoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yara Martin, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Yaramar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2023

Thank you for staying at Hotel Yaramar and for sharing your experience with us via Trip Advisor. We are very sorry if you were not pleased with the food served at our restaurant. We take note of your comments regarding this and we hope you give us another chance in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2023

We first visited the Yaramar Hotel in 2002 and have visited on several occasion since. For the record we're a couple in our late 40's/early 50's and this is our first visit since Covid emerged.

For many years this was a Thomson (TUI) Gold hotel but has recently changed to a TUI Platinum Hotel. I'd like to provide an objective review comparing our previous experiences with the reality of 2023.

Firstly, congratulations to the hotel for surviving several lockdowns and emerging from Covid as a going concern.

In so many ways, this remains a premier hotel in the wonderful resort of Fuengirola. But in other ways, things have changed.

The hotel still looks very imposing from the outside however the homeless occupying the closed neighbouring property and apparently broken front swing door give a poor first impression.

Reception was functional and helpful and nothing much has changed over the last 20 years. We had a slight issue with our bill but it was their staff who showed honest and integrity in sorting the matter out so massive credit to them.

A specific request relating to a health issue had been noted and granted which was very welcome.

Our room and the hotel in general was immaculately clean and was maintained to high standards. That being said, as others before have suggested the décor in some areas is becoming dated. That being said, we accept that post-covid, renovations are hardly a priority.

The hotel occupies a marvellous position in Los Boliches and the views from the balconies are fabulous.

Our room was comfortable and the bed decent however the pillows need replacing as a priority. The walk in shower must be the most powerful we've ever experienced so no issues there. The fixtures and fittings however have seen better days and have been cleaned within an inch of their lives.

The entertainment has completely changed from the Gold days. The downstairs venue is now closed with all evening entertainment taking place in the Patio Bar (on the same level as reception). A glass ceiling creates a cosier ambience and restricts noise pollution to the rooms above.

Gone are the evening cabaret's, bingo and quizzes to be replaced with English singers/crooners living in the South of Spain. Personally I think this is an improvement as I found the old structure a little "chavvy".

The swimming pool has wonderful views and is partially heated in winter to remove the chill making it a lovely option for swimming in winter. The jacuzzi was however closed and doesn't look as if it will open any time soon.

Daytime entertainment is now extremely limited and provided by a member of hotel staff. Frankly they may as well do away with it completely... it really wasn't very good.

Clientele remains predominantly British with ever growing numbers returning post lockdown. I'd say they represented 75-80% of occupancy with some increased Spanish at weekends. The average age appears to have dropped but is still in the region of 60-75 years. It no longer appears to be classed as "adults only" so there are some children visiting - although in limited numbers.

The major issue as highlighted in the previous reviews is at the restaurant. We understand that a number of experienced staff have left/or been asked to leave and standards have dropped - badly.

The food was often undercooked, usually luke warm and very bland. On one evening this weekend the options were pork, cod bites and a curry labelled as "chicken tikka masala" which bore no resemblance to any that I've ever eaten. By 7.45pm the majority of serving trays were empty and not replaced for up to half an hour. We struggled to put together a meaningful meal.

The food and service at the hotel restaurant were highly rated and applauded in days gone by. Sadly, they would barely generate a positive review in a 2* establishment at the moment.

Please do not be tempted to come to this hotel on a Half Board basis. Until there is a significant improvement in standards we would not do so. The restaurant is simply appalling. Low quality produce, cooked badly and presented without care.

We feel this is a hotel battling to identify its image for the future. It has so much going for it but we feel that it would be better served rebranding itself and targeting a younger and more international clientele moving forward. But in order to do this it must sort out its quite serious issues with the restaurant experience and role out some much needed renovations.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guy2021MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yara Martin, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Yaramar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2023

Thank you for returning to Hotel Yaramar after such a long time and for writing such a well detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry if this last time you were not pleased mainly with the service provided in our restaurant. Our guests' opinions are important to us so we will take note of your comments about this and will take them into account to make sure we provide the service our guests' deserve. We are very sorry if this last visit was a bit disappointing for you because of this and hope you give us another chance in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2023

First impression of this hotel easily achieves its 4 star rating with its excellent facilities. However, based on our restaurant experience it would be downgraded to 0nly a 2 star.
In all our year's of travelling and staying at many, many hotels we have never experienced or observed such bad service from the restaurant staff. They gave the impression that they simply did not want to be there. They lacked basic restaurant etiquette, were obviously poorly trained, were miserable and grossly inefficient.
Brushing down any food spillage from the table to the floor was standard practice!!. Cleaning the sole of our shoes after visiting the restaurant became a daily requirement, hygiene standards were simply unacceptable.
Unfortunately some of the younger staff modelled themselves on the older members of staff, so there is little hope of them becoming anything like efficient at their job.
Yaramar, this needs a real shake up, get yourself a good F & B manager.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Suetravelwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yara Martin, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Yaramar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2023

Thank you for giving hotel Yaramar a try and for your feedback, Sue. We are very sorry you found the service provided by our restaurant staff so disappointing. We have registered all your remarks and will share them with our management and our maître d' for their consideration. We hope you still had en enjoyable visit to the Costa del Sol and that you give us another chance in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2023

Our 16th year of going to the Yaramar twice a year and we always look forward to returning. Thought the entertainment put on by the hotel was good. Service in Patio bar excellent as always. Likewise Reception always efficient and helpful. Rooms very warm and comfortable and cleaned daily by the lovely cheerful Sylvia.
Now the not so good
Restaurant, food very hit and miss, hot food verging on cold/luke warm some nights but other nights better.
Restaurant ran out of House wine twice whilst we were there with no alternative being offered unless you wanted to pay a lot more. Never known a 4 star hotel run out of house wine of the next one up before.
We found the restaurant very noisy mostly due to staff continually restocking plates etc and clearing away.
Happy Hour was 7pm to 9pm which is when most guests are at dinner, surely a slightly later Happy Hour would be better so guests could take advantage of the offer, considering the drinks are quite pricey.
Lastly, worrying to see one hotel guest walking into the restaurant kitchen whilst it was in full service on more than one occasion, plus going behind the bar, Health & Safety issue ?

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Yara Martin, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Yaramar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

Thank you for being such loyal customer and for returning once again to Hotel Yaramar. We are very grateful for your review on Trip Advisor and sorry to hear you found our restaurant quite disappointing this time. Our guests' opinions are important so we will take your feedback into consideration and will work on it, hoping to improve our guests' restaurant experience. We hope you still had an enjoyable stay and that give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews