We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$201
US$145
View deal
SAVE US$56
Free cancellation until 27/04/21
Booking.comUS$150
PricelineUS$150
travelup.comUS$201
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
75
25
13
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
25
13
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews med restaurant infinity pool building work balinese beds leisure facilities new wing nearby construction great shuttle two storey omelette station beautiful hotel twin room short break sea view gym volleyball doubletree
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

My wife and I returned to this hotel after having enjoyed our first stay back in Aug . All the staff were very polite and helpful especially Bart the front office manager who upgraded us during our stay . Again to our surprise we were upgraded with lovely cava and chocolates upon our arrival in our room . Very nice selection for breakfast during these hard times . We look forward to another return very soon .

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Navas, General Manager at Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Dear Paul

Thank you su much for your review which is much appreciated. Great to see that you returned to visit us after your past stay in August and that everythong was up to your expectations.

I will share your nice compliments with all team members, specially with Bart, who spread our welcome to you and your wife.

So sorry for not having the opportunity to meeting you personally, but look forward to do it in a near future.

Please, stay safe

All the best

José E. Navas
General Manager
Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2020 via mobile

This is our last night in the hotel. It has been fantastic. The hotel is beautiful and we have been blessed with some amazing weather (our Spanish friends think it is chilly, but 27° is pretty warm for us) The staff have been helpful and courteous. My husband can speak some basic Spanish, me, not so much, and nobody has made me feel ridiculous for not speaking or understanding the language.
Our room has been cleaned to a superb standard every day, breakfast has been fantastic, we love the spa and the rooftop pool is lovely. We had great food by the pool one day and although we haven't eaten in the other restaurants, the menus look divine. If it wasn't for wanting to see our children, I'd want to stay much longer. It's obviously very quiet at the moment, but we like it that way!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Navas, General Manager at Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for your scoring and nice review, they are much appreciated. Happy to see you made the most of your stay with us. It was our true pleasure to hosting you and we really much appreciate your feedback. So sorry for not having the opportunity to personally meet you and your husband.

Regardless of current difficult circumstances, it is very rewarding for us to know that all efforts we make every day to spread our hospitality to our guest is being recognized.

I love to say that "people will forget what you did, what you said....but will never forget how you make them feel" and I trust you will not forget us.

Although we are adults recommended, please do not hesitate in bringing your children with you next time…they will be more than welcome and you will have de opportunity to stay longer

Trust you had a safe trip back and I look forward to personally welcoming you soon again.

All the best

José E. Navas
General Manager
Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely modern and clean hotel. Infinity rooftop pool has great views and ambience, just a shame it was so quiet due to COVID. GYM is amazing, one of the best I’ve experienced in a hotel with huge range of top class equipment and instructors. Will visit again when busier.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mdp77361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Navas, General Manager at Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2020

Dear guest,

Firstly, let me thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in the area. Also, thank you so much vor your scoring and nice comments on your stay. Happy to see you made the most of it althoug hotel being "no so busy".

Have to say that, regardless current COVID situation which is really impacting hospitality industry across the world, our hotel is keeping a nice occupancy during these challenging times. I would even say, from guest perspective, that now is a much better time to enjoy a realxing and enjoyable time when visiting us. All premises, facilities and services are available for our guest and will continue to be.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you soon again

All the best

José E. Navas
General Manager
Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hiton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Beautiful room - and a large balcony - in a very good condition.

Excellent breakfast options with omelette station, multiple cold cuts and (of course) Cava.

Probably the most friendly staff I have ever met. Everyone of them had such a positive attitude and was always smiling and helpful.
They must be prioritizing attitude over qualifications in their hiring process, although all of them where very competent at their jobs. Just watch out - as with many Southern European properties - their English language skills could be better among their front-liners. But for sure not a reason for passing on this hotel!

We utilized the Balinese sun beds at the rooftop infinity pool, which normally is 50 euros per half-day (80 euros for a full day). Includes also a half bottle Moët Champagne and a fruit platter.

The infinity pool is for sure a ‘key reason’ to stay here. Magnificent sea view and - especially - if you are tired of young screaming kids at a pool (since it’s only +16 access) this is the perfect place to be on a sunny day. If you like to be in the shades, be also careful that you don’t have that many other options than the Balinese beds. At least we didn’t find any umbrellas at any of the pools (but didn’t ask either, since we had our lovely Balinese Bed). Note, there are also another pool option next to their MED restaurant where kids are allowed. But remember the sunscreen for yourself and kids since there is only sporadic shades from the palm trees (no umbrellas was spotted)

The gym is probably one of the most extensive I have seen (+10 Treadmills, countless of cross trainers, bikes, different weight machines, TRX, etc.), due to it being a membership gym for nearby residents as well.
Despite this there was newer any availability issues.

Some have mentioned the nearby construction work as a Con. Yes, building cranes are not beautiful per se, but if you stay at fairly new-build hotel in an area that is under development, then the construction noise comes together with it.
Neither the view nor the noise did annoy us. Anyway it seems that they only work until “Siesta” (or when the temperature exceeded 30 degrees Celcius)... And probably there were coming more noise from the Padel tennis courses than the construction

The on-property dining options was great for a reasonable money - cheaper can of course be found “down the road”, but we enjoyed the variety of the different restaurants (including the 1 star Michelin Sollo restaurant)

Taxi to/from the airport is approx 25 euros. Or take the free shuttle train (runs every hour during day time) from the hotel to the nearby train station, where the fairly new commuter train (with A/C) runs 3 time per hour for the cost of approx 4 Euros per person: also provides easy access to Fuengirola (and Malaga, as well as Outlet shopping at the Plaza Mayor stop)

Excellent Hilton Honors Diamond recognition; Suite upgrade, free full breakfast, 2 complimentary drinks, 2x access to the Spa (including 15% discount for treatments) and a very late check-out (4pm).
(keep in mind the COVID circumstances and the related low occupancy rate)

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0rtenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Navas, General Manager at Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Dear Mr. Mortens,

To be frank, not too much to say, rather than thanking you so much for your nice review.

It has been a pleasure having you with us for some days and I am more than happy to know that you made the most of your stay and had the opportunity to experience our services.

American poet, Maya Angelou, wrote : "People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did...but they will never forget how you made them feel". And this is what really inspires us to provide HEARTFELT experiences to all our guests. Even more in these difficutl times.

Have to say that I, personally, feel most proud of your comments on our team member....they are all passionate and put the best of themselves into every single action they make....and this is, at the end, what hospitality is all about.

I am also taking note of some improvements you mentioned and can promise that will work on them. I am aware that there are still some minor issues to fix.

Also many thanks for your loyalty to our brand, and sorry for not having the opportunity to meet you personally. I really look forward to do it very soon.

Also trust you had a safe trip back...please do not hesitate in reaching me directly next time you are visiting us.

Sincerely

Jose E. Navas
General Manager
Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Stayed in for a night with a friend to relax after a mountain climbing trip. The hotel itself is located within the massive Higueron complex but well signposted. The lobby and building itself is a work of art and the infinity pool a definite visit on your stay. The breakfast and downstairs 'Med' pool was wonderful too. My only issue was with the twin room sea view setup - there is a open bathtub and the toilet and shower have a single door so only one can be used at any time (which is ok for couples but a bit awkward for friends)

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bookie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Morales, Marketing at Higueron Hotel Malaga, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2020

Dear guest

Fistly, let me thank you for choosing our hotel. Trust you had the chance to enjoy some of the wonderful mountains we have in the area and hopefully you could also enjoy the many natural retreats that can be found in our mountains.

Also thank you so much for your nice comments on our premises and services....much appreciated after some hard climbing days.

Understand you point on set up of the room you stayed....Should you have pointed out to our Front Office they would have offer you a different type of room.

As a mountain climber as well, please do not hesitate in contacting me for recommendations, should you consider to return to continue exploring our wonderful landscapes.

Warmest regards

José E. Navas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews