We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Hurb
Algotels
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
164
217
170
85
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
217
170
85
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar rooftop pool sea view booked room only across the road bars and restaurants air con excellent location checking in cleaning staff clean hotel fresh towels long weekend cleaned every day beach front malaga airport floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2022 via mobile

Just returned from el pourto ,after reading some bad reports I was apprehensive about going as we had booked 2 weeks holiday.we are 2 ladies in our 60s we are friends. It is not as bad as people make out but it is
not a holiday hotel it is more transient for people wanting to visit the area and have somewhere to lay their head .there is no appreciation that you have spent a lot of money to stay in their hotel.reception staff ok but they prefer Spanish residents , bar staff in reception area are so rude twice I tried to get served and they just carried on talking to each other so I walked away, no customer service skills at all.restaurant staff are very reserved only the odd one say hello..the best staff are the chamber maids they always speak and are very helpful..the rooms are kept spotless.we was never woke up early.the bathrooms are very small and not private at all.because we are friends one of us kept going out to give the other person privacy for the toilet,
Something needs to be done re pool bar it is our pool to use but you can only drink and eat anything bought up there.but it is expensive and some budgets won't stretch to using the bar.again some staff speak and make you feel welcome.breakfast good but evening meal needs looking at as it is repetative and uninviting unless you love sweet things.please be aware it is not mobile friendly with restaurant being up on the first floor of a different block so your down in one lift and back up in another .as the lifts are not very reliable it can take a while to get to the restaurant.
I wouldn't personally go back but it is central and very clean.maybe because I served all my career in customer service I expect to be looked after as I would have served residents.maybe they should have a mystery resident to report back to management re the failings of staff.after all we are the people who keep the money coming in and keep the Spanish economy going.please dont worry if you have booked to go as it is not to bad....

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Shaky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for this feedback about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind compliment to our housekeeping team who strive to maintain the high standards we set ourselves.

However, we are sorry that you felt our reception and bar team fell short of our high service standards. Rest assured that we will use your feedback to address this matter with our teams and take necessary action.

We regret that the bathroom layout wasn't entirely to your liking; next time you visit us please let us know in advance as we do have rooms of different categories and our team will be delighted to assist you in finding one with a bathroom design to suit your needs.

Moreover, we have duly noted your comments regarding our pool bar and will be sure to address your suggestions to the relevant manager.

While we are pleased to know we were able to tempt your taste buds with the wide selection on offer on our breakfast buffet, your comment regarding the evening menu selection has been duly noted. We will take this into consideration for the future.

We appreciate your highlight of our prime location nonetheless and hope that it helped you make the most of your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kindest regards,

José Luis Saíz
Director General / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2022 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel. Alejandro on reception was very helpful on our arrival. Room was very clean and modern, not many facilities but was all we needed during our stay. Pool area was great too, table service was slow at times but nothing to complain about. The food and drinks served were also good. A lot of the reviews mention the lofts being an issue but we never had to wait for more than a minute or so. The location of the hotel is what really did it for us, you step out the hotel to the beach. Also there are some amazing restaurants if you turn right out of the hotel and then right again, you’ll find a whole street of restaurants with outdoor seating, very authentic. Patagonia is as our favourite.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank hlouswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We have duly noted your comment concerning our receptionist and we will be sure to address this with our team to ensure that we are always providing our guests with the most efficient and professional service possible.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again.
Kindest regards,


José Luis Saíz
Director General / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2022 via mobile

Visited on a girls weekend with 3 other family members. 1 room wasn't ready when we arrived but Mohammed on reception was absolutely lovely (if a little flustered!) and offered a couple of options, and it was sorted fairly quickly.

The rooms themselves are very basic but clean and big enough for 2 people. The frosted glass wall which partitioned the bathroom from the bedroom is particularly odd but not a massive issue, just don't look!

The Skybar and pool is lovely. In no way big enough for the amount of guests but we just went to the beach during the day then came back on the afternoon. We always got a sunbed and usually one of the 2 daybeds too which my teen daughter loved. Drinks were decent quality and prices were similar to the nearby bars. The most beautiful views!

The hotel is right in the middles of the bars and restaurants and over the road from the beach. Location really is spot on

Downside - those lifts! Plenty of them, it's a bit of a frustrating game to watch them zoom past while you wait. Tiny metal coffins but they did the job. I think if we were there longer than a few days it would have become very tiresome. Especially to get to the pool as only 1 lift goes there.

It also seems a mainly adult hotel, there is nothing there at all for kids and the pool is 5ft deep all around so I wouldn't choose to go here with a family

Overall we had a lovely time and would return if we were on an adults only short trip again

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank staceyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2022

Dear Staceyar,
Thank you for this great feedback about your recent stay at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We do our best to ensure that our guests feel welcome, and it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It's also great to hear that our location was ideal for your visit.

Though we would like to believe the pool offers our guests the chance to have a refreshing dip, we have noted your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kindest regards,


José Luis Saíz
Director General / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Stayed here for 2 weeks. On our second day my sister-in-law had bad news and had to return to the UK. The hotel staff were brilliant in helping to organise their transport to the airport.
All the staff form reception to housekeeping to bar staff and serving staff were friendly, polite and helpful.
The room was tired but clean with housekeeping in every day. If you put up do not disturb, they would come back 3 times to see if they could get in.
The loungers at the pool are now being checked and arm bands given out so only people staying at the hotel could use them. you could aways get a sunbed.
Our first week was pleasant, however in the second week we had some noisy people move in 3 rooms away and on 3 occasions we were woken at 3ish in the morning with loud voices and banging doors. Due to the construction of the hotel noise travels a long way.
Apart for this our stay was pleasant.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevedyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Dear Stevedyn,
Thank you for this review about your stay with us at the Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay. Had we been aware during your stay, we would have sought an immediate solution. We are otherwise pleased to hear that our high standards and friendly service met your expectations and thank you for your kind mention of our handy location.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards,


José Luis Saíz
Director General / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022

Room:
The rooms are small but they do the job. It was clean and tidy on arrival. The balcony doors are a bit dodge, very hard to get closed and locked to stop hearing the noise outside. There is a lot of space to hang / fold clothes. The room is quite modern which is nice. I found the beds rather comfy especially the pillows but I suppose this is preference. The bathroom is just your typical bathroom, the shower is very good and a hairdryer is provided. Our towels were filthy on arrival though, it seemed they were covered in make up. When we got new towels, one of them was the same. In regard to housekeeping, they do the bare minimum, our floor never once got hoovered / brushed. The walls are paper thin, our neighbours were extremely loud they sounded like they were in our room and the phone in the room wouldn’t work to ring reception lol.

Food:
We went bed & breakfast, the breakfast selection was very basic it had multiple options of bread and butters and jams, croissants and a few other buns and cakes, basic cereals and then fry / hot food. The selection wasn’t that great and sometimes the food wasn’t the nicest but it done the job. Cannot comment on the lunch / dinner.

Pool / sky bar:
The pool area doesn’t open until 10am, which I really liked as it meant I could relax eating my breakfast and not have to worry about running up to get my towel on a bed. The sky bar then opens at 11am. The sky bar prices are typical prices you would pay in UK. At night the sky bar then changes in to a lovely area to drink. The staff were very friendly, however the service wasn’t great at times. We found it very easy to get a bed however on the days the weather was at its best, it was very very busy, which is expected.

Staff:
We didn’t have many encounters with staff, however I had read multiple reviews about staff being rude and to be honest the staff at reception were OK they just didn’t seem bothered.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank segt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel El Puerto by Pierre & Vacances, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate it.

We are so glad that you appreciated the comfort of your bed and appreciated our contemporary facilities.

However, we're really sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay and wish that we'd known while you were here; we'll always do everything that we can to make sure that you're as comfortable as possible.

Moreover, we are sorry that you felt our high standards were not met on this occasion and for the issue with the towels; we assure you that we will address this with our housekeeping team.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and we welcome your suggestions for our breakfast buffet and will consider them for the future.

While we appreciate your kind words towards our friendly team, we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the level of service received and your comments will be reviewed with all the team.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay overall nonetheless, and are pleased our pool hours were convenient to you.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you again.
Kindest regards,

José Luis Saíz
Director General / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews