We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View

Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Private terrace with plunge pool with stunning views of Antequera and Torcal Mountains
Breakfast patio off kitchen with spiral staircase to terrace and pool area
Al fresco shaded lounging area to enjoy the view with barbeque. Lovely in the evenings too!
Choice of three dining areas
View of Castle from the terrace
Night view from the terrace
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Stylish Rustic Kitchen with all modern appliances
Kitchen - washing machine and dishwasher
Lounge snug area with flat screen TV & amp; DVD library
Lounge snug area
Stoned walled bathroom with large walk-in twin-headed shower & foot wash
Twin-headed shower
Quarry stone stairs leading to the plunge pool
Sunbeds with a View
Sunbeds
View from the Terrace
Close-up of Castle from Terrace
Early evening from the Terrace
Nearby hill walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jtmlkirk
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

If ;you are looking for a centralized base to explore Andulucia or a place to spend a quiet week, Castle View is the place. Beautifully sited on the hills above Antequera, this lovely home has all the amenities and hosts, Rupert and Melanie want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Wifi was intermittent and weak
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
And0608
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay with amazing views”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had been to Antequera before and fell in love with it then. We had stayed in a nice hotel then much prefered the private accommodation of Rupert and Melanie´s house this time.
The hill was steep but worth every step for the stunning views.
The comfort all round was excellent, with Rupert and Melanie both wonderful hosts.
Will definitely to see you both again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith_the...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful and memorable break”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The view from the roof terrace at Castle View was a `wow'´! The house is well situated as you feel away from the bustle of the centre of Antequera, yet are so close to it. It was lovely in the evenings looking over the town at the castle all lit up. The house had everything we
needed, as indicated in the advertisement.
Our compliments to Rupert and Mel on their taste in refurbishment. Fab bathroom!
We had a really great break, and should we come back to Antequera would look to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zedeka
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent property with amazing views”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a lovely stay in Antequera, and Castle View was an ideal base.

The view as promised was incredible, and it was gin and tonics on the terrace every evening!

We spent a lot of the time just chilling out in the house and eating in. The kitchen is fully equipped, and the little shop 30 seconds away was really useful when we couldn´t be bothered with a supermarket shop.

There was a lot more to Antequera than we had anticipated, and we are planning to come back next year for two weeks rather then one.

Rupert and Melanie were well informed about the town and the surrounds, and we will be in contact again. Thank you both for a super stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia N
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“drains”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at castle view recently with a friend. The visit was unfortunately spoiled by the smell of drains. When we arrived we were told that there may be an occasional smell from the drains and if this happened we should pour bleach down.
Initially the problem was only very slight so we didn't worry. For about 4/5 days during our stay the smell was very strong and so I contacted the owner. I was told that the street drain was broken and that it would be repaired in time.
We tried pouring bleach down the drain in the shower, lavatory and basin from a huge bottle under the sink. It did help for a short time and we also tried covering up the drain in the shower with a flannel and a mat. By the time we left it had improved a bit.
Had we known about this situation we would have found another place to stay. We felt that visitors should be advised prior to making a booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
We were surprised to read your Tripadvisor review. You said you had such a wonderful stay when you left. It was Spanish kisses all round and you both seemed delighted with your holiday. There was no mention of disaffection.
The Spanish plumbing systems are not perfect, and it is common practice amongst homeowners to pour a drop of bleach down the loo from time to time during the summer months. It has been spectacularly hot this year, which has been much enjoyed by visitors.
We phoned the water board after you called towards the end of your stay, as promised, to see if there was a blockage or a crack in the pipe near our house. They came the day after you left and could find no problem. We too couldn´t detect an odour on the day of your departure, or since, but accept they can sometimes occur.
We hope you did enjoy your stay apart from this, as you said. We are sorry if this blighted the many other positive aspects of holidaying in Andalusia and Antequera, and enjoying the views, pool, and accommodation of Castle View.
We get great pleasure having guests visiting Antequera for the first time who appreciate it has so much to offer. Some have become friends, and revisited.
If you do visit Antequera again, you would be most welcome, and we would ensure Castle View is odour free!
It was nice to meet you, and best wishes from us both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing