We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lemon Tree

Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas Enormouse Farmhouse fully-equipped kitchen with raised Bar/Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Private walled garden with own plunge pool
Two al fresco dining areas
Enormouse Farmhouse fully-equipped kitchen with raised Bar/Dining Area
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Lounge
Lounging Area leading to Kitchen
Lounging Area
From Kitchen to Lounging Area
Large Kitchen with feature arch
Catering sized oven & hob
Bathroom with walk in Shower
Body Power Shower
Sun relaxation Area
Large rustic barbecue
Al fresco dining by the pool
Fresh water lakes a 40 minute drive away
The beautiful Santa Maria square a stroll away
Castle at the end of our road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Antequera, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EnBee1973
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was much more than we expected. Spotlessly clean and with everything you could need.The highlight is the outside space with the plunge pool. Perfect for sunbathing during the day and so relaxing with a nice cold drink in the evening.
Antequera is a beautiful town and all of the bars and restaurants are in walking distance. It is also well placed for exploring the region (the Alhambra and Cordoba only an hour away)
If you're looking for a truly unspolit Spanish experience this is the place to come to. Rupert and melanie were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison W
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real taste of spain - totally exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a Spanish holiday that felt totally Spanish as the tourist resorts tend to be a bit similar and to be honest you often don't really know where you are as it can be so geared up for the English. We chose Andalucía because it looked so pretty and booked a fortnight at Lemon Tree in Antequera.

We knew nothing about the town but wow it is stunning. Historical, beautiful and really friendly. We can't speak Spanish and virtually nobody speaks English there but it didn't matter, we got by and learnt a bit (food mostly!) while there and as the people are so friendly we did not feel intimidated.

Lemon Tree is a great base, up near the castle in the old part of town it was a lovely walk into town with fantastic views. The apartment has great amenities with a full kitchen should you wish to cook etc but close enough to walk to town where were are plenty of places to eat, drink and shop. It's hilly however so it did take us a couple of days to get used to it but we came back fitter! Rupert and Mel are a lovely couple, we so envy them living here!! They respect your privacy but are there if you need them. We were totally gutted to leave and have been in a slight state of depression since !!

The nearby El Escribano is in a stunning location by the Santa Maria. You must try the prawns here with Ali Oli (garlic mayonnaise)!! Maria there looked after us so well (and our sunglasses when we left them there one tipsy night after drinking one too many Alhambra beers ( very nice it is too!).

Another stand out restaurant for us was Mercado Andaluz, on Calle Najera, they have fresh fish and seafood (bought daily from Malaga). They have chairs outside in the square which is a lovely place to eat. They had only been open two months so we really hope they do ok as more established restaurants who have outside chairs opposite tend to get all the customers.

Would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara w
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After staying in the apartment for almost one month we felt totally at home.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Rupert and Melanie as well as their son Jake welcomed us to their house. They were very helpful in every way.
My husband enjoys cooking and thoroughly enjoyed the huge kitchen. It had everything we could have wanted.
Our favourite item was the beautiful ancient lemon tree in the courtyard. It was loaded with the most delicious lemons we had anywhere in the world. Just after we arrived on 2nd April this tree was also full of blossorm next to the ripe and ripening lemons! Amazing!
The plunge pool was nice to look at but in April the water was still to cold to go in.
I especially enjoyed the fact that our apartment was only a few blocks from the edge of town. I often went for a walk and met many friendly locals who were walking their dogs.
Around the corner was a small grocery store with a very friendly and helpful owner.
The fortress on the hill was just behing our apartment.
Since I am using a walker it was a challenge to get up there but the views over the city and the facing mountain were worth the effort.
Rupert and Melanie are from the UK so communication was easy.
Most inhabitants of Antequera do not speak much English. That was perfect for us because we wanted to practice our weak Spanish.
Since we had rented a car on arrival in Malaga we were able to visit Granada, Cordoba and many other places. The highways are easily reached from Antequera. They are the best highways we have ever seen anywhere.
We also tried out some other roads in the mountainous areas. They were challenging with all the serpentines.
We had a few days of rain but most of the time excellent warm and sunny weather in April. When we drive the 45 minutes to reach Malaga on the sea shore it was much hotter and very humid.
With Rupert and Melanie"s assistance this was one of our best vacations ever.
We can recommend this apartment to our friends and customers at any time.
Joe and Barbara Weis
London, Ontario, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2014
Dear both, thank you for your kind words. It was lovely meeting you, and we came to think of you as part of the family rather than our guests. We thoroughly enjoyed Joe´s cooking and still await news as to how he got on with the large Paella pan he bought! It is gratifying to see people getting so much of what Antequera has to offer, and obviously we are delighted you found Lemon Tree to your liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesHawo...
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way beyond our expectations.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I and our young daughter enjoyed a fabulous stay at Rupert and Mel's house in the charming town of Antequera. The house is everything that you could hope for from a holiday let and it was a wrench to leave. The accommodation is surprisingly spacious and very comfortable. The house is located in a lovely area of the town, has bags of character and has all of the facilities that you could possibly require. Rupert and Mel are extremely convivial hosts and we have no hesitation in recommending the Lemon Tree to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy I
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Lemon Tree in June of this year. The apartment is very spacious, it seems a bit of a shame not to be able to call it something more fitting to describe the accommodation. The kitchen, in particular, is more than adequate, especially for just the two of us. The garden is a real sun trap, and completely private, so if that's important to you, be reassured you cannot be overlooked. On the rare occasion that we ate at "home", it was a lovely, pretty place to be. The best thing about Lemon Tree, though, is the amazing hospitality and friendliness of Rupert, Melanie and Jacob. If you feel you wouldn't want to see them at all, believe me, they won't encroach on your privacy. BUT, if you need advice about anything, just slip a note under their door and they will do anything they can to help... recommend restaurants, book a table, a taxi, anything. They are delightful. The villa is in a hilly part of Antequera, so you need to be fit, or have a car (Hele Hollis in Malaga, super efficient). The town is worth exploring, we found some good tapas bars and the market is fascinating. We travelled easily to Granada and Cordoba, as the town is so central. This is "proper" Spain, not the plastic coast. If we return to Antequera, the Lemon Tree for us, it's really lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, value for money and the spaciousness of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing