We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
384
458
247
99
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
458
247
99
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port town working port a la carte restaurant grand hotel indoor pool was closed lovely old hotel buffet dinner extensive gardens public areas visit gibraltar grand old lady tea and coffee making facilities rooms are large southern spain hire car small balcony plaza alta
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Algeciras usually isn't a destination - it's only a stopover for people taking the ferry to Morocco. But it's a destination for us now that we discovered Globales Reina Cristina. We stayed there for a couple of days on our way to Morocco, and we liked it so much that we changed our itinerary so we could spend another couple of days there on our way home.This place is really a jewel - tastefully decorated in the Andulasian style with a few English touches - it was designed by an Englishman, I believe. As soon as we stepped into the lobby we felt transported into another time and place - if Agatha Christie had written a novel set in Algeciras - it would be here. Some have complained that it showed its age. This is true, but for me that only added to its charm and the sense of history, and I don't mind a few scuffs or cracks as long as everything is clean - which it was. There are extensive gardens for strolling, and you can view the ruins of an Arab mosque that once occupied the site. There's a swimming pool and plenty of lounge chairs, surrounded by patios and you can easily amble over to the bar to get a drink or a snack. It's about a ten minute walk to the port of Algeciras, and maybe twenty minutes to the Plaza Alta. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The service is very good. We really enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffets. For breakfast, they offer an incredible selection of cold cuts, cheeses, fruits, cereals, eggs (scrambled, fried or boiled), pastries....they even have beans for the many British guests. We enjoyed trying all the items on the extensive dinner buffet as well - there was always a selection of fish and meat as well as several vegetables and a big salad bar. I'm sorry to have to give the hotel four stars instead of five, but there were a couple of things I should mention. Sometimes the bar was tended by young people who didn't seem to have a clue. We had to explain how to make a rum and coke, we were served beer in a cognac glass...these kids need a little more training. Also, one evening (a Sunday) when we went down to dinner there was no buffet. They explained that they were offering a menu instead. Apparently not many people had signed up for the dinner that night. That was understandable, and we didn't mind at all. The menu choices were limited, but we settled on pasta for an appetizer, I ordered a grilled steak and my husband ordered the grilled swordfish, and sliced fruit for dessert. I'm sorry to say that this meal was a disaster. The steak and fish were dreadfully overcooked - the steak was like shoe leather and it was served with undercooked potatoes and onions. The fish was dry and tasteless, and accompanied only by a little lettuce and a few tomato slices. Dessert was a few slices of pineapple. It was a complete disappointment. I mention this in hopes that the management will see the review and address this problem. It won't put us off from returning again - we'll certainly be back. We really love this hotel - it's our home away from home in Algeciras.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Where do I begin last stayed here 3 years ago loved it then so came back Big mistake it's not cheap to stay at the Reina so did not expect staff to be so rude and unhelpful apart from two Rooms were dirty shower did not work properly fridge did not work at all air con did not work properly Woken at 7am by builders banging. Sat around outside pool to hear builders banging. Pool steps broken and dangling by shallow end again poolside bar not open never been able to locate sauna The restaurant is very lacking in atmosphere your plates are taken from you while still eating ( don't put your knife and fork down) worst felt itchy the whole of week there put all clothes in bath to sort when back home to find moving bugs left in bath Bed had bugs in it Saw a cockroach walking through bar area what has happened to this hotel were told it had a new manager. The receptionist rude when checking out the list goes on

Room Tip: Choose one in another hotel
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank johnalison12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesGlobales, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear Guest, we have received your negative rating and refret that we havent met your expectations. At Globales we take the satisfaction of our customers very seriously and we can guarantee you that this issue will be investigated and that we will take action.

Thank you for your help and we hope that you can trust us again in the near future.

We appreciate your time spent on this review.

Best regards

Hoteles Customer Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

The building looks great (just like on the pictures), but as explained to us by the Director after we complained, there is a lot to do to bring back this hotel to the level it is supposed to be! Appalling service, especially at the restaurant where the Maître, after being unable to provide the wine we asked for despite a full bottle being on display just in front of us, harrassed us through the corridors to make sure we would pay him the 12€ we owed him after dinner (we had no money on us and needed.to go back to the room. he followed us with the credit card machine through the bar, in front of other customers, and down to our room!!). The dinner buffet was almost empty when we arrived (50mn before closing time) and nothing was refilled. The breakfast was a bit more varied but far below what you would expect from a supposedly 4 star hotel. The rooms are basic and haven't been renovated or even painted since the hotel was built, probably. Not even a single frame on the walls to make them more attractive. The Director told us he just arrived and will do his best to bring back the hotel to his old glory. Good luck to him. This will be a huge task!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sebsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesGlobales, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know your discomfort. We are very sorry to read that we haven´t met your expectacions.

We are taking notes of your comments and will do our best to improve the service provided and its facilities.

Best regards

Globales Customer Care Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Very charming hotel with nice outdoor swimming pool, both restaurants was closed in the afternoon and they only serve snacks near pool side. Receptionist was very polite and helpful. The gymnasium was very small size like a toilet with no equipments for working out not even a treadmill. The wifi signal seems to available in the lobby area only but not in room where we want to connect our laptop or check email on our iPhone. I guess we are lucky with the air conditioning in room working ok seems like many guests complained about it during their stay. Not rushing back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KrisWithTheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesGlobales, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Kris,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will do everything in our power to improve tha stay of our customers for the coming years.

We would love to see you among them.

Best regards

Globales Customer Care Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel was once a charming one. Nice old building in need of attention in many aspects - building, rooms, environ, amenities and service.
Hard to believe no one could find any ice - even at the bar - at 5pm!
Resembles a retirement home.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesGlobales, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Globales Reina Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will do everything in our poer to improve the stay of our customers for the coming years.

We would love to see you among them.

Best regards

Globales Customer Care Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews