We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
183
221
67
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
221
67
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great location rooms are small your luggage nearby hotel the main square beach front view of the ocean several blocks town square beach hotel minute walk the cliff bread side street big waves parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2020

We researched before booking and were so glad we did! Spent two nights here in room 302 and LOVED it. Great room, amazing views of the cliffs/beach out one balcony, and of the old square and cliffs in the distance out of the other balcony. THIS is what we think of when we hear "great views". Stunning.

We booked directly with the hotel for 82Euros/night. Included a pretty good breakfast too. Fresh juices, freshly baked breads and pastries (better selection our first day than on our second, which was disappointing) and the cappuccino coffee always had a hot chocolate taste about it which wasn't appreciated.

Our room wasn't ready, but JoAnna was very nice and took our luggage and as we ate lunch she sent us a text to let us know when it was ready.

The sheets and towels were top notch quality. The bed was super comfy and the wifi as good as it gets. The shower has a window in the rear that opens to the town square below. It's double hung, so you can either open it to tilt back and release the steam from the room, or you can swing it open and wave high to the impressed (or appalled?) onlookers below, your choice. Just be aware it can open two different ways.

If you drive here, it's pretty crazy checking in and out. It's a busy, one way, small street at the hotel entrance, but the guidance you'll receive is "just park somewhere in front" and unload your luggage. Put on your creative hat, but remember to also wear your courteous hat too as you are arriving. Be on the alert to avoid a LONG circle back to the hotel. The actual parking will be at a sister hotel, Hotel Praia, but you'll first need a card from Mar Bravo to get into it. It's 500m away, and according to google maps will take almost as long to drive to it as to walk to it.

Room 302 has to be the best room in the hotel. If that one isn't available, then room 202 will have a similar view, just one floor down. Hope our review has been helpful in your planning : )

Room tip: Room 302 is best.....a good plan B would be room 202.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Our rating would have been higher had the staff handled problems better. Before we even got there we had a problem. They had screwed up our reservation which meant that we had to change rooms after our first night. There was never an apology; their attitude was pretty much “oh well, too bad” - terrible customer service. Once we got there, service was spotty. The bartender was helpful and friendly, but the front desk woman was completely uninterested and not very welcoming. Our first room was quite small, and we weren’t completely sure the sheets and towels were fresh/clean. The bedside table was dusty & sticky and the lamp didn’t work. Our second room was better - cleaner and bigger with a balcony closer to the ocean. When they moved our things, they lost a couple of my toiletries, and when I asked about them, I was blamed for losing them. Gr-r-r-r-r - more sub-par service. The hotel is in a great location right at the intersection of the main square and the ocean - and you pay for it! Parking was at their sister hotel several blocks away, though there was a space out in front to load and unload your luggage. The restaurant was overpriced, so we didn’t eat there except for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - the usual breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, and some really nasty-looking black bananas. Overall, though the property was nice and in a good location, I think we might look elsewhere if we ever return, mainly due to the attitude and lack of service from the staff.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Excellent location right in front of the beach and surrounded by restaurants.
The hotel is modern and the staff are friendly and professional. The room was excellent and the bathroom was clean, functional and modern. The breakfast is excellent. Although the hotel offers free parking,(very important in Nazare if you are traveling by car), the parking is far away, which is not terrible but not ideal too...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020

Hotel Mar Bravo is located on the beachfront in the very busy seaside village of Nazare. The village is incredibly busy but when you arrive at the hotel, the traffic and parking issues are immediately forgotten. The styling of our second floor room was first class for a beach hotel. We had a balcony looking straight onto the beautiful white sand beach and a second balcony that overlooked a plaza with a variety of cafes and restaurants. Crisp white bed linen, fluffy white bathroom towels and quality bathroom amenities completed the comfort within our room. The bathroom contained a shower over the bath, vanity, toilet and separate bidet. Breakfast was good with a variety of choices including, of course, pastel de nata. We also ate dinner in the seafood restaurant which was excellent and possibly the best seafood restaurant in the village. The hotel staff were very helpful and we were met each time with a friendly smile. Nearby attractions include the lighthouse and funicular railway. Unfortunately the funicular was closed for annual maintenance during our stay but there was a public bus that takes you up to the cliff top village. The lighthouse is an approximate 10 minute walk downhill from this village but it is well worth the walk for the scenic views. Given the amenities, the location, the service provided and the value for money, I highly recommend this outstanding hotel.

Room tip: Beachfront rooms provide views over the beach and up to the lighthouse. The rooms are very quiet as the windows are double glazed.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2020

Nazare is a beautiful spot. We stayed for only one night at the Hotel Mar Bravo, on our way from Porto back to Lisbon. The best part about the hotel was the view of the ocean from our room, its immediate access to the beach and boardwalk, and the its restaurant, including the breakfast, but particularly the seafood dinners. We tried cataplana for the first time there and really enjoyed it. The room was very small, but clean, and for one night it wasn't a serious problem. We were there in December, when traffic was light. In season, we were told that just getting to the hotel could take a serious amount of time. We didn't see the monster waves while in Nazare, but they were big enough, and we enjoyed watching the surfers being towed by jet skis to catch them. The lighthouse and its museum of surfboards and videos on the big waves and the crazy people who ride them was a surprise and well worth seeing. There is a great little restaurant, as well, on the cliff above the lighthouse with outside seating and beautiful fresh grilled fish. Unfortunately, I've forgotten the name of that restaurant, but it was before getting to Arimar, down a side street off the main plaza. Beautiful, beautiful beaches in all directions. Wish we had taken more time to explore them!

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank patriciatK8744GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews