We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of both worlds”
Review of Lough Owel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Owel Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best of both worlds”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

From the moment we drove up the driveway, we were awestruck by the stunning beauty. Being in the woods by the lake was a nice change from the wide open country. Every window you look out of has a spectacular view. The lodge is immaculate and so spacious! The bedrooms are huge. Our room had a four poster bed and a loveseat, bathroom clean and modern (many B & B's have ancient plumbing and fixtures) with toiletries included.
Meals were perfect, simple and filling, just the ticket when traveling on the road and doing a lot of driving. Our hostess was also helpful with resources around the area. She had menus from local restaurants, and ideas on sites to see. Our itinerary had been up ended as a result of a change in our reservations. We had to leave a previous B & B a night early and the stay there was quite traumatic. Aideen was super helpful with ideas for alternative sights to see. She suggested taking the train to Dublin for the day. We took her advice, and what a perfect day we had! My husband got a day off from driving and we got to see Dublin without all the hassles. All in all, we got the best of both worlds-modern amenities and professionalism of a fine hotel with the warm intimacy of a well run B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Mary,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We hope to see you back again in our home.
May you and all your family have a great Christmas and a peaceful new year.
Aideen and Martin Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

just the ideal to relax and unwind from the stresses of a busy week
The Hostess was very friendly and very helpful in recommending things to do.The Room was well furnished and the view of the lake especially in the morning was awesome.
Breakfast was lovely and and filling with the fresh OJ a treat.We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoccii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Manager at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We wish you and yours a very happy Christmas and a good new year
Kind Regards,
Aideen and Martin Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt so welcome by the owners of this beautiful B&B. We were given a spacious family room with it's own full bathroom including a separate bath and shower. The views of the lake were breathtaking with plenty of land around to take walks and take in the beauty of Ireland. The breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. We would definitely return to this charming house on our next visit and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for your comments.
We hope you have a great Christmas and a peaceful new year.
Kind Regards,
Aideen and Martin Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My mother and two sisters traveled Ireland and stayed exclusively in B&Bs using vouchers. I did lots of homework on Tripadvisor to decide where to stay. We loved the Lough Owel Lodge! If you are looking for a contemporary stay then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a warm, homey, genuine example of Irish hospitality, then this is the place for you. We even got lost and the she (the owner) came and got us and led us back to the house! Lovely country estate. Lots of room to wander if you have the time. Good breakfast. The Lodge really has the feeling that you are staying in someone's home...not in a home retrofitted to make money. She also had good recommendations for places to go out for the evening. If we ever make it back to Mullingar, we will be staying at the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbeard1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Manager at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We hope you, your mother and two sisters all have a lovely Christmas and a peaceful new year. perhaps we will see you back in Lough Owel Lodge some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I am not sure how they managed to score a 2011 Karen Brown recommendation sticker to put next to the door. Lough Owel Lodge has surely seen brighter days and although WiFi is available upstairs by the guest rooms, everything (including the router) has a very worn appearance. The innkeepers are pleasant but certainly not the jovial Irish we've come to expect having experienced lovely hospitality around the country. Lough Owel room has a queen bed but it's hard as a rock with a little tiny tele so far up high that you can hardly see what the programme is you are watching. Baths are clean but dated as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property.

Our goal is to provide our guests with a comfortable and pleasant experience while they stay at our farmhouse
.In order to achieve this we are continuously upgrading and implementing changes to our home and our services.
We are delighted to use yours and other comments in formulating our plans for future changes and upgrades.
kind regards,
Martin and Aideen Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
5.5 km away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
396 reviews
4.1 km away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
607 reviews
8.1 km away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
7 reviews
4.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
112 reviews
4.0 km away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Owel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Owel Lodge

Property: Lough Owel Lodge
Address: Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge | Culleenmore, Mullingar 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Owel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge owel lodge is a farmhouse bed and breakfast located 3klms from Mullingar, a lively market town.Our home has extensive views of Lough Owel and the surrounding countryside.Guests can enjoy a leisurely walk through our organic farm to the lake. An ideal place to unwind and relax from all the stresses of life. All five en suite bedrooms have pleasant country views. For breakfast guests can enjoy home baking, homemade jams and organic porridge while sitting at a large antique table overlooking the countryside. Wireless Internet Access is complimentary and is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Owel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing