We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cozy rural cottage in a quiet natural...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
A stunning lake view at Kilbarron Quay - 7 mins drive away ! Primrose Cottage to the left and Blackberry Cottage to the right sharing 1.5 acres.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Picnic time on the front lawn at Primrose Cottage with views of fields and gently sloping hills
A stunning lake view at Kilbarron Quay - 7 mins drive away !
Primrose Cottage to the left and Blackberry Cottage to the right sharing 1.5 acres.
Cosy but spacious living room - open fire is on the right of the picture just out of view
An evening sitting in beside a cozy log fire in Primrose Cottage
Cosy but spacious living room - open fire is on the right of the picture just out of view
Open plan living room looking towards the kitchen area and window with views of the woods
Double bedroom with luxury bedding, towels and en suite to the rear
Twin bedroom  with quality bedding and towels, with a convenient en suite
Enjoy eating 'el fresco' on those long summer days.....
Kilbarron Village shop, post office and friendly pub just 1 km from your cottage
One of Nenagh's traditional shops which you will find on the high street
Countryside views all around and heaps of fresh air
Enjoying water sports on the beautiful Lough Derg, just 1 kilometre away
Portumna Castle, 15 minute drive
Portumna Abbey dates back to the 15th century
A family of ducks cooling down on a hot evening at Terryglass.
Everyone having fun on the lake at Terryglass, both on and off shore- feels like summer !
Boats jostling for space at the marina in Terryglass.
Take a long stroll into Cominchas Forest, within walking/running distance
Autumn and mushroom picking heaven in the Cominchas forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Miri N
Los Angeles
1 review
“Gorgeous cozy rural cottage in a quiet natural setting”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved our stay at Primrose in Tipperary! It was exactly what we needed, a nice quiet time away from the city in a convenient location for exploring Ireland's lakes, landscapes and castle ruins. The house was very warm, cozy, and welcoming (we especially loved our evenings by the fireplace.) We also had fun exploring the woods behind the house. The whole area is full of really colorful history and stooped in legend reaching back to the Neolithic age! We had a lot of fun wandering the country backroads, sampling the local pubs, and even took some kayaks out on the lake one day and went exploring some haunted castle ruins on an island! On the way back the sun began to set, the lake was still and eerily quiet, very spooky! The owner was really helpful and friendly, recommending interesting excursions, riverside walks, forest explorations and beautiful country drives. It was a perfect Ireland experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: country backroads are a bit difficult to navigate, get a sat-nav or mobile GPS!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the kind words. You certainly managed to explore the Tipperary countryside and do plenty of local sightseeing. There is no shortage of outdoor opportunity with the lake to explore using our own kayaks or canoes if you wish, plus local woodland and forest walks around every corner. We are also very fortunate with many high quality local pub/restaurants to choose from.
You are most welcome here anytime of course.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen R
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, cozy cottage in the Irish countryside. Exceptional effort made by the owners to make you feel welcome. Welcome package of food along with the provision of age appropriate games for the children were very much needed and appreciated. There is something special about being able to wake up and step just outside your back door for a quiet coffee with nature and cows! Would highly recommend for those looking for a well situated cottage within drivng distance to a variety of tourist attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value
Liked least: Difficult to find at the outset
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and I agree that to be fairly well immersed in the heart of the countryside is something special. Dividing my own time between a UK city and the countryside of Tipperary means I truly appreciate and love this special place; it is such a pleasure to have guests staying who feel the same way !
This is our first year and we are still not only learning but also building and adding to the collection of age appropriate items for children and babies too - the collection ranges from a travel cot and 'baby' toys to tricky puzzles and board games plus a range of DVDs.
It was a great privilege to have guests all the way from Canada and there will always be a welcome for you and your family here at either Primrose or Blackberry cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were made very welcome by Allison ,who not only helped us with a great welcome pack and local information , but also with local tips for our Irish family search.
The house was extremely comfortable and clean in a lovely rural setting near The Loch and easy driving distance to nearby villages and to many beautiful areas of Ireland.
A GPS would be helpful driving in the area!
Roy and Marg - Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and peace of setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
It was a real privilege to have visitors from Australia and to be able to help trace family roots locally was a pleasure. The majority of help came from our local publican who is very enthusiastic and knows everyone !
I would like to thank you for persevering with leaving a review after much practical difficulty. We are so pleased that you liked our cottage - our aim is to deliver a high standard in every way.
We hope to welcome more visitors from across the miles and perhaps you will make another world trip and you will always have a warm welcome from us !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service, cleanliness, property features and location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review ! We aim to please without being intrusive, and are delighted that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the area and felt comfortable in Primrose Cottage. It was lovely and an honour, to receive yet more guests from the USA and we look forward to welcoming you again at any time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blacklick, Ohio
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage roominess, cleaniness, and comfort
Liked least: Driving on the left side of the road on a narrow road. BUT - This is part of Ireland that we needed to experience!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Thank you for the lovely review from our first guests in Primrose Cottage ! It was exciting for us to have visitors from USA and we are delighted that you found the cottage well positioned for exploring and comfortable to return to at the end of the day.
We would love to welcome you back anytime !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing