We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for one night in January 2012. The service was excellent and we had dinner there which was also excellent. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneColfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    189
    69
    34
    36
See reviews for
215
142
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here in Jan 2012 with partner. Nothing very bad to say but also nothing very good! Pros: food is nice, staff friendly, room is clean, pool area clean, decent free wifi. Cons: walls are paper thin and so noise of other guests going to bed kept waking us. Bed very small and room decor is very dated. No atmosphere in lobby or bar areas of hotel. Nenagh is not interesting, with very few half decent restaurants.
In short as a cheap and clean place to stay it is a good choice but for weekend away to relax in comfort and feel pampered go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarrieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here recently with my partner, and we were both slightly disappointed with our experience.

Being realistic, I didn't have overly high expectations of this hotel. It's a small town, with no real accommodation competition and one can't expect 5* standards. I didn't - I expected something more moderate, but it didn't even really live up to that.

The room was large, but sparsely furnished and unattractively painted in bright yellow . The bed was ridiculously small for the room size leaving a lot of spare space just seemed wasted. A proper king size double would have worked much better, considering the acres of spare space, and made more of it.

Almost immediately, I noticed the heat level, which was extremely high. Despite turning off the radiators in both our room and bathroom, it was still too warm and we had to leave the window ajar one night to keep us cool. Bearing in mind this was December, I'm not quite sure what was happening with the heat levels!

The bathroom was large, with some basic toiletries and the ubiquitous Dove cream attached to the walls. One morning, I went to shower (admittedly quite late at 11am) and there was no hot water left. Not ideal to have a barely tepid shower.

Wifi codes could only be obtained from reception (which we only found out AFTER we went up to our room - receptionist flat out refused to give to us over the phone. Surely this could be offered at check-in?). It didn't matter, because we could get no device to connect to it. Coupled with a range of TV channels were fuzzy and bad quality, with lots of channels repeated meant that in-room entertainment options were few and far between.

There was no workable desk in the room (a dining room style chair placed against a chest of drawers is *not* a desk) either, which would not be suitable for someone trying to work.

Breakfast was good, and the staff there did seem attentive which was a positive. Bar staff were also quite efficient and pleasant.

Overall though, it's not a hotel I'd care to return to. It doesn't live up to the price I paid, or the modest expectations I had for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colmirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed in 5 bedroom house for weekend. Good things:house very clean.very secure with fob needed for car park.fenced back garden with picnic table great.house plenty big enough,enough bathrooms etc.2 bedrooms at top of house kind of cool.very good spa area in pool-jacuzzi,different jets of water.pool and kiddie pool good.Good thick curtains if street lights annoy you.Poor:we have a 2 year old,nothing for her except pool,and she had to be out of that early,6.45pm i think.she was too young for kids club,games room only had games for older kids e.g. Scrabble.a playground or play room would have would have made such a difference.Sheets were very bally and worn.master bedroom had decent sized bed but all other double beds looked v small.overall,will not be going back with kids unless facilities for kids improve.a playground can't be that hard to get!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaA902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was here for a few days over the Christmas break with 2 young children. I cant recommend the hotel enough. The staff were welcoming and friendly and very helpful. The pool area was clean and the on site creche they have is secure with excellent staff. our two children aged 5 and 7 had a great time. We stayed in one of the lodges which as clean, warm, modern with house alarm and safety box and a 2 minute walk to the hotel. We will be going back again next Christmas.

Room Tip: If you are going as a family or group i would definately recommend the lodges. They are spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinNgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
33.6 km away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
379 reviews
18.7 km away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
18.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
39.4 km away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
29.5 km away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing