We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SURF & STAY(Strandhill)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Castle Dargan(Ballygawley)
US$127
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
522
76
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
76
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfaststrandhill lodgeseaweed bathboiled eggsipod dockthe atlantic oceanresidents loungebalcony roomnespresso machineself servicestrand barmini fridgeyogurtice bucketdvd playersand dunesstrand hill
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Strandhill Lodge Hotel and Suites perfect place to stay to enjoy Strandhill village with only a short walk to the sea and the village. Lovely seaview from our balcony room. Room clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast just what we needed. Staff all friendly and helpful. Looking forward to returning again soon to a wonderful hotel and village.

Room Tip: Balcony room for a view of the sea and mountains
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Robann2014

Thankyou so much for your review and for taking the time to compose. I'm delighted we exceeded your expectations during your time here.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to Strandhill again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I really enjoyed staying in the Strandhill Lodge. The room was really nice and big, we had a beautiful view which looked out on the sea. It was a perfect 7-10min walk to Strandhill village, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was continental and had exactly what we wanted. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear serenao362

Thankyou for your review and i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You mention that you would stay again - well i hope we do and i look forward to welcoming you back again.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This hotel is a little outside of Sligo in an area called Strandhill. The hotel is at the top of the hill and the rooms overlook the ocean. We were only here for one night. The rooms are large, with a door leading to a small patio that overlooks the ocean. This isn't a luxury hotel - but it is comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast room with a mix of cold cuts, pastries, fruit and cereal. You can walk to the ocean and park in about 5 minutes. There is a pleasant restaurant just next door.

Room Tip: avoid room at the end of the hall on the first floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Colleen D

Thankyou for taking the time to review and for sharing your experiences with the tripadvisor community. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and i hope the rest of your vacation was enjoyable.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Every year, come what may, I try to spend at least one night at this lodge. Even if it means having to organize my annual trip back home to Ireland around it. Why? Because it is such an immense pleasure returning to an establishment that places such a premium on customer care. It makes me proud to be Irish! They are so professional, genuinely hospitable; the rooms are always spotlessly clean, so well appointed, with lots of subtle extra touches ( like herbal tea in the hospitality tray, decaf Nespresso, proper hairdryers, or the local free- range boiled eggs at breakfast) that are appreciated. I can thoroughly recommend a few nights here. Strandhill itself is a fantastic wee village with great pubs. I recommend at least one seaweed bath at Voya, and a trip out to Carrowmore tombs, a bracing walk up Knocknarea, finished off with Ireland´s Best Pizza at the Strand Bar. Strandhill Lodge is the perfect base for a few days in this stunning part of Sligo. There really is no place like it. The staff are sincerely welcoming without being intrusive, and the rooms are 5 star hotel worthy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tyronegirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Tyronegirl1971

Thankyou for your review it is always a particular pleasure seeing a review from a repeat guest - i'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you will return again in the future. I will pass on your kind words to the staff.

There is so much to do here in Strandhill and your recommended checklist is essential to all visitors to the area.

Thankyou again for your custom and your review and i look forward to you returning again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I have stayed in this Hotel several times, the Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the bars, cafes and strand hills beautiful beach. Beside the Hotel is a restaurant that has a menu that caters to everyone's needs and all in all the Hotel is situated in the perfect location. Upon checking into the Hotel your welcomed by friendly staff, The manager is also very friendly and very generous. When walking to the room the corridors are spotless there is no dust or carpet stain present on any floor, when opening the door to my room. I am presented with a beautiful clean room, the carpets are spotless and the furniture has no dust or stains what so ever. The bed is perfectly made and the sheets are pristine. On the vanity table, there is an Nespresso coffee machine with a selection of different pods (lattes, cappuccinos, americanos), there is also a kettle on the shelf with instant coffee
,tea and biscuits. The Hotel does really go out of its way to please their customers. The view from the balcony room is stunning, you step out and you're presented with a beautiful view of the ocean and the garden area surrounding the balcony is also beautiful and well maintained by the staff. I also stayed in the room below the balcony and the patio area is just as beautiful. Just to note, there is two seats outside the balcony and the patio area, it really is a nice touch to have seating outside as it allows you to relax and admire the spectacular scenery. The continental breakfast is fantastic the breakfast bar is very well maintained and feels very cozy, there is stunning view of Knocknarea mountain as you are having your breakfast. It's important to note that there is a selection of gluten free breakfast options which really shows that this Hotel does cater for everyone's needs. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break away, I don't think any customer who books here would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a double deluxe room with balcony and you will be in for a treat
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonestHotelsIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear HonesthotelsIE

Thankyou for your review and for taking the time to do so - sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

All of our staff do try and work to make guests stay as comfortable as possible we are always anxious that guests get to see as much as possible during the stay as there is so much to do!

I will pass on your kind comments to the housefkeeping staff regarding cleanliness as this is of tantamount importance to us and we work hard to maintain.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and i look forward to welcoming you again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews