We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Myself and my husband stayed here along with a large group of friends for a wedding held in the local golf club. We highly recommend you stay here if you are planning a trip to the beautiful surfing village of Strandhill. The place is immaculate and modern. We paid a discounted rate of €89 per room per night - due to the wedding we were attending and the size of our group booking - its normally €99. This was for b&b. They offer a continental breakfast which is more than adequate - there is also free tea and coffee in the lobby with complimentary biscuits. There is no restaurant facility as such except for the breakfast room - so there is no room service or lunch / dinner available. There are drinks and snacks machines in the corridors. They offer all the little extras that alot of hotels no longer offer ie complimentary sparkling water in the room and toiletries. The staff were lovely - especially the manager, Dave who could not have been more helpful. It has a lovely laid back feel and the lodges are just a stones throw from the beach. We will definitely be returning here - a gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josiedublin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 April 2011

Hi Josie

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your group were so friendly and easy to deal with that I should be commending you all if there was such a site to do so! Its always a pleasure to deal with nice people. I'm so glad the weekend went well as your group was the first wedding group we have dealt with - so thankyou for your kind words.

With relation to the room service breakfast it is definitely something we will introduce in the summer months just to add that little something extra.

Again many thanks for the comment and if you are booking in again please let me know and i will be sure that you are given a balcony room.

Happy Easter and thankyou again.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 535 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

Strandhill lodge and suites was a wonderful experience for our family. The accomadation was a excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly.I was personally very impressed with the rose all the female guests received with our breakfast on mothers day what a lovely touch!. We also enjoyed the fact there was so much choice in restaurants and all within walking distance, the local pubs are great. The seaweed baths which we tried only one word AMAZING! See you next time.
Barbara

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank Barbara5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 April 2011

Hi Barbara

Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. The seaweed baths are terrific and proving a great asset to us as well as the village. The amount of requests to have a bath is phenomenal. I'm glad you liked the flower - though i think that it was such a beautiful day that sunday everyone was in good spirits.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in future - when you are booking just look for me and i'll be happy to ensure you have a balcony room with the seaview (although i can't promise the sunshine!! :))

Many thanks again

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I have stayed in 3 Star and 4 Star hotels across Ireland, yet, none can compare to this gem of a place. A few of use went to Strandhill for a friends birthday and stayed in the Lodge and Suites Hotel. The staff were amazing, extremely helpful and obliging. The manager was very friendly (Dave I think) and told us about where to go and what to see including a nice Italian restaurant pretty much right beside the hotel. The hotel overlooks the Atlantic, which is breathtaking. The rooms were stunning and comfortable, and had iPod docking stations (genius idea). Of all the hotels we've gone to, this has been the cheapest, and the people were genuinely nice, which is worth anything.

Definitely coming back during the summer for surfing season, another bonus!! Gem of a place

Room Tip: luxury, friendly genuine staff, and affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyphilipryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 April 2011

Hi Paddy

Many thanks for the review and your kind remarks, it is nice to get good reviews at such an early stage in our development. I hope you and the lads will come back again soon... glad you liked the pizza place i recommended we are lucky to have 4 fine restaurants in the village - takes the pressure of us!

Let me know when you are booking again and we'll organise something extra special for you on arrival.

Thanks for taking the time

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My other half and I had a wonderful time in this newly built hotel. The room we had was lovely: great views from the balcony, nice touches like ipod docking stations and most importantly a comfortable mattress. The staff are great, and the manager David was extremely helpful.

Strandhill is easy to get around and the location is close to great restaurants, the seaweed baths and the dunes which are great for walks. I hope to return in the not too distant future. Be sure to bring a good coat for walks by the sea as it can get very windy!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dajaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 April 2011

Hi dajaffa

Many thanks for the review and for taking the time to do so. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us - i'm glad you liked the Ipod docking stations - they are proving so popular with people its amazing how the small things can make people happy!

I agree that the village is fantastic and it will get more so coming into the summer. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon - i hope the weather will be as good!

thankyou again - slan go foill

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I recently spent a very enjoyable weekend in this superb establishment. The service all round was fantastic. The rooms are airy and spacious. I particularly enjoyed the ipod docking station.

The staff were professional and friendly and they looked after my every need.

This is a great spot to come to relax and re-evaluate things and get away from our hectic lives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
7.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
517 reviews
7.9 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sligo
1,155 reviews
9 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
579 reviews
4.8 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range: €78 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing