We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
40
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect wedding venue wow wow wow from start to finish nooks and crannies the cottages free standing bath wedding reception self catering accommodation sing song amazing venue guest rooms stayed two nights magical weekend attending a wedding top class sligo town on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

On a recent family heritage tour of Ireland with my girlfriend's family, we stayed at the Markree Castle Hotel. It was a dream. From the long entry driveway to the castle with the sheep, to the beautifully kept gardens and the stunning interior. Everything was magical. The recent renovations have made the hotel into a desired wedding location and place for larger groups.

The staff was professional and approachable despite the 5-star nature of the hotel. We greatly appreciated the personalised tours of the castle and its many rooms and services. Another feature we enjoyed was the all night barman.

The rooms have been beautifully restored, are spacious and tastefully decorated. The central bathtubs with views of the garden are an incredible luxury that you won't find in many places.

Breakfast was a delight with the warm food being a la carte. If you like hot and freshly prepared food, this is a big plus.

We had the hotel to ourselves (22 people), which gave us a great feel for how this hotel would be an amazing location for a wedding, family reunion, larger birthday party or business conference.

The 24-hour bar is fantastic and will get better as the selection of spirits improves. I would have liked to see a larger selection of Irish craft gins and whiskies.

Two small issues that could use some attention: WiFi stability and speed (but then who needs WiFi when you're staying in this magical place), and modern doorknobs on the doors.

Without reservation, I can recommend the Markree to anyone considering a stay.

Room tip: Johnny Cash stayed in room 6, I believe. Centre room overlooking the garden.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanticCastles, Manager at Markree Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you kindly for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Very impressive place to stay, newly refurbished, nice bedrooms and grounds. But beware, this is primiarly a wedding venue, so dont expect lunch or supper unless it is part of the wedding package. We arrived late at night, but no food around, so we had to venture into Sligo, the nearest town. Apart from that, no complaints and would love to visit again if we were in the area

Room tip: dont expect food or room service, its not that kind of place
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nucleusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

I was at Markree for a wedding in Mid May 2017, acting as best man. A big thanks to Philip, Cora, and the rest of the staff who went above and beyond to ensure the satisfaction and enjoyment of all guests. The accommodation, food, and service were all to a very high standard. The setting and castle grounds were stunning, wonderful views of the Sligo countryside. The venue has just been refurbished, it was a brilliant weekend and the perfect venue for a wedding. Thanks, Sean

Room tip: All rooms are ideal, hotel is set on large private grounds
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I had never heard of Markree Castle and hadn't visited Sligo on nigh on 30 years when I saw a special offer of b&b for 49 euros in local press. For my birthday my husband booked a night (rather than our usual foray to Donegal which usually is 50 euros plus for the run of the mill) as a treat for me and all I can say is that Markree is something else. Pure peace and tranquility with food that is glorious! The fittings maybe to some eyes a tad worn but the whole place oozes a shabby-chic for a want of a better phrase and the staff are brilliant. I will be returning if only to have a spoonful of the cream of cauliflower soup,which I used to believe I made a good version of before my visit to Markree, and to taste FRESH eggs which I thought had been banned under some obscure law..........And then there is the beautiful landscape and peace.......what more could a city-bound busy 'girl' want?

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubhrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanticCastles, Manager at Markree Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews