We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiance”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a fantastic hotel, stayed there for the weekend at a weeding, the staff were so friendly the room was great, I couldn't fault it.
There was music and dancing on the Monday night with a friendly local crowd.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor but I could not hear the music from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Martin W

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at the Abbey Hotel.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about our staff and service. I will be delighted to share them with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this for my husbands birthday for the races. Unfortunately the races where cancelled due to the weather but anyway as much as we where disappointed there was nothing we could do. Stayed 2 nights and in the deal was sparkling wine and chocolates in the room and dinner on one night. Had dinner on the Sunday night it was super fab service and food. We ate in the bar on the Monday night it was lovely too. The staff are 2nd to none here they are so friendly. We made use of the pool and steam room etc. We have stayed her quite a lot and I can't wait until my next stay thank you abbey hotel

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 545ali2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear 545ali2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the hotel. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you and your husband did.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Abbey Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed my 2 night at this hotel in the lovely town of Roscommon. I think for the price paid for for 2 nights B&B , you would be hard pressed to beat it.£60-£80 per night.
Room was comfortable and clean. This is not a modern minimal slick boring hotel, it has character and charm.
Breakfast and service by the Irish staff was excellent.
Reception staff professional and friendly.
Very nice hotel and I didn't even get to see the leisure centre...this time...maybe next time.
Well done Abbey Staff you make this hotel worth a visit.
This review was sitting in my drafts so apologies for late posting.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank KellysinKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Kellysinkos

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic experience with us.

I have shared your kind review with the entire team here.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Abbey Hotel.

Warm regards,
Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Hotel very nice great food, friendly service excellent facilities. Very close to Boyle where you can join in various activities for kids. A walk through out Abbey grounds viewing Abbey is worthwhile !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catherine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Catherine38

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
It is always nice to hear about our Guests wonderful experiences during their stay.

We continuously strive to offer an exceptional level of service in all areas of the hotel.
I will be delighted to pass your review to the team here.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Elaine McNamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Attended a friends wedding here last week. It is a fab hotel and the food was great. Room was very nice and clean. staff were really nice and polite. I couldnt fault it. Would highly recommend for weddings or just a nice weekend away.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcdug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Marcdug

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Abbey Hotel. We take pride in providing an excellent and outstanding service to all our weddings, and it is a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding your experience with us.

I will be delighted to pass your comments to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Elaine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.8 km away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
247 reviews
28.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,002 reviews
22.4 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,223 reviews
28.1 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range: €76 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing