We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
8 Day 'Gems of Ireland' Premium Guided Tour
0 reviews

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Arigna Mining Experience
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
863
123
12
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
863
123
12
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ex miner tour guide well worth a visit great tour first hand mining experience coffee shop car park these men unique experience off the beaten track brilliant experience hidden gem his knowledge gerry coal workers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Great place to visit. Good guides with great knowledge as x miners. And great views from the cafe and coffee shop

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank M6449LSchrisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it. We are very lucky to enjoy these views every whatever the weather it is always special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Well worth the visit! Our tour guide Ger brought history to life. A true gent and a genius! A beautiful location, stunning views and a lovely Cafe.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank annie_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and i have passed on your kind words to Gerry and the wonderful views are such a bonus for all who work and visit Arigna Mining Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Nice visit.Kids loved it.Very nice option for young kids on rainy day.Shop with food made nice end of the experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you were able to enjoy your visit even during the inclement weather. i will pass on your kind words on to Lorraine and her staff in our Cafe/Coffee shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We stayed in Kilronan castle, where we had taken our bikes, and cycled to Arigna. It was hilly and after a few puffs got to the top of the hill where Arigna mines are located. Great little cafe, where we had tea and cakes before starting the tour. Gerry, the ex miner had great stories and showed us down into the bowels of the mine. Would highly recommend it, an experience from another era, a much tougher time.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank AtlanticChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for your review we are glad that you all enjoyed your visit to Arigna Mining Experience and Underground tour and that you survived the cycle from Kilronan up to us.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

This a great place to visit and understand how difficult the work of coal miners was. Our guide, Gerry, gave a fantastic description of how the mine operated in the years before it's closure. He was a "mine" of information if you pardon the pun. Definitely worth making a detour even if it's not on your route when exploring the midlands/west region of Ireland.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Stephen777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your underground. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews