We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
8 Day 'Gems of Ireland' Premium Guided Tour
0 reviews

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Arigna Mining Experience
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
862
123
12
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
862
123
12
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ex miner tour guide well worth a visit great tour first hand mining experience coffee shop car park these men unique experience off the beaten track brilliant experience hidden gem his knowledge gerry coal workers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020

We stayed in Kilronan castle, where we had taken our bikes, and cycled to Arigna. It was hilly and after a few puffs got to the top of the hill where Arigna mines are located. Great little cafe, where we had tea and cakes before starting the tour. Gerry, the ex miner had great stories and showed us down into the bowels of the mine. Would highly recommend it, an experience from another era, a much tougher time.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank AtlanticChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you so much for your review we are glad that you all enjoyed your visit to Arigna Mining Experience and Underground tour and that you survived the cycle from Kilronan up to us.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

This a great place to visit and understand how difficult the work of coal miners was. Our guide, Gerry, gave a fantastic description of how the mine operated in the years before it's closure. He was a "mine" of information if you pardon the pun. Definitely worth making a detour even if it's not on your route when exploring the midlands/west region of Ireland.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Stephen777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your underground. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

Putting on a hard hat and in the company of an ex-miner, we were brought into the heart of a mountain to see how coal was extracted. The guide knew his stuff and had a sense of humor. It is no longer cramped or dingy, now lit it still was something I had never done before. They have a cafe and the view from the carpark outside is stunning and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank frank-heritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your underground tour and time here at AME. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Really impressive tour around the 400 year old Arigna Mining Experience which only stopped mining activities 30 odd years ago. It takes you through original mining galleries and you seeing the difficult conditions the miners had to work in.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi there,
Thank you for you review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your underground tour. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

A fascinating insight into coal mining in rural Ireland and its impact on social history. Our guide Gerry worked there until 1984 and brought the mine to life in the process of coal mining but also the sheer hard work of the boys and men who were miners. Well recommend a visit, and enjoy the lovey view with a coffee or lunch in the nice cafe.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank WarrenWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your underground tour. All of our guides here are ex-miners which is the gem of our underground and we are delighted that this stood out for you. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews