We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“facinating”

Arigna Mining Experience
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 16 March 2017

an excellent well planned tour. very interesting. Well explained. Lovely coffee shop and superb views

Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review of Arigna Mining Experience! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I was out for a spin on the motorcycle when I came across this place. Went in out of curiosity and was pleasantly surprised. It has a little cafe and exhibition which is free or you can take the tour inside the mine which you shouldn't miss.
It's a great insight into the conditions the miners worked in.
It lasts about 40 mins and costs €10. Our tour was given by an ex miner which really added to the tour.
The view from the car park is worth the trip alone. Highly recommended.

1  Thank nialltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Front Desk at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments.

Best,
Managament and staff at AME

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This was a very interesting experience and the fact that the exminers give the tour of the mines makes it "fantastic". I have been there three times this year with visitors who really enjoyed their visit.

Thank maireallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Great to hear... A true friend of the Mining Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We were made very welcome and had the tour led by former miner Gerry. He was excellent and in particular he handled the young children there very well. An absolute fount of knowledge. Brought us to realise just how tough mining was. We will be back in June.

Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you Frank. Glad you had a good Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We recently took a trip to the arigna mines and found it a very interesting and worthwhile experience. Our tour guide Gerry was excellent and having worked in the mines himself he was a 'mine' of information about the place!well worth a visit

Thank RossieKate2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you very much. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arigna Mining Experience also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Tulsk, County Roscommon
Ballymote, County Sligo
 

Been to Arigna Mining Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing