We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“facinating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arigna Mining Experience

Arigna Mining Experience
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“facinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

an excellent well planned tour. very interesting. Well explained. Lovely coffee shop and superb views

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    70
    5
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was out for a spin on the motorcycle when I came across this place. Went in out of curiosity and was pleasantly surprised. It has a little cafe and exhibition which is free or you can take the tour inside the mine which you shouldn't miss.
It's a great insight into the conditions the miners worked in.
It lasts about 40 mins and costs €10. Our tour was given by an ex miner which really added to the tour.
The view from the car park is worth the trip alone. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank nialltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Front Desk at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments.

Best,
Managament and staff at AME
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very interesting experience and the fact that the exminers give the tour of the mines makes it "fantastic". I have been there three times this year with visitors who really enjoyed their visit.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank maireallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Great to hear... A true friend of the Mining Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We went to check out the suitability for a group visit in June”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were made very welcome and had the tour led by former miner Gerry. He was excellent and in particular he handled the young children there very well. An absolute fount of knowledge. Brought us to realise just how tough mining was. We will be back in June.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Frank. Glad you had a good Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting trip to the mines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently took a trip to the arigna mines and found it a very interesting and worthwhile experience. Our tour guide Gerry was excellent and having worked in the mines himself he was a 'mine' of information about the place!well worth a visit

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank RossieKate2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arigna Mining Experience also viewed

 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon
 

Been to Arigna Mining Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing