We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gerry our guide brought the mine to life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arigna Mining Experience

Arigna Mining Experience
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin
2 reviews
“Gerry our guide brought the mine to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

Fantastic experience. To be able to actually go into a mine with a former miner and ask questions on what life was like working there is a brilliant way to spend the afternoon. Absolutely brilliant. Hats off again to Gerry

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank johnlally2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Glad you enjoyed the experience and chat...Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    71
    5
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Authentic and interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

We visited the mine as we were in the area and saw several signs for it. The drive to it and the view of the valley itself was worth the trip out of our way. Our tour guide, Seamus, was very friendly and approachable, and it was very clear he could answer any question we may have and explain things in easy to understand terms due to his mining past. I think it is a fantastic touch that all the guides are ex-miners. The mine itself remains as it would have when mining was going ahead, however along the tour there were adjustments made to the excavations to make viewing easier and this was done very sympathetically and very well for visitors.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Arigna Mining Experience. We are delighted that even by change you happened on us and that you found you visit and underground tour so enjoyable. We are so grateful to have the wonderful first hand knowledge of our tour guides and it is lovely that our visitors really appreciate this also. i will pass on your kind review to Seamus for him to enjoy!

Regards and thank you again Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday evening with my partner. Enjoyed the experience immensely and would definitely recommend. Our guide was Gerry, an ex worker of the mines and his tour was very informative and gave a genuine insight into the hard graft that was a part of every day for the miners. His knowledge of all things mine related ; science, history, geology, and all the local craic was second to none and I'll be recommending the experience to friends and family. Many thanks

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we really appreciate your great comments on your visit to Arigna Mining Experience. i will be sure to pass on your review and recommendation to Gerry. Thank you for the feedback we always appreciate it. Regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing tour,, you have to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

As you enter, you will be amazed at what these miners had to endure, just to make a living, cramped crawspaces, dinly lite, if only by candles, at that time, no safely requirements, so danger was ever present. When they had lunch, it was right there on the spot, some carried battery lanterns,, 2/3miles into the mountain, at 4ft height, at the tallest point, to get the job done, sometimes working on their sides to reach the spot of coal, laying in water, all the time. An amazing reflection of our lives gone by, and at times still exits in areas of globe, today! you will have to take the tour to experience first hand their experiences, for sure! not something to be missed!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review you visit to us here at Arigna Mining Experience. Our tour guides and their knowledge are some of the highlights of the visitors time here at Arigna Mining Experience and their expertiese in all things coal mining is invaluable to us.

Regards and thank you again for your very descriptive review of your visit and tour.

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
well travelled
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

This was a mine that was worked up to modern times using old technology, where men crawled into tiny spaces, lying on their backs and cutting the rock in appalling conditions.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank ejoeIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate that our visitors take the time and effort to do this.

Regards and thank you Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arigna Mining Experience also viewed

 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon
 

Been to Arigna Mining Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing