We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arigna Mining Experience

Arigna Mining Experience
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday evening with my partner. Enjoyed the experience immensely and would definitely recommend. Our guide was Gerry, an ex worker of the mines and his tour was very informative and gave a genuine insight into the hard graft that was a part of every day for the miners. His knowledge of all things mine related ; science, history, geology, and all the local craic was second to none and I'll be recommending the experience to friends and family. Many thanks

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we really appreciate your great comments on your visit to Arigna Mining Experience. i will be sure to pass on your review and recommendation to Gerry. Thank you for the feedback we always appreciate it. Regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    70
    5
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing tour,, you have to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

As you enter, you will be amazed at what these miners had to endure, just to make a living, cramped crawspaces, dinly lite, if only by candles, at that time, no safely requirements, so danger was ever present. When they had lunch, it was right there on the spot, some carried battery lanterns,, 2/3miles into the mountain, at 4ft height, at the tallest point, to get the job done, sometimes working on their sides to reach the spot of coal, laying in water, all the time. An amazing reflection of our lives gone by, and at times still exits in areas of globe, today! you will have to take the tour to experience first hand their experiences, for sure! not something to be missed!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review you visit to us here at Arigna Mining Experience. Our tour guides and their knowledge are some of the highlights of the visitors time here at Arigna Mining Experience and their expertiese in all things coal mining is invaluable to us.

Regards and thank you again for your very descriptive review of your visit and tour.

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
well travelled
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

This was a mine that was worked up to modern times using old technology, where men crawled into tiny spaces, lying on their backs and cutting the rock in appalling conditions.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank ejoeIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate that our visitors take the time and effort to do this.

Regards and thank you Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informative ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Recently visited Arigna Mines, we did the tour with Michael (I think) lovely man, he is an ex-miner, as are all the guides.
It was really interesting to see the mines and to listen to Michael telling us about his experience working in the mines, it's nice to hear first hand from an ex-miner, rather than from someone learning from a script!

I enjoyed seeing the old relics in the museum.
Well done to all involved.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank 76sammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Reception at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and underground tour at Arigna Mining Experience. We are delighted that we are able to offer the first hand knowledge of our guides as part of our visitors experience. it is invaluable to us.

I will pass on your kind and genuine comments to Michael i know he will appreciate them very much.

With thanks Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

A very interesting tour of the mines by previous miner, Gerry, made it very interesting, as he had his own personal experiences and a knowledge of the mines and how everything worked. Tour was very interesting and a nice length. The mine is a little bit cold, so wear a jacket, and also quite damp, but a good trip on a wet day to kill an hour or two.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank prettypetals2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArignaMiningExperien, Receptionist at Arigna Mining Experience, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it and all the feedback is helpful to us.

i will pass on your kind comments to Gerry your tour guide.

Kind regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arigna Mining Experience also viewed

 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon
 

Been to Arigna Mining Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing