We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal 30+ people”

Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Roscommon
Price range: US$11 - US$43
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Terrace Restaurant at the 4* Abbey Hotel Roscommon is a multi-award winning restaurant serving the best in locally sourced cuisine. Experience the warmth and true Irish Hospitality of the Abbey, owned and managed by the Grealy Family, professional hoteliers in the town now for almost 60 years. The Hotel have scooped the prestigious 'Restaurant Association of Ireland' award for "Best Hotel Restaurant for 2 years in a row and this year took home the coveted "Best Chef" Award for County Roscommon. The Hotel also serve succulent carvery food daily from 12.30 p.m until 3 p.m and an exciting seasonal bar food menu is available daily from 4 p.m - 9 p.m with many hugely popular dishes on offer all derived from locally sourced produce from farm to fork. There is also a healthy kids choice menu, as well as a vegetarian and gluten free option available for those with food intollerences. Those choosing to dine in the award winning "Terrace Restaurant" are advised to book in advance by calling 090 6626240. For a chance to win a monthly Dining Voucher simply complete the comment cards in our bar the next time you are eating in the Abbey. The choice is yours.... the pleasure is all ours. The Grealy Family, Abbey Hotel, Roscommon
Reviewed 20 January 2017

I was party of a large family celebration last weekend. The service was superb and the food fantastic. Highly recommend the Abbey Hotel - the staff never let you down.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newshooz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much for posting a review about your recent dining experience at the Abbey Hotel Roscommon. We hope you will return to visit us soon again.

Tom Grealy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed in the hotel and ate dinner in the pub (instead of the restaurant) because there were 10 of us. Our server was fantastic and the food was really delicious.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank melissaleonard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine G, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Melissa, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your satisfactory stay at the Abbey Hotel Roscommon. Your comments regarding service will be relayed to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

visited here with adults whom have special needs. requested 3 rooms close together, was told no problem, on check in, this was not the case rooms were separate. was given wrong keys for rooms so I had to go up and down to reception numerous times.
dinner in the hotel was very expensive, presented very well but lacked taste.
at breakfast there was a sign " fresh eggs or porridge available on request, please ask staff" I asked staff would it be possible to get an omelette or scrambled eggs with no milk made up, or porridge made with water. staff told me no as kitchen was too busy. So this persons breakfast was limited
leisure centre is nice but not wheelchair or low mobility friendly.
very disappointed.
Roscommon is a lovely spot though.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurakitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine G, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Laura,

We are disappointed that your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel did not meet your expectations. Did you happen to speak to a member of management and perhaps we could have endeavoured to rectify the mix ups with the rooms? Our restaurant have won many awards, most recently we were the RAI winners of Best Hotel Restaurant/Best Chef in County Roscommon for a second year in a row. We have investigated the matter regarding your porridge request and it is our understanding that you were told that the hotel porridge is made with cream/milk but that your request could be made with water and that it would take 10 minutes owing to a very busy kitchen on that morning) you declined that and requested the scrambled eggs and we are told that the scrambled eggs were given. We sincerely hope that you will return to the Abbey Hotel in the near future and that your next stay will be an enjoyable and much more satisfactory one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Nice, old fashioned hotel, restaurant, bar, with gym and pool attached. Lovely grounds. Staff friendly. The breakfast is excellent. I have dined in the restaurant only once, and it was very good, but I prefer to eat in the bar and the food is always very good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine G, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of your recent visit to the Abbey Hotel. We sincerely hope you will return again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I had food from the bar menu one midweek afternoon a few months ago. The service was appalling and the food was overpriced considering the quality. We were sitting for a very long time before our order was taken by a young man. Food was not worth what it cost, could easily have ordered the same thing down town for half the price and much better quality. We ordered tea with our food and the same young man who was serving us never came back with our tea, we waited a few minutes, eventually I had to go up and ask him to bring us our tea. The bar was very quiet, so no excuse for him forgetting to bring us down our tea, especially as we where sitting in the bar area where we were in full view! Milk jugs need to be kept topped up, milk jug on our table was very low and it was the same on tables nearby. Barfood has gone downhill, it was much better a few years back, after this experience I won't be in a hurry to eat in the bar anytime soon.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LDire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant ABBEY HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing