We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
144
69
27
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
69
27
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concra wood friday night country music dance floor leisure facilities the hotel staff friendly hotel first morning few weeks great night busy hotel steak double bed irish hospitality golf society golf trip second to none
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Stayed one night very pleasantly surprised. We did get a small twin room very clean (definitely need to move the bedside lamp fixed to the wall kept hitting my head )

Sadly the night we stayed it was very noisy a lot of door banging walls very thin

The friendliness of the staff and the most delicious breakfast with really fabulous home baked bread made up for this

I recommend this 3 star hotel would go back no problem and just hope for a better night sleep

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NIrelandGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your lovely comments. Our new and improved breakfast is hugely popular and getting some great reviews. When you return to visit us please make reference to this stay and the ladies on reservations will be happy to accomodate you in a different room. Kind regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend a part of a family of 7 adults 8 kids and a great time was had by all. Food in bar was excellent but breakfast really is special the fresh bread is all great but banana bread is beautiful probably the best hotel breakfast iv ever had. The staff were all friendly and helpful especially roise on reception who was excellent at sorting are booking out over the phone and then checking us in real credit to the hotel. Had such a fantastic time some of the group booked again for next weekend

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank paulsloan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your fabulous comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Eleanor & Janina our bakers and to Rosie on reception. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you when you return. Kind regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We booked a twin room we got the smallest room ive ever seen with one size slightly larger then a single bed no other room available next the meal overpriced and not good value the receptionist was very rude we were delighted to get out ot it

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 895setdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your comments. Unfortunately on the night you stayed we were at maximum occupancy and had no other room to move you to. If you are returning to stay with us again please make reference to this and we will do our very best to provide you with a better experience.Kind regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The food was brilliant alongside the service we received by Anne made the stay more enjoyable and very reasonable in this busy hotel. Our teenagers enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities and we will visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi Julie,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for your great comments.We are delighted that yourselves and indeed the teenagers enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return in the near future. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Anne and the rest of the team. Thank you again Kind regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited here on the 22 July on a living social break , The hotel was absolutely lovely , it has plenty of places to sit and have a drink with a large bar area , a small library room for a quiet drink or outside places including a lovely wee garden area to chill with a pint of Guinness. We found the staff to be very helpful at all times including a girl called Elaine who took time to tell us about the area and the food served in the hotel. The room we were in was 80 and it was spacious, clean and quiet, with a single bed and double bed, the swimming pool was very clean and refreshing the jacuzzi was hot and soothing to sit in plus there is a chill pool which I would recommend after getting out of the jacuzzi, the pool staff were helpful and friendly with one girl offering to teach a child how to swim. Parts of the hotel may look a bit dated but it was very clean and so comfortable that I would go back tomorrow if I could, there is ample parking and a large covered smoking area . The food is off the highest standard for a 3 star hotel from the great breakfast including smoked salmon and scrambled egg to the full Irish breakfast which is served to your table, we tried the carvery the second day and I had smoked cod while the wife had turkey and stuffing it was delicious and we couldn’t finish it . We loved this little gem of a hotel and will be back

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ohnnyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencarn C, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a glowing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are even more delighted that you would return in the morning. We aim to provide a warm, welcoming and relaxing experience for all our guests,and so glad that this was the case for your recent stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all departments in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews