We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
141
32
18
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
32
18
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages stayed here tayto park goat saturday morning double bed clean facilities large group boyne valley working farm main road electric hob great camping attending a wedding self catering staff were lovely friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Site was nice and level with good drainage.
So Pitching was easy. Kitchen was good if bit dated, toilets and showers generally clean, however are an outside event. So could be grim in poor weather. We had excellent warm and dry so no issues.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks for the review.
I hoep you had a good onward journey!
Gemmav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Perfect for exploring Boyne Valley. Short taxi ride into village or a 25 min walk. Well signposted from main road. Very friendly hosts. Bedrooms fine, very warm. Communal kitchen has everything you need for making any meals. Well worth staying.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi Trevor,
Thank you so much for leaqving this kind review.
It was nice chatting to you earlier and gratly appreciated.
We hope to see you back again in the future!
Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed here while attending a wedding in Tankardstown back in March, I couldn't fault this place. The owner greeted us on arrival and even gave us a lift to collect our car from the hotel the following day.
The room was very basic but served the purpose for us as we were only there or a few hours.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueheart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Owner at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed the wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018


Over the last three years I have stayed here every spring with 50 teenagers while on school tour in the area of Ireland’s Ancient East. The area is well worth a visit and Slane Farm Hostel is the perfect base from which to work.
Before our arrival Gemma sent me a floor plan (including Health and safety points) so I could assign rooms and cottages to my (mixed) group. The cottages and the hostel also has strategically placed rooms for teachers and supervisors! We had the whole place to ourselves and from the moment we arrived we felt at home. Rooms are clean, bright, warm and en-suite. There was plenty of hot water in spite of our large numbers and of course wifi was appreciated by our students.
As a large group we had the freedom of the whole place, including the kitchen which is very well-equipped. There is a small sitting room and a games room which was perfect for meetings before and after our outings.
The owners, especially Gemma, were never too far away in case we needed them but were never intrusive....Gemma gives great advice and is so positive and helpful.
I would definitely recommend it if you are travelling with a group. Slane and the area is fantastic to visit and Slane Farm Hostel ticks all the boxes as a base. I will be returning with another group of Transition Years!

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank MKGalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Owner at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Love this review - thanks a mill!
We are always delighted to welcome your school here.
Great students!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Had the second night of my wedding in Slane and the whole wedding party stayed at these lovely cottages not even 5 minutes from the main street. They were perfect, comfy, spotless and exactly what we were looking for. The staff were lovely and organised a bus transfer for us to the town and back. We all had a great night and it was the perfect round off for our wedding weekend. We'll definitely stay again with a group in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardstevens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemma m, Owner at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks so much for this kind review!
Also thanks for staying with us again a couple of weeks ago.
See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews