We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Decoy Country Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
280
27
6
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
280
27
6
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome baskettack roomhen houseself cateringthe barntayto parkdublin zoorathbeggan lakesbbq areaunderfloor heatinghigh chairfresh eggsthought of everythingtumble dryerbeautiful cottagepool tablehome from home
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I am originally from Navan, Co. Meath, and so going home with my young family was very exciting indeed... Having our own cottage to stay at made this experience exceptional!

The cottages at Decoy are mini-castles, well-appointed structures in lavish surroundings. The care the owners have taken to make the location and service exceptional is noted in the well-equipped dwellings and the courteous and responsive service - they even bring you fresh eggs if you ask nicely!

Overall, having our own place to call home for a couple of weeks made a big difference to previous visits back to ireland when we stayed with friends and family. And we couldn't have chosen a more homely, secure, fun place.

I highly recommend Decoy as a great place to stay while visiting the East Coast of Ireland.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank SPoC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Fantastic accommodation in idyllic settings. Perfect for families, as there is a well maintained play area, and games-centre on-site. Beautifully furnished cottage, very spacious, well thought out with plenty of comforts!
Nearby to the town of Navan, and not really a long drive from Dublin (just down the N3)
Loads of small towns and historic sites, relatively nearby and easy to get to.
Overall, very relaxing break, Fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeznSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We can not say enough about our stay in Decoy Cottages . We were made to feel right at home by the owner, Paula and her family, upon our arrival. The Stables, at Decoy, was our first stop of several, in Ireland, and nothing could compare. The well equipped kitchen had everything you could need, including a washer and dryer. The welcoming basket, with fresh brown bread, tea, eggs, jam and milk, was thoroughly enjoyed. All rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds were ultra comfortable. The units and the grounds were clean and well maintained. We returned to Decoy at the end of our trip, arriving back earlier than planned and stayed in a second unit called The Parlour, which was different, but just as perfect, as the Stables. Decoy Cottages was more than a place to sleep, while visiting Ireland, it was truly an experience unto itself. We would highly recommend Decoy to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

My partner and I enjoyed our week in the Tack Room at Decoy Country Cottages immensely. The quarters were clean, spacious, beautifully appointed in every regard and the jacuzzi bath which was large enough to really be immersed was a dream. The cottages are located in a country setting, but one has easy access to the Boyne Valley attractions and Dublin. I was also very appreciative of the workout room.
After our daily adventures it was a pleasure to cook dinner in our lovely kitchen and afterwards enjoy the DVDs made available to guests in the evenings with the peat fire giving off such a wonderful warmth and atmosphere. The host was friendly and responsive to our needs and questions. I would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Just returned from a fantastic week staying Decoy Cottages. We were a group of 27, ranging in age from 11 months to nearly 70. We had five of the eight cottages, and found them to be very comfortable. They were all decorated to a high standard, and came with just about everything we could have wanted, including the handy welcome pack mentioned in other reviews.

The site has an electric gate at the front, so the children could be left to wander around with each other in perfect safety. Most of the time we simply left the front doors on the latch, and people were free to come and go as they wanted.

The playground was very popular with all the children, especially the pre-teens. The Den was very popular as well - playing pool and air hockey, using the gym (to avoid putting on too many extra pounds!), playing with the games or just watching the TV or a film. All the cottages also had their own TV and combination DVD/Video, very handy if the parents fancied a lie-in in the morning! Paula also let the young ones collect the eggs from the chickens - they really enjoyed doing this and having the fresh eggs for breakfast.

The only grumbles we could possibly have had were that the eco-friendly underfloor heating wasn't as effective against the cold as it could have been, however when we mentioned this to Paula she provided us with additional heaters, which did the job. Also, some of our party weren't too keen on the 'fresh country air' wafting in from the adjoining fields when they were spreading 'fertiliser' - personally I thought it was all part of the experience of being in the country.

All in all a wonderful week, which ended too soon, and we would definitely be looking to go back in the future, although we might have to see if we could manage to fill all 8 cottages next time!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartfordOrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews