We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wow.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Decoy Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Decoy Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

Wow is all we can say really. I booked the cottage (The Tack Room) as a short break (5 nights) with my boyfriend for some "us" time and got 1st class service from the moment I got in touch with Paula.

When we arrived, we were very pleased with the cottage - gorgeous decor & furnishings (& the underfloor heating was such a treat on the cold mornings!). The shower was the best shower I think I've ever had and the Jacuzzi bath.... well...! The bed was sooo comfy and HUGE.

We took advantage of the Spa facilities on site & booked ourselves a massage each - again, we can't fault the service (except maybe that a 1 hour massage doesn't seem long enough!)

I think the finishing touch for us was the world's most cute puppy running round the site, always looking to find someone who will make a fuss of it!

Will definitely be looking to go back sometime.

  • Liked — The Cleanliness of the cottage and the obvious luxury furnishings
  • Disliked — Lack of internet and satellite tv
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RallyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    22
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
121
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

I am originally from Navan, Co. Meath, and so going home with my young family was very exciting indeed... Having our own cottage to stay at made this experience exceptional!

The cottages at Decoy are mini-castles, well-appointed structures in lavish surroundings. The care the owners have taken to make the location and service exceptional is noted in the well-equipped dwellings and the courteous and responsive service - they even bring you fresh eggs if you ask nicely!

Overall, having our own place to call home for a couple of weeks made a big difference to previous visits back to ireland when we stayed with friends and family. And we couldn't have chosen a more homely, secure, fun place.

I highly recommend Decoy as a great place to stay while visiting the East Coast of Ireland.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank SPoC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

Fantastic accommodation in idyllic settings. Perfect for families, as there is a well maintained play area, and games-centre on-site. Beautifully furnished cottage, very spacious, well thought out with plenty of comforts!
Nearby to the town of Navan, and not really a long drive from Dublin (just down the N3)
Loads of small towns and historic sites, relatively nearby and easy to get to.
Overall, very relaxing break, Fantastic!

  • Liked — Quality!
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeznSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We can not say enough about our stay in Decoy Cottages . We were made to feel right at home by the owner, Paula and her family, upon our arrival. The Stables, at Decoy, was our first stop of several, in Ireland, and nothing could compare. The well equipped kitchen had everything you could need, including a washer and dryer. The welcoming basket, with fresh brown bread, tea, eggs, jam and milk, was thoroughly enjoyed. All rooms were beautifully decorated and the beds were ultra comfortable. The units and the grounds were clean and well maintained. We returned to Decoy at the end of our trip, arriving back earlier than planned and stayed in a second unit called The Parlour, which was different, but just as perfect, as the Stables. Decoy Cottages was more than a place to sleep, while visiting Ireland, it was truly an experience unto itself. We would highly recommend Decoy to anyone.

  • Liked — The whole place including the owners were wonderful
  • Disliked — There is really no complaints.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Springs,IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

My partner and I enjoyed our week in the Tack Room at Decoy Country Cottages immensely. The quarters were clean, spacious, beautifully appointed in every regard and the jacuzzi bath which was large enough to really be immersed was a dream. The cottages are located in a country setting, but one has easy access to the Boyne Valley attractions and Dublin. I was also very appreciative of the workout room.
After our daily adventures it was a pleasure to cook dinner in our lovely kitchen and afterwards enjoy the DVDs made available to guests in the evenings with the peat fire giving off such a wonderful warmth and atmosphere. The host was friendly and responsive to our needs and questions. I would return again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
14.2 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
8.4 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
5.2 km away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
13.4 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
15.4 km away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decoy Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decoy Country Cottages

Property: Decoy Country Cottages
Address: Decoy House | Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Decoy Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious self-catering accommodation in the heart of historic County Meath. A haven of peace away from the pressures of today's hectic lifestyle. Houses range from 1 - 4 bedrooms. Ideal location for families and groups. Beautiful courtyard gardens. All marble or solid oak floors. Underfloor heating throughout. Playground, BBQ area, Boules alley, private parking, all mod cons. Great range of golf courses nearby. Horse riding and fishing locally. Beauty treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Decoy Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing