We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best.”
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Newgrange Hotel in Navan could be best described as a ‘party’ hotel, especially on the weekends. As with my previous stay in the Newgrange, I was attending a function in the hotel and decided to stay over. In fact there seemed to be a four or five different parties happening in the hotel and most of the guests attending those parties like me, were staying overnight. The information folder in the room had leaflets advertising events for ‘hen and stag’ parties but that’s not to say the hotel the hotel is overrun with screaming women and rowdy men. In fact, the corridors around the hotel are pretty quiet at night but the residents bar does seem to do quite a good trade.

The hotel is located in the heart of Navan town and has its own underground car park with space for probably around 40 cars. I arrived to check in, and reception had no record of a booking in my name. After some toing-and-froing a second lady appeared with an apology and a room key but it was sorted in a matter of minutes to be fair.

The view of the function room roof from my third floor window wasn’t great but it would have been a lot worse on a lower floor. The room itself was an average size, had a double and a single bed, an iron and ironing board, tea and coffee and plenty of storage. Even though the beds were very comfortable, you could still hear the muffled thumping of music from the nightclub downstairs. The bathroom was pretty basic. It had a bath/shower and was clean but don’t expect little extras like sewing kits or shower caps! The toilet seat was also broken but I could live with it for one night.

Breakfast was well suited towards the previous nights revellers and had a pretty decent selection of hot and cold foods. The staff were very pleasant, the service was good matched by the quality of the food. The room cost was €89 for two people B&B which was good value for money but you do get what you pay for.

For a short stay, this hotel is fine but if staying longer, you will begin to notice, a bit of filler here, a lick of paint there or a dodgy hinge on the wardrobe. A number of different things in my room had been patched up rather than replaced but there is only so much patching up you can do before the hotel begins to look tatty but as I said, for a one or two night stay you’ll be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 601 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Room was fine, good nights sleep. Bathroom was basic but totally fine. Staff were helpful. Nothing outstanding about this place at all - oh, there was great parking!

Room Tip: I had a room at the back and it was quiet. Again, street side rooms might be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Newgrange for three nights. It was a great old hotel with new features, such as clean rooms, great food. The whole hotel was very clean and welcoming. It is just a short drive from Dublin and Newgrange is a great old town to walk around and shop. I bought great shoes at a small shop.

Room Tip: Our room was quite, clean and comfy. Others we met liked their rooms also and we were all on differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Newgrange while attending the Solheim Cup. Don't stay at this hotel if you want a good night's sleep, especially on the weekends. They have a pub that plays LOUD music on Friday and Saturday nights; it sounded like a disco in our room and we were on the 3rd floor! When the pub closed at 3:00 am the crowd noise outside on the street was unbelievable and went on for 45 minutes to an hour. Service was spotty; we called each evening requesting a wake up call and they actually called about 1/2 the time. Some days maid service left our used towels and others they replaced them with clean ones. We called numerous times for more towels (only 2 provided) and they actually delivered them about 3/4 of the time. The restuarant had a very limited menu and poor wait staff; it practically took an act of God to get a second glass of wine with dinner. The rooms were average. The one bright spot was that the employees at reception were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Thirteen of us stayed at the Newgrange for my sister's hen party, and we availed of the Causey Farm package. We had a fantastic time. The service, food, accommodation were brilliant & the staff we met were absolutley lovely, couldn't have been more helpful. We all would recommend the hotel & farm package to any hen party or group of friends looking for a great night out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YvonneCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
1.5 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
371 reviews
12.7 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
13.5 km away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
906 reviews
13.1 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
22.6 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Navan
Price Range: €74 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newgrange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing