We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeds expectations-as good as a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Navan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations-as good as a hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple of friends on New Years Eve. the lady who met us there was really nice and the rooms were huge and modern. Our friends discovered on arrival that the radiater was broken so they informed the lady who immediately moved them to another room which was great. The breakfast the next morning was a typical proper fry up and tasted delish!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    37
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
42
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here with my Fiance on 17 June 2011 as we needed somewhere to stay around the Navan area. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who gave us the key to our room and also to the front door so we could come and go as we please. The guesthouse was spotless and very spacious. Our room was of the standard that you would expect in a top hotel. It was lovely and quiet, had a very comfy bed and the bathroom was cleaned to the highest standard. There is a large selection on offer for breakfast, cereals, fruit juices and fresh fruit. There is also a menu for the hot food, which is cooked when you order, so nothing is sitting out drying up. The food was delicous and service was excellent. Very good value for money. There is nothing bad about this place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovely2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This place is excellent value for money. The rooms are lovely, although the bathroom was a little small. The receptionist who also was the breakfast cook was lovely. He was always willing to help, pleasant and very welcoming. Breakfast was very good, with cereal, juice, coffee and cooked breakfast on offer. This was a very good base to see all the attractions in the surrounding townships.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKEurope2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I was going for a work night out in Navan and needed somewhere to stay. I thought this was going to be a small, basic place to lay our head, but was pleasantly surprised! It is like a small hotel, all the rooms are really clean and nicely decorated! The only negative was that there were three of us in the room and it was quite warm, yet the windows are only able to open a few inches, so it got really warm when we were getting ready!
The breakfast was lovely, the receptionist was very friendly and we got our own key to the front door, so couls come and go as we pleased! I'd definitely stay here if I was in Navan again, and would recommend it to everyone! Also, €110 for the night between three of us was a bargain!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniepokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We were a little disappointed with Ma Dwyer's Guesthouse in the sense that the owner's don't appear to be on-site, but rather, the guest house is staffed with one employee who makes up the rooms and prepares breakfast. There was no opportunity to speak with the hosts, get advice on local attractions, ask general questions about travel, the country, etc...Since this was our first night in Ireland, we chose a guest house in order to get a feel for the local culture and area. This is not the place for that. If you are looking for a comfortable room in a quiet setting with a good location, then you will be happy with Ma Dwyer's. But if like us, you are looking for a charming owner-occupied inn, with opportunities to interact with the owners and other guests, this is not the place for you. That being said, this is more like a small hotel with 29 rooms on two floors. The rooms are contemporary with flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. The lounge has a TV and the breakfast room is quite large and able to accommodate many guests at once. The meal was good and the room was quiet. We did have a little trouble checking in as the stated check-in time is 2:00 p.m., but we arrived at 3:00 p.m. to find the door looked and no one answering. We eventually had to use our cell phone to call the hotel, only to find the employee was upstairs cleaning rooms and didn't hear the door. Once we spoke with him, he came right down and checked us into room. The hotel was clean overall, but there were dirty sheets and towels in the hallways as cleaning had obviously not been completed when we arrived. The location was easy to find but the price was a little high compared to other inns/B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navan
0.9 km away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.4 km away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.7 km away
Athlumney Manor B&B
Athlumney Manor B&B
#1 of 19 in Navan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.6 km away
The Yellow House B&B
The Yellow House B&B
#8 of 19 in Navan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Dwyer's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Dwyer's Guest House

Property: Ma Dwyer's Guest House
Address: Dublin Road, Navan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Dwyer's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Dwyer's, situated on the banks of the river Boyne in Navan, Co. Meath, boasts all the space and luxury of a modern hotel. Purpose built in 2006, rooms are light and spacious with modern décor, en-suite with power showers, telephone points, tea/coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries etc. We can easily accommodate up to 35 guests, with some ground floor rooms also available. We also offer free parking on the grounds. Recommended by the Michelin Guide 2013/2014, Ma Dwyer's Bed & Breakfast is viewed as a "bib hotel", which is recognised for its excellent value and quality services. We pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable to all of our guests and strive to surpass their expectations. Our goal is very simple, to make our guests feel welcome, comfortable and at home while staying with us. After a relaxing sleep in one of our luxurious beds, guests can enjoy a delicious full Irish breakfast or choose from a range of cereals and fruits. All meat and fresh produce is sourced locally. With an abundance of food to choose from, we like to make sure that no guest leaves Ma Dwyer's table still hungry! Our Location We are conveniently located just 2 minutes from the M3 motorway. Dublin City and Dublin Airport are easily accessed by car in approximately 30 minutes. With many local attractions such as the Hill of Tara, Newgrange, Slane Castle, Trim Castle and the home of the Book of Kells all within a 15 minute drive, guests are sure to experience true Irish history and charm right on their doorstep. Guests can take advantage of the numerous river walks along the banks of the Boyne, where the legendary Salmon of Knowledge was caught. Or have a fun-filled day at the races at Navan Race Course. For those that enjoy other activities, go-karting, paintballing and archery are available in the town. Or if you are interested in theatre, the Solstice Arts Centre is approximately a 10 minute walk from our guesthouse. Whether travelling alone, in a group or with family, relax and enjoy your stay at Ma Dwyers Guest Accommodation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ma Dwyer's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing