We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm to the nines!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghan House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm to the nines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2016

While winding through Ireland, you might be tempted to believe charm has a ceiling. And then you find Ghan House and the coastal village of Carlingford and discover that whatever you thought was the peak, has been supposed. The house is an amazing 17th century Farm House surrounded by 11th century and 13th century ruins. The Town itself is breathtaking and friendly. But the top of the cake is the Ghan house with its hospitable host David, its wonderful accommodations, and its seemingly limitless charm. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    63
    29
    32
    22
See reviews for
46
154
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2016

Lovely setting. Room v small for cost. notices in bathroom about toiletries - if you take them you will incur a £12 charge! most insulting and negative. Cold unwelcoming host. Friend had very awkward conversation on 2nd night when he ordered wine for our room. it appeared to be frowned upon. Carlingford was a wonderful Oasis - hidden gem with amazing food and pubs such as PJ O Hares and Ma Bakers. I would return but sadly Ghan House left us cold"

Room Tip: room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016

Booked the best room in the house which turned out to be a bit tired from a decor point of view; dinner menu contained lots of local produce but unfortunately on the first night some things were off menu when we arrived at 7:30 for dinner; ordered rump of lamb for main and was asked how we wanted it cooked ( medium rare, pink) unfortunately it came over cooked and tough without much flavour; second night was superb with tasty prawns to start with and beautiful cod as main; it was a social occasion and I had asked about a special menu on one of the evenings but this proved to be not possible; the do not room ambience was good, staff friendly and very professional; breakfast was thestar of the show; Paul was a very welcoming owner\host however he dropped the 'F ' word on two occasions which was unacceptable! Sorry not sure if I would return as cost did not match the experience. John

Room Tip: Try the annex room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magheramorne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at the Ghan House. As always a warm welcome from Paul and his staff.

We stayed in Room 8, The Garden Room, a large and airy room with lovely views.

We are regular guests and and always enjoy exceptional dinners, a wonderful selection of wines. The house is beautiful, a quiet and peaceful haven to relax and unwind.

We had an early walk with views of the Cooley and Mourne Mountains on a beautiful spring morning before heading back for a fabulous breakfast.

Our next visit is already booked :-)

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2016

As an event planner it is always important to have vendors you can trust to deliver quality and satisfactory service to your clients. Sarah and Paul from Ghan House provided that and more and I would highly recommend them to anyone and wouldn't hesitate in booking them again.
From the minute they were recommended to me and I made contact with them they were nothing but helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
I recently had a client from London visit Carlingford with a group of 10 and I booked them into Ghan House for dining in a private function room. The feedback I had from the whole group exceeded any expectations I had.
To directly quote them, "Ghan House was AMAZZZING!!. We loved it. The food was exceptional and the exclusive dinig room was so stunning! We will be back to Carlingford and back to Ghan House."
I think it is safe to say I had some very happy clients on my hands by the end of their meal and I am so grateful to Sarah and Paul and the rest of the Ghan House staff for their assistance and for looking after my clients so well.
I will definitely be booking them again. Five star food and Five star service. What more could you want.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARigney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
11.4 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
15.7 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.6 km away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghan House

Property: Ghan House
Address: 2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Cooley Peninsula > Carlingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghan House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing