We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
230
26
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
26
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vm restaurant sunday lunch four poster bed top class chef gary wonderful food hidden gem warm welcome sitting room lovely room spa bath period furniture family members on arrival head chef lovely evening duck
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in Viewmount house last spring when the weather was not at its best, it was snowing when we arrived and were welcomed by an open fire when we got through the door, which was very nice. Our room was very spacious and very clean, but it was cold! i know its probably hard to heat such a large old house but that was the only downside to it. we booked in for the night mainly because we had heard so much about the restaurant there, and it did live up to its expectations! the meal was 1st class, expensive! but it was a treat and we enjoyed it, again the only downside was the restaurant could have been warmer. The staff were very nice and friendly, would definitely go back...............but maybe in the summer!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have been to Viewmount for family gatherings on several occasions. It is a hidden gem like the other reviewers have said, and then some.
The staff are really friendly, accommodating with food requests and very very professional.
The food is among the best i've tasted in my travels. Wonderful menu with amazing food, presented beautifully.
I would absolutely recommend this restaurant/hotel for anything from a romantic dinner to a large family gathering.
Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GemsNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We booked the Viewmount House for somewhere to stay while attending a funeral. From the moment we drove through the gates we knew that this place was special. It is a large Georgian style house that oozes character. We entered through the front door into a fabulous hallway with a winding stairs where we were met by Beryl the owner. She was very friendly and chatted to us whilst showing us our fabulous room. The room was large, airy and luxurious. It had an antique double bed and a loft area with a comfy couch and tv.
We went out and arrived back at 11.30pm and went in towards the restaurant where there is a bar area. We had a drink before bed and again chatted with the owner. The restaurant looked fabulous and we will definitely be back to eat in it.
Breakfast is served in a room off the entrance hall. The food was delicious with plenty of toast, homemade brown bread and tea. The black and white pudding terrine was great. After breakfast we strolled around the grounds. There are well maintained foot paths with nice little mews, ponds and other features.
We have been lucky to find a place of this caliber. It is a testament to James and Beryl how they have restored and maintained this property. It is heartwarming to see people who are passionate about what they do making this place into the gem that it is. I thank them for our lovely stay and wish them every success in the future. We will be back and we will be recommending it to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Did not stay here - just went for meal out and I was so impressed. Everything was so tasty and so well presented. Lively atmospheric restaurant, decent size tables and settings, relaxing, gorgeous bread and dips, fantastic rabbit risotto, delicious celeriac and roast pepper soup, amazing salted dry aged sirloin steak with blue cheese and a super choc dessert with petit fours to follow along with excellent coffee. Great menu, great staff abd thank you to My great sister for taking me here!! Hope to be back there loads.....

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Not only was the room very spacious and comfortable the restaurant on site was excellent, If we have the opportunity to get back to the area we would make sure and book the Viewmount House again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEMTKM0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews