We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Management at fault here, staff lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Management at fault here, staff lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have stayed in lots of 4 and 5 star hotels and can honestly say we were never treated so badly and i will not be recommending it to anyone...

Helpful?
2 Thank Galwaygirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Galwaygirl101,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience with us and go through the details of any issues that you may have had.

Please feel free to contact me on 01 - 6517757

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    584
    339
    138
    78
See reviews for
504
1,070
34
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed one night b&b+d in the old house with my husband. We both work full time, have a 1 yr old and am 37 weeks pregnant. Room wasnt amazing, but it was so quiet, we got fantastic rest which was purpose of stay. Staff very friendly and lovely atmosphere of Irish hospitality. Full choice from menu for "package" dinner, no supplements for this or that, and food really good. Explored some of the reception rooms of the old house which are stunning and make you want to think of a reason to have a function just to use them. Didn't get as far as using the leisure facilities or explore much of the grounds but will next time. Definitely my favourite hotel in the short trip from Dublin region and will return asap.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Eimor,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that we are now your new favorite hotel for a short break. Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you in anyway with your next booking at Carton House.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I recently attended a conference in Carton House. all aspects of my stay, facilities, bedroom and food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my return in a month for a leisure weekend stay.... Thanks to all at Carton

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear holsgirls,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you had such a successful conference here in Carton House and I have
passed your kind comments on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back next month when you will be sure of the same level of care and attention for your weekend break.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friend and I had a short mini break here for one night in February. We shared a twin room in the new part of this large hotel (built in 2006). Our room was adequate in size though not huge. Beds were comfortable with good duvets and pillows. Bathroom was fitted with a large modern bath and shower with a "rain" head...very good. Our room was quiet and though the hotel was busy it was in no way noisy at night time. We availed of the spa and were treated well by the staff there. Our overnight package (€90 each) included a 3 course dinner. It was good but I was disappointed with the main course....tiny sample of veg and small portion of whipped mash potato. Breakfast on the other hand was great...all you could eat and very good fruit selection. The grounds of Carton are vast and have two walking trails marked out (3km and 6.5km). We did the shorter trail and it added to our enjoyment of this venue.We were also able to tour some of the historic rooms of Carton and embrace the history of the Earls of Leinster...very sentimental. Carton is a place that enables you to get away from it all and yet it is so close to Maynooth. We took the opportunity to explore some of the old part of Maynooth College too including the historic St. Patrick's Church. I would certainly recommend Carton for a short stay. We're not into golf which Carton is renowned for and yet we still found plenty to do!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear BMRCIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us here in Carton House. The original part of the hotel is really special and it is great that you found the time to explore some parts of it and some of the 1,140 acres of parkland on offer here in Carton Demesne.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carton in the near future and if I can be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.


Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent 1 night away with a friend for a relaxing break. First impressions are really fantastic. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We had a standard twim room with a view which was fine. The spa is top class and well worth the visit. We had planned to go swimming but it was a Saturday afternoon and the pool was full of children, families, noise, etc. Great for families but not what we were looking for at this time. We ate in the Linden Restaurant and were not overly impressed with the food. It looked lovely on the plate but didn't taste as good as it looked. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard but the scones were hard and the fruit selection was limited to apples, oranges, bananas and tinned grapefruit. The food from the bar for lunch was much more enjoyable. Take time to walk the grounds and explore the old part of the house. If I were to return, I'd request a room in the house and would eat from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear SK5,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that overall you had a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

If there is any aspect of your dinner experience that you found disappointing please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be sure to share the feedback with our Kitchen Team which will help us to make any required improvements to specific dishes.

We do provide a full whole fruit platter along with freshly chopped fruit salad on our breakfast buffet alongside Prunes, Dates, Apricots and grapefruit segments as standard however if there are any items in particular you would like to see on our buffet we would be happy to provide them on request.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
10.1 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
23.3 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.5 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.0 km away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: | Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club Maynooth, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing