We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had better hospitality ”
Review of Moycarn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moycarn Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights with our extended family while we visited for a wedding.

We were met by David who was unbelievably attentive and helpful and continued to be with a very busy and full hotel to run.

The staff were fantastic and great craic. Always friendly even with a full bar and food service to deal with.

The area is beautiful (though the hurricane was coming through) and very tidy. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a nice hot shower and cosy bed.

Our breakfast was sooooo tasty. I'm a huge fan of a full Irish and this breakfast was spot on with plenty of tea, toast and juice available. There were cereals available too, but the fry up was too good to turn down.

Thanks again to Dave and the team for a wonderful stay. See you next time we head over.

Iain and maddie.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pinball_wizard85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Some places are worth reviewing more than once!! I know it’s not been that long since i reviewed the Moycarn Lodge and Marina, but having visited here quite a few times since, I think it’s only fair to give it another mention. Historically this venue has changed hands a few times from its original owner and founder/builder, it became the home of a long running and well know family named Bar/Restaurant, to another operator and now to its current holders. So by my count the current operators represent at least the 4th incarnation of the venue. Its location as its name implies in in the Moycarn area of Ballinasloe on the Shannonbridge Road (Creagh), and due to the fact that 90% of passing traffic now use the Ballinasloe – Athlone Road it’s probably a little off the beaten track. I’m sure this has to have at least some effect on its Business and the fact that its outside the “centre” of town or rather what’s left of it, I’m sorry to say, means that it may suffer a bit on the Lunch time trade too. But the Moycarn in its current persona is an absolute Gem, and deserves to be named as one of the best places to Eat or Drink in Ballinasloe. The current holders have made this a place that is both enjoyable to visit, and represents great value for money. The staff also deserve a honourable mention, as they are polite, welcoming and couldn’t be more helpful. The Menu is very good with a decent choice and a fair balance, with enough to cater for all tastes. The house version of several meals are also excellent and worth a try. Perhaps one of the great points of this venue is the atmosphere, which is relaxed and homely. I particularly like the fact that they holders have chosen not the jam more tables into the area than is required or needed, which gives every diner, enough space for comfort and to enjoy a level of privacy. For anyone in for just drinks there is ample bar space and seating to enjoy this too.

100% honest I don’t know what by way of accommodation is currently being offered, so I can’t comment on that. I would whole heartily recommend this place anyone visiting Ballinasloe or indeed anyone from the town looking for some high quality and value for money food. I have to also compliment the Guinness which is ice cold and is very moreish. While it’s not a complaint I would like to see a few craft beers either on tap or in bottles available, it’s such a big thing now it can’t be ignored. Ballinasloe might be a bit behind on this front, as I think the “traditional” drinks of choice still reign supreme and are largely unchallenged, but it might be a niche for a venue like this to develop.

Anyway visit the moycarn and I don’t think you will be disappointed on any front.

Room Tip: cant really comment on the rooms have its years since ive seen one, but those facing the river were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dfinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Attended the Moycarn with a special needs group on a few occasions and we can't thank them enough. Their staff are so kind and helpful and make the visit so enjoyable. The food is great and all the plates were left empty! It's great to see cheerful, happy staff who care for their customers! Thank you, we will be coming again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ocriochain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Went here with friends for dinner it was fantastic, great choices on the menu. Went outside after meal they have a fab decking area and great views definitely will be returning with the children as there is loads of outdoor space for them to run around. Fab food and service

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Breda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I was traveling with a soccer team of high school aged girls. We spent four days at the property and had a fantastic time. The proprietors, David and Janet, were extremely helpful and provided great service to us. The rooms were large and comfortable. There was a large shared balcony overlooking the lawn and river. It was a quiet and peaceful setting, but still had good access to the motorway. The food at the restaurant was excellent ... certainly much better than we expected on a soccer tour. The entire staff was friendly. The adults in our group had good times in the pub each night, as well. We did a group kayaking tour from just outside the hotel that was good fun. It's a bit of a distance to most tourist attractions but not far from Athlone and a great place to go to relax. I would not hesitate to come back when I'm in Ireland again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisJ_PHWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moycarn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moycarn Lodge

Address: Moycarn Drive | Portnick, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: €49 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moycarn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Moycarn Lodge Ballinasloe, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing