We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
68
11
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
11
5
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here top class would highly recommend this hotel dave athlone wedding shannonbridge guinness
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

just back from a weekend stay at Moycarn Lodge where we enjoyed the lovely peaceful setting.Cant wait to tell our family and friends of this great find. We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Service in the dining room was prompt and our evening meals were one of the reasons we would feel very happy to recommend a stay here to our friends. On our visit we had a boat trip from the hotel marina to Shannonbridge where we enjoyed lunch in Killeens Pub. For anyone wanting to destress,the trip on the river Suck is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking marina lovely
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for the second time (not choose by me as a few months ago it was not to write about) while attending a work conference in the local Shearwater Hotel.
This hotel was fabulous.. absolute transformation - Lovely Rooms, Great Staff and I even spoke with the hotel manager who was a gentleman.

Would deffinately stay here again.

Room Tip: any room i would think the place is a lovely hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Rebecca_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just back from a stay at the Moycarn Lodge minutes away from Ballinasloe, if your looking for somewhere to relax this hotel will do the job. Perfect setting right on a marina with a lovely view of the river! The hotel has been recently taken over by a lovely couple who were extremely welcoming and the staff couldnt be more helpful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was delicious. As for the rooms, you definitely get more than your moneys worth - try get a room on the first floor viewing the river for the best view. Will be back soon for a long weekend :) Eoghan and Sam

Room Tip: 1st floor over-looking the river.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Firstly you can ignore all negative comments bellow. Iv recently stayed ror a week and staying for anther one soon. The moycarn has recently been taken over by two lovely young enthusiastic individuals therefore any comments Pre march 2012 no longer apply. The rooms are fabulous on the same quality standard as the local shearwater, the food is ten times nicer than other hotels in the area. The drinks at the bar are excellent. The service is the best iv ever experienced the staff cannot do enough for you even down to choosing your breakfast time! It feels like a home away from home when you stay at the moycarn. The atmosphere is tranquil, ( lovely place to relax and unwind ) they show all the sports events. The scenery is fabulous! I would thoroughly recommend the lodge for a party, small wedding or even just a couples night away! 100% . Debbie - Galway

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Moycarn Lodge with some friends and found it to be one of the most relaxing hotels I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly particularly the new managers which only recently took over, a very welcoming atmosphere overall! The food was excellent and it was a nice 15 min walk from Ballinasloe town with a lovely view on to the marina. Will definitley be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews