We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great takeover!”
Review of Moycarn Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moycarn Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for the second time (not choose by me as a few months ago it was not to write about) while attending a work conference in the local Shearwater Hotel.
This hotel was fabulous.. absolute transformation - Lovely Rooms, Great Staff and I even spoke with the hotel manager who was a gentleman.


Would deffinately stay here again.

Room Tip: any room i would think the place is a lovely hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Rebecca_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just back from a stay at the Moycarn Lodge minutes away from Ballinasloe, if your looking for somewhere to relax this hotel will do the job. Perfect setting right on a marina with a lovely view of the river! The hotel has been recently taken over by a lovely couple who were extremely welcoming and the staff couldnt be more helpful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was delicious. As for the rooms, you definitely get more than your moneys worth - try get a room on the first floor viewing the river for the best view. Will be back soon for a long weekend :) Eoghan and Sam

Room Tip: 1st floor over-looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Firstly you can ignore all negative comments bellow. Iv recently stayed ror a week and staying for anther one soon. The moycarn has recently been taken over by two lovely young enthusiastic individuals therefore any comments Pre march 2012 no longer apply. The rooms are fabulous on the same quality standard as the local shearwater, the food is ten times nicer than other hotels in the area. The drinks at the bar are excellent. The service is the best iv ever experienced the staff cannot do enough for you even down to choosing your breakfast time! It feels like a home away from home when you stay at the moycarn. The atmosphere is tranquil, ( lovely place to relax and unwind ) they show all the sports events. The scenery is fabulous! I would thoroughly recommend the lodge for a party, small wedding or even just a couples night away! 100% . Debbie - Galway

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Moycarn Lodge with some friends and found it to be one of the most relaxing hotels I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly particularly the new managers which only recently took over, a very welcoming atmosphere overall! The food was excellent and it was a nice 15 min walk from Ballinasloe town with a lovely view on to the marina. Will definitley be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband, daughter and I have stayed here 3 times and can honestly say that the welcome we have had has been excellent. The room we usually stay in is huge and the bath is a big hit with our two-year old before bedtime. The evening menue is extremely good value, and we have never had a bad meal there. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moycarn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moycarn Lodge

Address: Moycarn Drive | Portnick, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range: €49 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moycarn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Moycarn Lodge Ballinasloe, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing