We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but very comfortable and pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Large hotel, but nice decor, pleasant bar area, and 24 hour coffee/tea shop for those with flights at awkward times. (It's next to Dublin airport). We were not travelling anywhere but had an event nearby which it suited for. Rooms very clean and well kept. The fruit was the best part of the breakfast for me! Price a little expensive I thought.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eily1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 3,730 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

we stayed at this hotel exactly a year ago and left a fairly dismal report.
We were contacted by a manager and asked the chance to remedy the short Commings.
After a week of trying to book a couple of rooms and talking to complete idiots we eventually spoke to a lovely lady Theodora. Who booked our rooms. We received the discount and upgrade as promised.
The new decor rooms we received were spacious and comfortable and fitted to the higher standard.
I can't fault the hotel this time. Great room. Great value. Good recovery

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank unkybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We stayed at the Clayton, Dublin Airport just for one night prior to an early flight. Checkin was smooth and we were taken care of by Joan who provided us with one of the new rooms in the hotel. We had lunch in the Playwright Bar in the lobby and were exceedingly well looked after by a phenomenally professional young man - name escapes me but he was on mid-afternoon on 28 Nov. - most professional, efficient and friendly staff member we've come across anywhere in the world in years (give him a raise or some praise before he is headhunted). We also enjoyed dinner (in the Library) as part of a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package - again, a great meal with very courteous service. Breakfast was the buffet and fine. As the hotel increases in size (latest renovation adding 100 rooms), the breakfast buffet area will definitely need redesigning - there simply won't be enough room for people to move through and serve themselves without food being cold at the end of the process. The hotel room itself was brand new and looked very slick. Beds on the firm side of comfortable - but perhaps just need breaking in. There are a lot of construction type individuals roaming the hallways at the moment with drills and hammers - so there was still quite a bit of day time noise - bring earplugs if an afternoon nap is on the agenda or reading or any other peaceful pursuit - but by early evening everyone has disappeared and the hallways are spotless. Hannah on reception helped us out a couple of times and was super-friendly and efficient. For what is turning into a massive hotel, there is still a personal touch. We used the shuttle to the airport in the morning and only waited about 10 minutes. If you don't fancy strong smells be aware that the lobby lounge area is permeated with a very strong air freshener (or something) - headache inducing and completely overwhelming - which is why we didn't bother eating there and moved into the Playwright Bar close by. Be aware that the free shuttle will drop you in the Coach Park at the airport - so if there are a few of you and you're wrangling a lot of luggage/children/elderly folks it could be worth taking a short taxi ride as you'll be dropped just outside the terminal building (and avoid the walk from the Coach Park to the terminals). Definitely a good option for a pre-flight hotel. Given the right price, we'd stay there again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this hotel three times. I have the same issues all three times: shuttle takes forever, huge line at reception, lousy food, and punishing myself by trying twice to order food from the after hours kiosk. I literally waited 35-minutes tonight to order a chicken Caesar, only to be told they don’t offer it (it’s on the menu of ten or so things). Meanwhile the bar closed, and I can’t bring myself to order the cardboard pizza, or the par baked shared platter. I’ve had the pastries-they are gross.

The rooms are nice, and very clean, and the lobby is a nice place to have a drink, but the service here is painful. A person could spend two hours checking in and ordering a beer.

I’m never booking a room here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

My boyfriend and I chose to stay in this hotel the night before our 6am flight in order to get more sleep given we were coming from the southeast of Ireland.
We were told we were being "upgraded" to one of the new hotel rooms on the first floor.
The room was beautiful. However when we lay our heads down to go to sleep we realised there was thumping music being played loudly.
We thought at first it was coming from one of the rooms but soon realised it was coming from the bar downstairs.
My idea of an airport hotel is that everyone there is there to get sleep before an early flight. I was disappointed by the noise and therefore will be choosing a different airport hotel in future.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
2.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
1.5 km away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
2.7 km away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport

Address: Stockhole Lane, Swords 17, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Dublin Airport)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range: €66 - €1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel provides the ideal choice for a pre or post flight stay, ideally located jsut 7minutes from Dublin Airport by shuttle service. The hotels accessible location at the M1/M50 junction also makes it a convenient meeting point for conferences, meetings and events. Quality service is a must from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Swords
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport Swords, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing