We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel in neat shopping center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnegie Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice looking hotel in neat shopping center”
Reviewed 12 November 2006

This hotel is located in the courtyard of a shopping area. It's a real neat location, only 5 minute walk to downtown and 10 minute walk to the mall (with megaplex movie theatre). Swords seems like a so-so suburb that's not as nice as some other Irish towns. It is extremely close to the airport though (5 minute drive), which makes it very convenient. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS: Nice surrouding area in courtyard, shopping area; 5 minute drive to airport, but no air noise; Nice outside appearance; Quick walk to downtown and the mall; Clean rooms; Nice bathroom; Very tasty restaurant for dinner

CONS: Average staff, some were friendly, some weren't; Charged us to have breakfast delivered to our room since our flight left before they openend the dining room; hallway smelled of smoke and our room did a little too

We rated this hotel a 3.5 out of 5.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Charged us to have our complementary breakfast delievered to the room since the dining room wasn't yet open
  • Tips/Secrets — Early bird special at the restaurant is very nice. Can easily be split between 2 people (lots of food).
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShamPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    67
    34
    6
    13
See reviews for
46
71
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2006

We did not actually stay at this hotel but came in this past Saturday night in desperate need of room for a famiily of five who were exhausted after a long day of driving...My husband thought we'd have no problem getting a hotel near the airport prior to our flight home the next day...Unfortunately eveything was booked due to a football match that was taking place in Dublin on Sunday..The Carnegie Court was also booked .Luckily for us the woman at Carnegie Court's front desk was very helpful, and called several hotels until she finally found one that had an opening....Her name is Shannon...Thanks to her we were able to spend our last night in a nice hotel (near the airport)with a restarant, hot shower and comfortable beds. What a relief...!!
Thanks a million to Shannon for her help and service, and hospitality, even tho the Carnegie could not accommodate us that night. Next time we're in Ireland I would certainly
stay there!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcgeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 May 2006

Had an absolutely brilliant time here. The staff are strangely excited about having you there and I felt very well looked after. The lounge/Club was great and away from the rooms so no noise! Food was OK, but the atmosphere was worth it. Rooms were clean and large. Overall, I had a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2006

Would have to disagree with the previous review, we stayed here over the New Year(have previously stayed but never really eaten here) and went to a gala on New Years Eve, the food was truly appalling, I appreciate at large events it may not be the best but this was just horrible, the hotel itself is in need of some refurbishment, very scuffed on the walls and the bathroom. On the morning we were leaving we had to run the shower for twenty minutes before getting hot water and the towels are cheap small & nasty!

For the price you pay my view is you would be better off staying in one of the chains near the airport.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

We have eaten in the restaurant of this hotel on several occasions. We even had our business Christmas dinner there. The staff are always so courteous, friendly and efficient. Even with 17 of us at our Christmas event, everyone was completely satisfied with their meals. Each dish looked and tasted like it was the only dish prepared that evening. Nothing was overlooked. Each course was truly delicious. As always!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swords
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
5.7 km away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
4.8 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
4.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
3.3 km away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#5 of 7 in Swords
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Court Hotel

Property: Carnegie Court Hotel
Address: North Street, Swords, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carnegie Court Hotel located near Dublin Airport offering conference and wedding services and a high standard of board close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Carnegie Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie Court Swords
Carnegie Court Hotel Swords, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing