We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in the Gaslight Inn.”
Review of Gaslight Inn

Gaslight Inn
Price range: US$4 - US$37
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Gaslight Inn with fully Licensed Restaurant and B&B sit's on the cliff face overlooking Donegal Bay, The Blue Stack Mountains and the blue flag beach of Rossnowlagh. At The Gaslight we offer superb food and hospitality in true Irish tradition.
Reviewed 16 July 2022

My family and I are just back from an amazing week's stay in the Gaslight! The newly refurbished apartment fitted 4 of us comfortably. The apartment is modern, very clean, practical and has a spectacular view. Our apartment had a lovely balcony which we used on many occasions to watch the sunset. Pauline and Anthony were superb hosts and couldn't be more helpful. The food in the restaurant downstairs was delicious also. We can't wait to stay again next year!

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank niamhd684
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2022 via mobile

We’re just back from our weeks holiday in the Gaslights new apartments. We are a family of 6 and were so well looked after by Pauline and Anthony that we have already booked our stay for next year. The views from the Gaslight apartments are unreal, the apartments are all new, so clean & fresh. They very well located for touring around the north west. Thank you so much Paulineo and Antonio for your wonderful hospitality as always

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank paulaheagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

My Fiancée and I landed in last night at half 8 in the middle of storm Jorge. The owner and the chef were sitting by the fire as they had stopped serving food because of the weather. Even though the kitchen was closed they very kindly offered to make us food, saying that they wouldn’t send us home hungry. The chef, Chris, made us two absolutely lovely Cod and Chips which we ate by the fire whilst chatting to the owners. Amazing food and great Craic on a Stormy night. They couldn’t have been more accommodating and we could’ve happily sat by the cosy fire all night - would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank rmcgreevy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 December 2019

No vegan options on the menu so was about to go next door to the smugglers. Server told us "no problem" they have a go to dish they can do. Got brought out a two tiny servings of pre-made plain boiled white rice and what must have been a quarter. of a tin each of mixed beans cooked in sweet chilli sauce; no problem at least they tried. Got the bill and was charged ~19 euro each for this. Queried this with the server who soon got the owner who ended up being a complete egomaniac going on about the cost of his mortgage apparently being in the millions. Absolute joke of a restaurant and owner.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank HugsiRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anthony M, Owner at Gaslight Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Dear Hugsi I don't usually reply to reviews on T/A as a rule BUT!!! in your case I feel I have to.
I see you also reviewed a restaurant in Donegal Town that have been awarded the best restaurant in Ireland in the last 5 years and also to receive a 5 Star Certificate of Excellence. 2014,15,16,17,18 and 2019 and the Hall of Fame Certificate for the 2nd Year Running from TripAdvisor. I rest my case.
The only good thing about your review is we know for sure you will not be returning.
"By the way we don't have a mortgage on this beautiful wee place in the hills of Donegal"
Good luck in whatever it is you are searching for in this short life.......and you should try to live it, love it and the most important thing in life is to be nice to other people, you never know when you might need them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019

Nicely appointed pub style restaurant with very nice food and friendly staff. An extensive wine list and a good value for money winter menu. Open days are Friday to Sunday but This establishment will close mid November thru to Feb, so if you want a lovely evening meal overlooking the lights of the Bay, get in quick!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janedP6288TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Gaslight Inn also viewed

Rossnowlagh, County Donegal
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
 
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
Ballyshannon, County Donegal
 

Been to Gaslight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.