We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, nice view”

The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Killybegs
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 July 2022

Visited twice. They have loads of tables and lots of staff working, so it's handy spot to just walk in. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. One evening we got a seat at the window and it was lovely to look out at the harbour. Would reccommend.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caralQ7190DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant with customer views over the Killybegs harbor. The staff was courteous and kind, and helpful across the board including recommendations on local fare - 2 of which we had, which were both outstanding. We will be back !

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 November 2021

I visited my cousin Mary Flagherty in Killybegs; I was in Killybegs for 5 nights and had an evening meal at the Tara for 3 of those evenings. Food is excellent and a fair price. Beautiful view overlooking the Atlantic. The bonus was the staff the Manageress Yvonne, a young man called Jonny very pleasant and funny with it and a young woman called Deborah - what I noticed about Deborah and commented on it that she was extremely good looking. They also had one of my favourite dishes on the menu Monk fish and Prawns - yummy. I cannot wait to go next July.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ameszaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We were amazed by the standard and choice of food here. Their cocktails too were amazing; their bramble gin so fresh and delicious and their porn star martini as good as anything we have tasted elsewhere, it is quality food and drink without pretentious pricing.
I had the fish platter which came with a pot of steaming mussels and cockles, two big pieces of fish and was simply divine. Another had the pasta, rigatoni with chicken and mushrooms, also great and others had the burgers.
The desserts were stunning, a pavlova, a sticky toffee pudding and a cookie dough and ice cream.
I enjoyed everything about this place and will definitely revisit !!

    • Service
Thank PaulaGalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

I had the burger. Very tasty and decent portions. Service was mixed. One waitress was amazing, others, including one of the managers didn't seem too interested.
Had to use the bathroom off the reception and needed a key card.
Little in terms of covid good practices. Key cards just left in a bowl. Not asked for ID to match covid cert.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel also viewed

Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Killybegs, County Donegal
 

Been to The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.