We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and a lovely atmosphere”

The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Killybegs
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We were amazed by the standard and choice of food here. Their cocktails too were amazing; their bramble gin so fresh and delicious and their porn star martini as good as anything we have tasted elsewhere, it is quality food and drink without pretentious pricing.
I had the fish platter which came with a pot of steaming mussels and cockles, two big pieces of fish and was simply divine. Another had the pasta, rigatoni with chicken and mushrooms, also great and others had the burgers.
The desserts were stunning, a pavlova, a sticky toffee pudding and a cookie dough and ice cream.
I enjoyed everything about this place and will definitely revisit !!

    • Service
Thank PaulaGalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2021

I had the burger. Very tasty and decent portions. Service was mixed. One waitress was amazing, others, including one of the managers didn't seem too interested.
Had to use the bathroom off the reception and needed a key card.
Little in terms of covid good practices. Key cards just left in a bowl. Not asked for ID to match covid cert.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 October 2020

The food was really good, the service was efficient, and the staff were very friendly. Views amazing.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank fen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

Food was below average and service was non existent. Would not recommend will never go back to this place.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank 287oconnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

I was travelling around the wild Atlantic way with my wife and two sons. We decided to go into this restaurant for dinner on our second day. The food was lovely and service was fine apart from a lady with short blonde hair who we took to be the manager. She was very abrupt and rude to her staff in front of the customers, which Ilwe thought was completely unprofessional. There was a young waitress who seemed to be very upset after speaking with her. She hasn’t even made a mistake in our eyes, she had simply forgot the side orders but once it was mentioned they were brought out straight away. Once we had finished the meal, this blonde woman came over and snatched the plates from out beneath us. My youngest son (aged 7) was still eating and she lifted the food from under him. We didn’t even get offered a dessert menu!

Overall, the manager made us feel like a burden to deal with not like customers. It’s a pity because everyone else was very accommodating and the food was lovely. Don’t think we would ever return after this experience if we ever decide to travel to Donegal again.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank Gregorystath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel also viewed

Killybegs, County Donegal
 
Killybegs, County Donegal
 

Been to The Turntable Restaurant at the Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.