We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
409
267
73
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
267
73
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre groupon deal swimming pool staff were lovely great hotel bar food saturday night bar staff recommend this hotel seafood chowder nice bar fish excellent value for money great view two nights a lovely stay room was large
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Bayview,on arrival were greeted by the receptionist who I Know as Maria,what a wonderful lady who as well as being efficient was so interested in her guests and gave us so many ideas to make our visit memorable.Breakfast next morning was excellent and again Aideen the waitress was so friendly also happy to tell us of things of interest.We enjoyed bar meals and the time at the hotel was sheer pleasure.A friendly clean and comfortable hotel with excellent hospitality.
Maria's welcome will remain with us

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank david1500tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear david1500tc,

Firstly allow me to thank you for choosing the Bay View Hotel and also for such a pleasant review.
We pride ourselves on our friendly down to earth staff that want to make all our guests stay as memorable as possible, obviously Maria & Aideen helped you do just that!!

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the room was large and clean but the bathroom was extremely dated and had a shower curtain that smelled of damp and was quite unpleasant.

Overall the hotel was very tired looking and felt like no money had been spent on its upkeep for many years.

The breakfast was disappointing - the scrambled eggs were inedible, they were the worst I have ever seen.

The location is good and that is what the hotel relies on to get bookings.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _debsmurphy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear _debsmurphy7,

Firstly allow me to Thank you for choosing the Bay View Hotel, We appreciate all guest feedback good or bad, I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. I assure you all these comments have been passed to our GM.

We agree that some parts of the hotel are looking somewhat tired looking and have started renovating now that the season is quieter.

We hope you will come back to visit the Hotel again someday.

Best Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Two nights in the Bay View Hotel for my wife and myself was just the tonic we both needed. The receptionist gave us a pleasant lift when we were allocated a beautiful bedroom on the second floor with a terrific view over the bay with fishing boats to the fore. You have to pay a little extra for this privilege. After settling in we decided to have dinner in the Bar and were well pleased with the results. The menu had a good variety for selection which made the choice easy. Service was of a high standard and the food ordered was not only well presented but most acceptable. Breakfast was self service with ample selection and well cooked. The Hotel does not have a carpark but on street parking is permitted and that is a bonus. As far as location is concerned the Harbour is within easy walking distance with much to see with so many ships of all shapes and sizes moored up. A few kilometres out of the town you get directions to Slieve League, the highest sea cliff in Europe, and is well worth a visit. A little bit of advice - go early and drive to the cliff otherwise a closed gate will mean a fairly long walk. The towns of Adara, Glenties and Donegal town are well worth a visit when staying in Killybegs.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank DAMSON59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DAMSON59,

On behalf of the Manager & all the staff allow me to Thank you for choosing the Bay View Hotel and also for this incredible review.
We are delighted to hear such positive feedback and this is the reason we are here, looking after guests and seeing guests leave with happy memories. I will be sure to pass on all your complements to the team.

We are so proud of our beautiful town and surrounding areas you could not beat the scenery close by.

Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Just stayed 1 night on a groupon deal. Had a sea view, nice size clean room and the food in the bar was excellent. Staff very helpful & friendly. Plenty to choose from at breakfast & all freshly topped up. Hotel was well placed to explore the area.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank AileenMary53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AileenMary53,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bay View Hotel, Delighted to hear you had a great stay here.

Keep us in mind if you ever visit Killybegs again.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here primarily as a base for sight seeing. We had a room with an outlook over the harbour and it was lovely. Light, spacious and a great place to sit and watch the boats. Would recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank annekMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception T, Front Office Manager at Bay View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear anneMelbourne,

On behalf of the Bay View Team, Thank you for such a pleasant review of the hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here.

If you ever visit Killybegs again, We hope to see you.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews