We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
580
183
95
33
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
183
95
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue wedding reception self catering bridal suite function room wedding guests from start to finish top class beautiful hotel duty manager cork area following morning lovely touch afternoon tea would highly recommend this hotel michael magner mary ann
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

stayed on a Sunday night. staff really helpful and friendly. Beautiful room and breakfast. enjoyed this hotel and will return. while warm it was ventilated as i like air in my room. A place to chill out and relax. Furniture lovely and bed very comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mariaM9076RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon mariaM9076RH

Many thanks for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience here at the hotel and are glad you enjoyed your guestroom as we have been undergoing a refurbishment.

We are pleased to note your comments about our staff and I'll make sure to pass it on. We hope to see you again in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

From all the team at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed here very recently and the staff were very friendly and helpful at both checking in and checking out. The room was very nice and comfortable. The bar area was very nice and the food was great couldn’t be faulted

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank niallod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon niallod82

Thank you for posting your review of your experience here at Vienna Woods Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and are pleased to note all your kind comments. I will make sure to pass it onto the team.

Thank you again for your review and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,

From all the team at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Have very fond memories of this hotel from childhood years so stopped by on a visit to Cork. The lovely old building is still as grand and beautiful as ever and the bar area is a lovely place to sit. I enquired on entering at reception if it was possible to have afternoon tea and was disappointed by the receptionist who could barely look up from a computer and simply pointed brusquely to a set of doors and told us to “go in there”. There wasn’t afternoon tea available as such but the very pleasant young barman gave us a meandering happily brought us tea, coffee and desserts which were truly delicious. The experience was unfortunately further let down when a manageress stomped into the area and have a loud conversation with staff about whether they could accommodate another 5 ‘walk-ins’They decided to then move chairs into another area as the walk-in’s had 3 kids. Not the way guests wish to be referred to ! Other guests who were sitting in the area waiting for their room also saw this entire exchange and were equally unimpressed.
Shame really, we ended up leaving sooner than we had intended to.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mariajcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon mariajcrowley

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. We are deeply disappointed to read you were dissatisfied with your experience. Thank you sincerely for highlighting your observations as we appreciate all reviews, positive or otherwise.

We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and we are sorry to learn that you were unimpressed. We definitely will address the issue regarding the perception that a member of our front desk was rude and the manageress that affected your experience with the relevant team members.

We do recommend prior booking for our Afternoon Tea because of the preparation time, but we are glad our barman was able to help you and that you enjoyed the desserts.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you through our doors again!

Kind Regards,

From All the team at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This was our first visit to this hotel and it was wonderful. The accommodation was excellent and more importantly every member of staff was helpful, accommodating and pleasant. It was immaculately clean and although over our 4 days stay there were 3 weddings on we were never neglected. On the Saturday night we couldn't make it back in time for dinner but arrangements were made to keep a meal for us until 9.45pm. This was seven by the bar staff who went out of their way to serve us and sort out private seating. Reception staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. What can we say but brilliant

Room tip: We had an executive double room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mavis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Good Afternoon Mavis P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind compliments of your experience with us here at Vienna Woods Hotel. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding our team. We're continually striving to ensure our guest's visits are enjoyable from start to finish, and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and post your review and we look forward to welcoming you through our doors again.

Michael & All the team at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Hired a car to drive thru Ireland on our honeymoon and arrived in Cork - lovey town full of sweet people. However, it appears as though this is a motel? Room is dark and dingy - my personal favorite touch was the sign (see photo) letting me know that they were planning to refurbish the room...but you’ll notice the sign has some staining so curious as to this timeline. Cherry on top was HIKING to the hotel because there was a wedding at the joint, and no one thought to reserve parking for the actual hotel guests. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone!! Choose elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AHappyTraveler063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FitzgeraldHotelGroup, Manager at Fitzgerald's Vienna Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Good Afternoon AHappyTraveler063,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we genuinely appreciate all reviews positive or otherwise. However, in the spirit of Tripadvisor, reviews must also be balanced and fair. We cannot agree that your review was entirely balanced or fair.

As highlighted in your review a complete refurbishment of all guestrooms has been ongoing over the past 12 months. This work is being done on a phased basis to minimise where possible disruption to our guests. We are happy to advise you and the Tripadvisor community we have only have 6 guestrooms left to refurbish.

Our claim that your review is neither balanced or fair is for the following reasons:

1. What is not seen in your photos is that all our bathrooms in the hotel are completely refurbished including the guestroom which you stayed in.

2. One of the points you have raised that we do not concur with is that “it appears as though this is a motel”. A motel is “a roadside hotel designed primarily for motorists, typically having the rooms arranged in low blocks with parking directly outside.” We are proud of our Country House Hotel and invested millions of euro into refurbishing it and we are most certainly NOT a motel.

3. There is ample parking on the entire complex. While there may not been spaces outside the front door of the hotel no guest has to endure a hike. This comment is a gross exaggeration. What you may not have observed or noted on check in is that valet parking is available and would have negated the requirement for you to park your car a little further from the hotel, as this service would have been provided to you and your partner as a courtesy.

4. The spirit of our business is based on offering genuine, warm, Irish hospitality to all our guests. On occasion we can make mistakes however if we are not presented with the opportunity to rectify mistakes it clearly places our team at a distinct disadvantage where otherwise if afforded the opportunity to recover it may well result in a very different outcome for you and other guests. Your decision not to advise us of your disappointment during your stay coupled with choosing to review us on Tripadvisor is another reason why your review is both unbalanced and unfair.

From the team here we genuinely thank you for your business and congratulate you sincerely on your wedding and we are delighted you enjoyed the people of Cork! If back in Cork in the future we would be more than happy for you to contact us directly and we will organise a stay in one of our refurbished guestrooms as they will all be refurbished in the imminent future.


Michael & All the team at Fitzgerald’s Vienna Woods Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews