We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for functions”
Review of Oriel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriel House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watch out for functions”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Really nice hotel. Staff are very friendly. Bar food menu was pretty limited but food was good. Room was good and spacious. Didn't have enough towels but got more from housekeeping the next day. BUT, and it was a really BIG But, there were functions on both nights that we stayed and we could hear the music all night long! On the second night, a very friendly receptionist did say he could move us to a 'possibly' quieter room but at that stage it was 1 in the morning and we weren't bothered moving for 'possibly' quieter.
It is a really nice hotel but if I were to stay there again I would be making sure there wasn't a function on!

Room Tip: Nowhere near the function room, around it or above it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Will carry out re-training with regards to room allocation as we endeavour to allocate rooms to ensure guests are not affected from our function business. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    249
    118
    60
    35
See reviews for
240
247
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Got a deal using grabone.ie for two nights with breakfast. My girlfriend and I drove down from dublin and it was relatively easy to find. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and given our keycards to the room without any hassle. We were surprised at how spacious the room was and everything was clean and neat. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was also lovely! THe service was brilliant and was topped off when we received the weather forecast for the next day. Breakfast was delicious and staff were extremely friendly. Had no problems at all and would recommend to anyway looking for a lovely stay without any worries!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel, I will ensure all the team are advised on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just stayed in this hotel for two nights b&b with one dinner. Very nice hotel with comfortable rooms and very nice food. A special mention to one member of staff is required. Mr Barret went out of his way to recharge my car battery when my car went dead. He even stopped to have a chat with us during our dinner, very friendly and professional guy,again i say thank you.Staff were attentive and professional. Leisure centre was also very good and busy, pool was a bit on the cold side tho. All in all we enjoyed our stay so keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaz26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. Mr Barrett is delighted to have been of assitance and looks forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmare
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday night. lovely hotel great leisure centre and one of the best steam rooms i have been in. The food was excellent, we ate in the dining room. The rooms were spacious and super comfortable beds. The staff were lovely and friendly. would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carthyKenmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar0n26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of the staff. I have passed all the feedback onto the team here at the Oriel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Didnt have the pleasure of staying in this hotel but spent the whole day in this hotel and had our dinner. The food was excellent it was a carvery because of sunday and it was a good 2 hours into service so we didnt expect the veg to be up to much. It was as fresh and being just made. all of the food tasted great. We also got a childs menu which was chicken dinner, not chicken nuggets or sausages, and it was excellent too just right. The price was great as well. if im going to cork at all i will stay at this hotel for the food alone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgolfgolfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shar0n26, Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Delighed to read your postive feedback on our bar food. I have passed your positive comments on to all the team here at the Oriel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballincollig
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,136 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
691 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Rochestown Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel House Hotel

Property: Oriel House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballincollig, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballincollig
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing